Ratings based on 554 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cartersville, GA

OLD hotel, but location OK

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Hotel old but adequately clean. Amenities not pretty but all worked
Cons: It needs, if possible to be brought more up to date. Who sees lace curtains in a hotel anymore? It needs closer parking.
Location: Location OK but restaurants are 3-4 blocks away.
WW2 vet returning with spouse primarily to see new WW2 Memorial. Had not been to DC for 20 years. Had been stationed at Ft. Belvoir for 5 mos..almost 70 tears ago. Remembered Windsor Hotel as having been a nice place then. Assumed from Net that the Windsor INN was that hotel, updated. On arrival, desk mgr. said that we were not registered there, but on checking found we were registered at the Windsor PARK hotel. On arrival there for our 3 day reservation, desk clerk (owner?) advised us that the old Windsor hotel had been across the street, had been sold, demolished, & was now obviously in first stage of reconstruction as a new hotel. He also asked us to accept a 1-BED room instead of the 2-BED room we had reserved, stating that HE WAS SHORT on 2-bed rooms and that it would be a favor to him. When we asked for the difference in rates, he said that both rooms were the same rate. Being very tired and wanting to get settled, we finally acquiesced, and were given room 591, top rear of the hotel. Used TINY elevator. We were very disappointed, especially in room size. Very small & had only a QUEEN bed. It was clean. Carpeting dark and old, Walls freshly painted, a nice shower stall in very small; bath-room (no tub) but good hot water, a small but decent TV, working. AC, Parked on the street & had to move car by 0900. Garage too far for octogenarians. We felt sort of swindled, and it was low spot on our trip.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

First evee DC visit

Posted Jul 12, 2014
This was the cheapest hotel I could find for DC when we visited. The hotel was basic with no frills. The rooms were comfortable, had aircon but were lacking coffee maker and fridge. We were next to the lift on the 4th floor but could not hear it, thankfully. There were however some loud partying types on our floor that did keep us awake and this may have been something to do with it being the 4th July. The breakfast met with our expectations, coffee, muffins, pastries and cereal. It is a about a mile and a half to the Mall and mainly flat so pretty walkable, at least for us.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Bay, FL

Nice hotel in a good location

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: The location. Room is very comfortable and clean.
Cons: Have a parking place for their customers.
Location: Location is quite and nice. Hotel is very close to a small shop area and good restaurants. You can literally walk to that area.
Hotel was very clean, located in very nice and quite area. Very close to good restaurants. The only bad comment I give is that it does not have parking available and they sent us to a parking garage where we were charged more than the hotel told us they should charge us... but, as there was no place to park, we did not have any other option than accept to pay what they were asking us. But, beside the parking, everything is excellent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bronx, NY

A funky little hotel in a beautiful neighborhood.

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: The cleanliness, the staff, even the clientele-- interesting people from all over the world.
Cons: The d├ęcor: it would not be costly to make one of the dumpy first floor rooms into a pleasant area. They are drab. Paper the walls for a cheap lift!
Location: Beautiful location; just seeing all the foreign embassies, all the green, and the wonderful restaurants make this a desirable area.
Not to be confused with a boutique hotel, the Windsor Park is plain, extremely clean, and very professionally run. The neighborhood is beautiful, fine for walking and eating: good restaurants abound. It is also just a 10 minute walk to the Red Line of the Metro. The rooms are small, but not depressing, as they are sparkling clean, and the views are pleasant. It could easily be renovated into an elegant small hostelry, but at the price, it's a find.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You can do better

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Location: In the Kalorama area--very beautiful, across street from Chinese embassy.
The neighborhood is safe and the staff is nice. But my room was very small, the "window" was on a dark lightwell, the corners and floor under bed were dirty, the walls were very very thin, and the continental breakfast was only costco-style pastry. You can do better.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hard to find walking

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: safety
It wasn't what we were expecting. It was clean and the staff were very helpful. Cheaper to take a cab to the attractions then take the metro.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Amy from Boston, MA

pleasant hotel for a good rate

Posted May 21, 2014
Pros: Proximity to my work meeting. Flexibility of the staff and cleanliness of rooms and kitchen.
Cons: The room was a little small. Okay as I did not spend much time there.
Location: Close to the Washington Hilton and an easy walk to see shops, etc. Dupont Circle metro stop was a long walk with a suitcase, so I took a cab.
This hotel was located very close to a conference I was attending at the Washington Hilton, so I could walk there in the morning, which was nice. I arrived before check in time and they were able to give me a room right away, which was also nice. The wake up call service was good. The small kitchen for continental breakfast was clean and the food was fine. The room was clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2014 by Sam, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind review. We hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
by Brad from Arizona

Nothing fancy, but a decent place to stay

Posted May 5, 2014
This hotel is roughly 2 miles from the Capitol. It is nothing fancy and outdated, but a decent place to stay for a business traveler. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice older hotel. Convenient to metro.

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: fix the TV reception
enjoyed the state. quiet location. had issues with TV reception, but otherwise no issues. nice WiFi signal
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Midwest

Less Expensive Than Other Hotels in Area

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: Less expensive than other hotels in the area.
The room was small with very small bathroom but the closet was a nice size for storing things. The desk in the room was too small to serve as a work area. The room was clean with comfortable beds.