Ratings based on 110 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from illinois

Hotel in our hometown

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: It needs a total rehab
Location: Close to Waterloo, shopping, university
We checked in and right away noticed dirty glass on the door we entered. The carpets in the hall were worn and dingy. Lighting was poor. Our room was ok....nothing special about it. It began raining hard in the night. We woke up, made our way to the breakfast area and saw buckets surrounding the pool area catching rain! We will not recommend this hotel to any one. Back in the day ithis hotel was a beautiful and popular place to stay. We were amazed at the high rating we found on Expedia. This was our first time using Expedia and put our trust in the ratings. The best part was the Expedia employee helping us cancel out on our second night! He was courteous, helpful and saved us from another nights stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Savanna, Illinois

Great deal. Great place.

Posted Jul 9, 2015
Pros: The breakfast.
Cons: Would like to see the hot tub replaced. The hot tub there was fantastic.
Location: There is a nice shopping area and plenty of restaurants close by.
Really had a nice stay. The breakfast was wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2015
The room was fine and the hotel was close to where I needed to be the next morning.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Des Moines

This hotel is in serious need of a remodeling.

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Pros: The staff was friendly.
Cons: Everything about the physical condition of the hotel.
I think the staff is doing the best they can with what they have. The hotel carpet is disgusting. The whole place smells like cigarette smoke. I could have used a remodel 10 years ago, so now it is a must. Rooms here are not cheap and for that money I would expect a lot more.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Needs a mojor rehab

Posted Jun 18, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Just needs a major overhaul
Hotel needs major rehab, looks like some work was done but awful quality, Outside doors were dirty and damage, room had wallpaper falling off, rusty toilet, poor bed and was not the cleanest. Staff was friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 18, 2015
Very outdated, not clean. Staff was friendly, just poor accommodations
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sucked.

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Pros: ? nothing
Cons: cleanliness.
Location: It's in Cedar Falls so lots going on around it because of the university. There is a nice Days Inn next door.
This hotel allows smoking in the rooms. The room had nicotine stains all over the walls. It smelled awful. No outdoor window to let in air. Only place in town to stay that weekend or I would have booked a room somewhere else even if I would have lost what I paid for this room. DO NOT STAY HERE!!! I was promised a roll away when I booked the room and they didn't reserve it for me. Just sorry we gave them all away. What's the point of a reservation if they don't honor it. Completely disorganized on check in. A guest was standing in line and the only clerk answers the phone. And leaves the 10 people in line standing there waiting. Keys didn't work. I had to get new Keys. The people I traveled with got a room and it was the wrong one, someone else had stuff in it. Check in was just a comedy of errors. Carpet was dirty in the halls. Employees smoked outside of the back entrance so it smells awful walking in and out of it. They left all their trash laying around too, so it looks awful. Door to the room wouldn't latch unless you forced it shut because it didn't work right. Wall papers wasn't peeling off of the walls in the room and was stained because of nicotine.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Not good

Posted Jun 12, 2015
Pros: Check in clerk, "free" breakfast
Cons: Just about everything-tear down and rebuild!
Location: Shopping, eating
The best parts of our entire experience at this Clarion Inn were the staff at check-in and the free breakfast. The condition of the motel itself is horrible. The carpets down the hallways are so worn and wrinkled up that they are a hazard. Someone could easily trip and fall because of them. Our room was so musty and mildewy smelling, I couldn't wait to leave. The carpet felt damp to walk on and the attempt at repairs to the ceiling from obvious leaks were pathetic. There were chicken nuggets in the fridge from a previous stay! Yuch!!We were there with family (young children) and the pool was not working properly (no heat) so they could not even enjoy swimming. The accommodations were so bad and the rooms were pricey for what we got. Needs to be removed from Expedia's list! I've never given a bad review before!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from small town Iowa

The hotel looked and felt tired.

Posted Jun 3, 2015
Carpet in hall way needed to be replaced. Room smelled stale. Pool was out of order, and had been for more than a week. Had booked room for myself and coworker for a conference. Felt embarrassed at my hotel choice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Antonio

Run down hotel

Posted May 31, 2015
Outdated rooms, uncomfortable beds, carpet peeling, tiny bathroom with toilet and shower can hardly shut door, pool heater was broken and worst of all, 2 grown men up until 12:45 a.m. drinking and playing pool very loud. Front desk guy visited a couple of times and they didn't leave until almost 1:00. I had a 6:00 flight, so I was exhausted. Also front desk dropped the ball in booking my taxi to airport until I came by to make sure they had done it. Not the best experience.