Ratings based on 224 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dubuque, IA

You get what you pay for

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: The staff was friendly.
Cons: the oder in the hallway
The room was inexpensive so I had to keep telling myself "you get what you pay for". The beds were comfortable but the room was not the cleaniest and had some cosmetic issues. There was a funky odor in the first floor hallway, luckily it was not in the room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Okay for the night

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Staff was friendly.
Cons: The breakfast. Very little choices.
Reserved 2 rooms. checked into both to find only one of the rooms had the refrigerator and microwave they were supposed to. The cabinet for those things was there, but no fridge or microwave. The tv in that same room only had sound. Floor hadn't been vacuumed in the one we stayed in and there was also crumbs on both chairs. Overall, the motel needs some updating and cleaning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DSM

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Just needed a place to check into late at night and then check out first thing in the morning . Nothing fancy but was clean and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2014 by Jeffrey, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for the 4 Star review you gave us. I'm always happy to see that another guest has enjoyed their time with us, I will share your kind comments with my team and let them know that their excellent customer service was noticed and appreciated. We are in the process of training new team members to help us deliver top quality service for our guest. Thank you, Jeffrey-GM
3 out of 5
by Andy from S

Low price hotel

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Satisfactory for the price. For a short stay, it is sufficient.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2014 by Jeffrey, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the 3 star review!!! I will be sharing your comments with our team and thanking them for giving you excellent service. Thank you, Jeffrey-GM
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Big O from arizona

Excellent Value for the Price

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: See above.
Cons: It was all good.
Location: Was in the area for a 50th year college class reunion on campus so did not explore things to do nearby. The location to our reunion was good.
The hotel room was clean, roomy and the queen bed was excellent in terms of comfort and the bath room was fine. The staff was courteous and helpful in every way. The availability to swim and exercise in a fine facility next door that was clean and well kept, at no additional charge, was much appreciated! The courtesy breakfast made available was excellent. An outstanding value for the price paid!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2014 by Jeffrey, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your 5 Star rating and the kind words, I will let the team know their excellent service was noticed and appreciated. We'll look forward in seeing you again someday. Thank you, Jeffrey-GM
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 20, 2014
Location: Orange City and surroundings areas.
Was very happy with everything with the hotel. The staff was friendly and very willing to help where needed. It was my second time staying there and would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2014 by Jeffrey, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your 4 Star rating and the kind words, I will let the team know their excellent service was noticed and appreciated. We'll look forward in seeing you again someday. Thank you, Jeffrey-GM
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice hotel.

Posted May 11, 2014
This is a nice hotel that offers a good breakfast of oatmeal , fruits , muffins and a prefab cheese omlett along with coffee, tea, and orange juice. This hotel accommodates cats and dogs which was great. The owners of the dog next to me left the dog alone to howl for several hours at night. That was a problem. That really was the only problem I had-that was really an owner problem. I am in favor of hotels accommodating pets also.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2014 by Jeffrey, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the 4 star rating, I will share your comments with our team and they will be pleased you had a pleasant stay and were all be happy to see you return someday. I also have a dog and was happy to learn we were pet friendly when I came here as the new general manager. Thank you, Jeffrey-GM
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jeffrey from Waterloo, IA

Bad TV channel selection, but otherwise pleasant

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: Breakfast selection, local paper availability. Didn't get a chance at the pool (which is in - and presumably shared with - the Clarion next door.
Cons: TV programming selection
Location: University of Northern Iowa, Lost Island waterpark on the Waterloo side for summer visits, Isle Casino, nearby Cineplex, local performing arts center.
Didn't notice any problems and didn't smell any feces or similar. There WAS a smell not unlike someone having a lit nic-stic on my floor (the upper of the two levels), but otherwise it didn't bother me as it was only in the hallway. There was also a lack of an on-site elevator, so I had to lug my overnight bag up the stairs and back. TV was lacking in channels as per my review title (very little in terms of working programming and the default was listed as scrambled) which could use some improvement, no CNN or Fox News to check the morning headlines, had to settle for Good Morning America instead. Local paper was thankfully available in the lobby, so it wasn't a total loss. No bedbugs or other pests to ruin my night, either... and the breakfast had cereal, self-headed omelets and self-made waffles that I enjoyed on vacations with family, but this was my first time going overnight by myself. Worked out great for me, and the price that I got here was very affordable though I failed to account for taxes and fees when I booked my room (which I blame on having an autistic mental limitation). My only other complaints are the shower curtain, as it was made of a material that I didn't like the idea of having it get wet on me (so I ended up with a mess of water on the floor), and also the bedding, since I'm used to warmer sheets (and multiple layers when I'm at home) which I solved by subbing a raincoat. Overall it was a pleasant experience, and I would certainly do it again for sure.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2014 by Jeffrey, Hotel Management
Jeffrey, Thank you for the 4 star rating, I will share your comments with our team and they will be pleased you had a pleasant stay.. One of the things we are trying to improve on here is our digital channel selection, we are close to doing just that, so please in the future check us out and see if you enjoy the new programming. Thank you Jeffrey-GM
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We were there for a college visit

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: It was clean
Cons: We were pleased.
Location: Near UNI
The hotel was clean and comfortable and easy to find.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2014 by Jeffrey, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the 4 star rating, I will share your comments with our team and they will be pleased you had a pleasant stay and were all be happy to see you return someday. Thank you, Jeffrey-GM
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty and Uncomfortable

Posted Mar 30, 2014
We've stayed at this hotel for five days once a year many times. We've always had a pleasant stay and come back because of the low price. This time we walked into our room and noticed immediately the floor was dirty. In fact there was feces on the carpet near the bed. My husband went down to the desk and we were given a different room. He was told the last guest in that room was told to leave. I don't think that explained it much as the room did have a bed made and looked otherwise ready for new guests. Our new room was a nonsmoking room but smelled like it had been smoked in. We didn't report that, but we did ask about the size of the bed. We needed at least a queen because my husband is 6'4". We were told it was a queen, but we measured it and it was not. Trust me my husband knows as his feet hang off the end of a full. The mattress was also very uncomfortable and the room floors, bathroom tiles, etc... were overall not the cleanest. Needless to say we won't be going back.