Ratings based on 277 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chapel Hill

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: The price for the room.
Cons: The food.
Location: I don't think there is anything near by. That's to the hotel's advantage, since it is a casino.
The food available looked so subpar that we left to search for something better — in Waterloo, no less, where the choices aren't great. We finally settled on a chain coffee shop. Not good, but better than the food at our hotel appeared.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Casino in hotel. Indoor heated pool.
Cons: Black out curtains need replaced
Location: Casino, Mall and water park are really close
Took Daughter to Wartburg College - this was a great deal and 20 minutes away
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Louis, MO

Nice hotel close to the highway

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Price received was price quoted. The room was very comfy and very clean.
Cons: Food in the restaurant was a little slow, but fairly crowded and an off hour in their defense.
Location: Location was convenient for passing through town. We did not stay in the area except overnight for a good night's rest (which we did get!).
We were traveling from St Louis, MO to St Paul, MN & wanted to stop along the way. The place was extremely clean and the staff were very courteous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Peoria IL

Great place to stay, convenient for UNI families.

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: Otis and Henry's, dinner was the best and the price wasn't too expensive.
I had to take my daughter to school at UNI. She needed to be there 2 days before move in day, so we decided to stay at the Isle. We ate at the restaurants and even gambled a little. over all we had a great time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Council Bluffs, IA

Nice hotel, clean rooms, easy access

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Smokey smell in the lobby.
Needed an inexpensive place to stay while visiting a local college. Service was great, people were friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eastern Iowa

nicely surprised -

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Cons: only thing i would love to see change? drinks aren't free at the casino. :)
we hadn't been to the isle before - and were taking kids to the lost island water park. we had five people staying - so we got two king rooms - and the kids had a great time. dinner was good, breakfast was good, the staff was friendly and my kids were happy! :) i would certainly return, and would recommend others to go. have to say that the day at lost island was great, too - as an aside. it was less expensive than other amusement parks in iowa, clean, staff was also friendly, lots of variety - everyone had a great time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, TX

Smokey hotel with questionable room cleaning

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Hotel staff was very pleasant and helpful. Three on-site restaurants made grabbing a quick bite to each very easy for this traveller.
Cons: Cleanliness of the rooms (especially bathrooms), room lighting, smoke in lobby
Location: Onsite: three restaurants, limited shopping, small gym, pool, casino
While my overall impression of the hotel was mostly pleasant, I was a little irritated by two things: the smokey smell that persisted beyond the hotel lobby/casino, and the cleanliness of my room (especially the shower). I realize that cigarette smoke is to be expected at a casino, but by the second or third day of my stay, I was tired of being hit in the fact by a wall of smoke every time I walked into the hotel. By the fourth day, it made me nauseous. More pressing was the issue of room cleanliness. I was surprised to find mildew in the shower on my first day. Farther into my stay, I was no longer surprised: while the soaps were being replaced in my shower, the shower, itself, was not being cleaned. Any trash, hair, etc that was left in the shower remained in the shower every day. It didn't make me feel confident that it was being cleaned thoroughly between visits. On a smaller note, the bathroom lighting was AWFUL for us makeup-wearers. Three spotlights beam down from the ceiling which - although excellent for showcasing their countertops and sink - were only good for casting bizarre shadows on my face while trying to get ready in the morning. Overall, it wasn't - by any means - the worst hotel I've stayed at. It was fairly pleasant... but there is definitely room for improvement for Isle Casino in Waterloo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sioux Falls, SD

Best place to stay in Waterloo!

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Nice clean hotel. Spacious rooms, beautiful bathrooms, kinda wish the cooling unit worked a little faster, but after an hour, the climate was pleasant. Pool area is nice - large hot tub. The buffett was a bit spendy, but worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Comftorable at reasonable price. Lobby smells like cigarettes but room was fine. Buffet was wonderful !
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 2, 2014 on Hotels.com