Ratings based on 291 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Auckland

Great location, affordable

Posted Nov 24, 2014
The staff here were lovely, helpful people. The bed was comfy and the shower had very good pressure. The location is great; having lived in wellington for several years prior, it was great to be in Cuba street in the heart of the best part of town. However the room was VERY small and some of the cutlery/crockery in our room was used/dirty when we arrived.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom C

You pay for what u get

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Great location, nice hotel, tiny room! Suggest staying in quality hotel part - more modern and larger rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Central city

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Clean and comfortable with good service . Only issue would be some noise from street early morning but that is due to its central location which is what I was wanting.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No room to move my ward robe at home is bigger!!

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Pros: Was clean
Cons: Room size too small, bed too soft for comfort
Location: Good city location - Near to things to do, food and night life.
I now how rats live, but here even a rat would not be comfortable & there is so much to say but all negative.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom sydney

location

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: really need to think about what people require to have a comfortable stay, just providing the minimum is not enough to keep customers coming back
Location: location was good but there are plenty of good hotels with good location in proximity to city events and airport
this hotel had good reviews when we booked but overall the best thing was the location in relation to city airport and things to do. But that is it really that is it, the best thing to say is that we will return to wellington we wont return to this hotel - I have been just as comfortable in a motel or caravan park there was no fridge in the room no air-conditioning or even a fan and the room did get stuffy at times uncomfortable while sleeping it would be fine for a one or two night stay but not for a longer period of time. New Zealand is a beautiful place and we loved the people food and the variety of events on in Wellington its self
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom wanganui

Noisy room if choose poorly

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Overall not a bad experience, but sleep interruptrd night because we had the corner room (107) in one wing. The aircon did not work on first night, however they quickly accommodated us with a backup.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Excellent location set in Cuba Mall and a short walk away from Courtney Place. What more can you ask for?
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Wellington

mixed feelings...

Posted Sep 30, 2014
NEGATIVES - On arrival no help offered when I had LOADS of luggage due to international move. Lifts slow. Lighting in room and bathroom very poor! Had to go to foyer to be able to read/study. One particular staff member gave impression was not interested. Noisy due to street noise in mornings. Expensive parking. POSITIVES - Good, handy location. Bed quite comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom nz

Ask for two room keys

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Night out in the city, I decided I was ready for bed so went back to the hotel, partner carried on having a few drinks with our friends, early hours of the morning he knocks at the room door, as I was fast asleep I didn't hear this, he went to the reception and said he couldn't get in to his room, the solution offered was that he purchases a new room. The next morning we spoke about this to the staff member who have us $20 off the 2nd room...I understand the security issues when the booking was under my name only, however he would have known all my info, and the booking was for 2 adults. Other then that the hotel is fine for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hawke's Bay, NZ

Old World Charm

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Right in the heart of vibrant Cuba Street, with it's fab cafes and vintage shops, the CQ is very good value, with friendly staff and a beautiful old world charm. Climbing the stylish wooden staircase, you could be forgiven for thinking you were on the set of Downton Abbey!!