Ratings based on 281 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Excellent location set in Cuba Mall and a short walk away from Courtney Place. What more can you ask for?
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wellington

mixed feelings...

Posted Sep 30, 2014
NEGATIVES - On arrival no help offered when I had LOADS of luggage due to international move. Lifts slow. Lighting in room and bathroom very poor! Had to go to foyer to be able to read/study. One particular staff member gave impression was not interested. Noisy due to street noise in mornings. Expensive parking. POSITIVES - Good, handy location. Bed quite comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nz

Ask for two room keys

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Night out in the city, I decided I was ready for bed so went back to the hotel, partner carried on having a few drinks with our friends, early hours of the morning he knocks at the room door, as I was fast asleep I didn't hear this, he went to the reception and said he couldn't get in to his room, the solution offered was that he purchases a new room. The next morning we spoke about this to the staff member who have us $20 off the 2nd room...I understand the security issues when the booking was under my name only, however he would have known all my info, and the booking was for 2 adults. Other then that the hotel is fine for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hawke's Bay, NZ

Old World Charm

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Right in the heart of vibrant Cuba Street, with it's fab cafes and vintage shops, the CQ is very good value, with friendly staff and a beautiful old world charm. Climbing the stylish wooden staircase, you could be forgiven for thinking you were on the set of Downton Abbey!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Needs an upgrade

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Smallest hotel room ever. Bare essentials. You can hear guests in rooms either side of you talking and in the shower. Walls are paper thin. Not worth the cost.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

City hotel handy to everything

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Nice clean hotel. Redecorated from an old city icon. No toilet paper in room. TINY room - door hit the bed when u go in. Bed was very hard and uncomfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

all good

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: nice, small, neat
Cons: power points near "study" area
Location: nice lcoation, intersting shops near by
nice experience, i was only there for a couple of nights
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Nelson, NZ

Good central location

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: Restaurant and food was good. Best of all was there was a gym and pool attached to the hotel.
Location: It was near central Wellington, easy walking distance to most places. Lots of restaurants and cafes nearby.
Before arriving at the hotel (after booking), I read some bad reviews about the room size. I was pleasantly surprised, The room wasn't large, but I have stayed in many smaller hotel rooms. Very plain, but bed was comfortable. For the price I thought it was good value. Staff was very good, and by signing up for their Priority program we were able to get a late check-out.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

No sleep

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Cons: Noise proofing
We were looking forward our stay at the Comfort Hotel, as it was a great location in the city. Unfortunately due to the age of the hotel and how the rooms were set out it wasn't a pleasant stay, we got very little sleep and had to check out early, only staying 1 of the 3 nights we had booked. Even though we were located in the middle of the building and not street side we could hear the Friday night hustle & bussle as their was very little sound proofing. Also the bathroom in the room next too us was right next to our bed head & the floor boards creaked throughout the hotel corridors. We paid the extra money and booked another hotel in Wellington for the other 2 nights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Great location, good price

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: An upgrade of rooms maybe
Location: Cuba mall is hustling and bustling. Lots of amazing food nearby.
This was a pleasant hotel to stay in, great location and the price was very reasonable for the location. I would definitely stay there again. It was quiet and easy to get to.