Ratings based on 3,365 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Christchurch, New Zealand

Good hotel in central Wellington, spacious room

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Spacious room with desk & couch. Bathroom had shower over bath (shower head a little low), good water pressure & temperature. Flat screen TV, mini-bar in fridge. Sliver of sea view from 22nd floor. Good central location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NZ

Good location close to CBD

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Stayed there a couple of times, would book again. Clean, a bit dated but effective. Solid, parking a bit heavy on the wallet.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Singapore

Great location but a bit dated

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Location is good.
Cons: Modernise decor and bathrooms
Location: close to all attractions in the city and night life
It feels more like a 3 star hotel with no frills. The hotel rooms are clean but the lobby. It appears to be a business traveller hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Wellington

Decent hotel for the price

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Clean, quiet, fairly modern.
Location: Literally meters off the main motorway and easy access to everything that city has to offer.
Stay there over valentines weekend, staff were well presented, helpful and polite, room was nothing to rave at but also not badly equipped for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Nice hotel, brilliant central CBD location

Posted Feb 6, 2015
Pros: Location, Service, Consistency, Friendliness
Cons: Provide anti slip strips on the tiled steps alongside the baths of the original section of the hotel. I didn't slip but it would be easy to do
Location: Central location in the commercial & retail hearts of Wellington and the harbour, 15 mins to the clubs & pubs, 5 mins to the cable car
The James Cook has been enduring in its standards across its nearly 40 years of operating and continued to be so during my most recent stay. Staff are always polite, very professional and everything is very clean and modern. Wellington's CBD has two levels - mainly commercial on the upper level ('The Terrace') and retail on the lower level street ('Lambton Quay'). The hotel provides direct elevator access between the two levels, exiting right into the heart of the retail area. It is also about 5minutes walk to the pretty harbour and harbourside restaurants, 10 minutes walk (downhill) to the government centre and 15 minutes walk (flat) to Wellington's vibrant clubs and pubs area. From the upper street level, it is a 2 minute walk to Boulcott Street Bistro - a superb and friendly restaurant that occupies the most charming late 1800's timber cottage. It is also 5 mins to Wellington's historic cable car - a must to get great views of the city and harbour and stroll around its observatories and also access the various levels of Victoria University of Wellington. The hotel's resident pianist is marvellous and has been playing there for nearly 30 years - in the reception area bar early in the evening and later in the restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel close to all city centre amenities

Posted Feb 3, 2015
Pros: It's central location, pleasant staff.
Cons: The lack of a safety deposit box in the room meant carrying valuables around. The free internet allowance kept needing to be refreshed.
We wanted a hotel central to Wellington where we had three days exploring the city the James Cook ticked all the boxes.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom nz

Nice city hotel

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Nice hotel with excellent staff. Restaurant was average but the rooms were nice and comfortable
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chch NZ

Good central location

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Cons: Staff attitude and helpfulness
The hotel itself was in good location and the room was great for the price we paid. Unfortunately our stay was marred by the attitude of staff. While they weren't "unpleasant" they were just lacking in that little something that makes you feel special when you are staying away from home. Usually I stay with friends in Wgtn but this time I just wanted it to be special and it wasn't. With so many hotels to choose from I wouldn't stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chch

So disappointing

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: Smiling service of a coffee in buffet restaurant by a young woman working at the bar.
Cons: Its all in the delivery, the hotel is in a great location, with adequate décor if not a little dated. Service delivery requires a rethink .
Location: Front desk when asked what was on and what they would recommend offered up the cable car and museum as options.
Having spent many years working in hospitality, it was sad to see how far the James Cook has slipped in its delivery on all levels. From not being offered assistance with our bags, food left in hallway outside our room on arrival, cold meat and vegetables at the buffet dessert buffet only saving grace. The dirty iron that burnt a mark on my daughters dress, followed by the denial and mishandling causing damage to the dress by attempts to remove mark by various means in hotel laundry YEs the hotel reimbursed us for the dress. Frankly I was completely bewildered as to what is going on as other customers have placed such positive reviews on line .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Fantastic!

Posted Jan 24, 2015
We had a fantastic stay... clean room, great facilities, convenient location.