Ratings based on 3,612 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 23, 2015
I was good convenient , my wife is in a wheelchair and the easy access to the hotel was the reason we stayed , and have stayed a few times before
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Auckland New Zealand

Great hotel, great location

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: Location ! The ability to get from the hotel via lifts straight down onto Lambton Quay is a huge bonus !
Cons: Nothing....
Location: Straight down onto Lambton Quay amongst all the shops, pubs etc. Walking distance to Micheal Fowler Centre , the cake tin and parliament buildings.
Fantastic hotel, great facilities, staff extremely helpful and efficient. Rooms are very comfortable and well presented. Large clean bathroom , well serviced. Restaurant bar staff and amenities all great. Big picture windows allowing awesome views over the city. Booked to stay again later in the year and really looking forward to another visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall excellent.

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Access coming and going.
Cons: N/A
All requests and questions were facilitated. The most important aspect of our stay was we felt very safe inside the hotel as well as in the beautiful city of Wellington. The Staff were courteous, helpful and amiable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Location: location excellent.
Staff very efficient. Hotel due for refurbishing. carpets looking very tired.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, in a good location.

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: The hotel itself had a nice overall ambience to it, the room was very clean and comfortable and the buffet breakfast was delicious.
Cons: To initially park our rental car was quite a squeeze as we were uncertain where we could do that until we were directed by hotel staff.
Location: Great shopping on your doorstep, Tepapa Museum was one of the best museums we have ever been too, very impressed.
As a family of four we enjoyed our stay at the Grand Chancellor. It was in a great location, very close to shops, delicious buffet breakfast with a great room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Singapore

Ver pleasant surprise

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: Check-in service, concierge, efficiency, friendliness, cleanliness, quality breakfast, value for money (for this class of hotel) and a lovely attitude
Cons: Nothing springs to mind.
Location: Central to everything. Rear lift to best street and waterfront. close to funicular rail to the outlook and botanical gardens. close to shops/boutiques
I booked the hotel having reviewed and had a friend inspect the rooms before booking. My friend 'passed' on the other options I had considered in the same street/block. Saw the hotel and recommended it. I pulled up and acted as though the hotel would do the right thing re check in, concierge service etc. They did not perform as expected - they exceeded my expectations and left me with a smile. I forgot my mobile in the vehicle console and requested it be retrieved. This was done cheerfully and professionally. VERY VERY IMPRESSIVE. I loved the stay - breakfast was normal for a good quality hotel, lovely setting, nice views and service that really is service. Can't recommenmd it highly enough. Managers at this hotel should give their staff a pat on the back, in my opinion.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Pros: Good sized room, easy access to main street
Cons: room service was late done and I missed the cut off, despite having gap of more than two hours of being away from hotel
Location: see above
easy access to willis St, breakfust was full and tastie especally on public holidays when other places closed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom pnth

Good price

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Was comfortable, easy to stadium and handy location, had parking .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney, Australia

Great location and nice hotel

Posted Mar 25, 2015
We found the hotel very good, staff friendly, rooms clean and spacious. Centrally located with everything within walking distance and transport right at the door if required.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom C

Great for our conference

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Group of 3 girls there for a church conference. Great central location