Ratings based on 131 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wellington

Amazing art on display throughout the Hotel

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Pros: Great atmosphere and wonderful art on display.
Cons: More empathetic staff at the front desk.
Location: Right in the city and near the waterfront so there is a whole raft of things to do.
Excellent room, very comfy with a unique atmosphere. The hotel has a truly unique feel to it and the numerous pieces of art throughout the hotel are really something. I have rated the hotel staff a 2 only because we had a leaking air conditioning unit which kept us awake from 4am onwards and no hot water in the morning. When I mentioned this at checkout time the receptionist apologised and then proceeded to ask for the $20 parking fee. Unbelievable! I was too tired to protest! Some offer of compensation would have been nice considering the cost of the room. And then we had to wait for the car to be bought around despite requesting it a half hour prior.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom nz

Loads of character excellent location.

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Location, uniqueness, staff.
Cons: Our original room lacked in attention to detail. Needed a bit of maintenance.
Location: Very central. on Sunday there is an awesome market right across the street. We were very lucky and had amazing weather the whole weekend.
We had a harbour view room with patio nice except out room was directly below the kitchens and very noisy with people walking above us until late then eary the next morning. We complained and were immediately moved to an apartment with views. The staff were all really friendly and couldn't do enough for us. I loved the bar excellent service and views as we sipped our cocktails. Unique hotel with interesting art all around. Location excellent we walked everywhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Ka Pai Kidfrom Wellington

Lovely ambience

Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Museum Hotel is beautifully themed. We had as basic room which ticked all the boxes for our one night stay. Love this Hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Darcy and Coralfrom Matakana

Inspiring

Posted Aug 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
A must for everyone to stay in this Hotel at least one night,a piece of art in its self that changes everyday. Chris Parkinson's art collection throughout the hotel is a interesting reflection of life.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Craigfrom Christchurch

Great location

Posted Jul 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
We booked the Museum Art Hotel based on other reviews and it didn't disappoint. The location was fantastic, directly opposite Te Papa and just around the corner from both the lively Courtney Place and the more sedate waterfront restaurants and bars. The rooms, although not any larger than other standard hotel rooms, were quirky in design and didn't look tired. The thoughtful lighting and design made it relaxing to stay in at night (although we were out enjoying the city, rather than staying in). There are a lot of clubs and bars nearby, but we were rarely bothered by noise late at night. We'll definitely be staying there again when we next visit Wellington.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Shirleyfrom Napier

Fantastic hotel

Posted Jul 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Perfect weekend away, great location. Hotel was lovely and clean, excellent service in all areas. We had an excellent stay and would definitely recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Cfrom New Zealand

Nice hotel with a unique touch

Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
We decided to spent a night at the Museum Art Hotel after attending a wedding at the same venue. We were highly impressed by the entire hotel: the service, the decor (and art), the rooms and the wedding venue. We were very happy with the spacious and well equipped bathroom, the comfortable bed and the somewhat quirky decor of the room. The decor fitted its surroundings and made the room interesting and unique. Although there were many well thought out touches to the room, the ceramic black rabbit lamp on the writing desk deserves a special mention. We would stay here again at the drop of a hat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Arty hotel opposite Te Papa great central location

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Great location interesting and great to see some awesome art pieces rooms were luxurious and interesting comfortable only let down a couple of plumbling probs with our room sink not draining properly smell from loo great staff friendly and considerate and truly an enjoyable stay