Ratings based on 954 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvannia

Roomy and Comfortable!

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: Well supplied rooms. Comfortable. we were on the higher level and enjoyed the night view.
We took this trip a while ago, and never reviewed it. The hotel was kind of funky and artsy in the lobby. The rooms were great, We were parents and 2 older kids. It was like a suit, 2 rooms with a common area. We were so tired from the flight over that we probably would have slept well anywhere, but this was nice and clean. Happy to get there and catch up on the sleep before our tour of the North Island of New Zealand. We had some old friends meet us there and had a nice visit in the lobby area. The staff were very nice. Getting to the museum the next day was easy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Christchurch

Fun and funky

Posted Jul 6, 2015
The Museum Art Hotel is a great place to stay in Wellington. It is full of interesting and vibrant art. The room we stayed in was small but very well equipped and had a cool, funky style. The only small criticism I have is that there were no extra blankets in our room. However, reception sorted this out very quickly for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from owaka, nz

Fantastic Hotel

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Pros: The staff at the hotel where brilliant and always had a smile and couldn't do enough for us.
Location: location is fantastic walking distance to anything you would want to go.
My experience at the Hotel was fantastic the staff where amazing always willing to help and give top tips for Wellington. would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Christchurch

Great place and very handy to CBD.

Posted May 25, 2015
Pros: Loved all the artwork, quite quirky.
Cons: Ha Ha Don't like peacocks indoors. Maybe they could be moved into the glass area near the motorbike because they were rather cool, just the bad luck .
Location: Great location.
We would stay there again and recommend it to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Short Wellington stay

Posted May 24, 2015
Location: Very neat to Te Papa
Museum Art Hotel was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. Excellent location and excellent facilities and staff. We will definitely be back,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best hotel in NZ

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: Room was gorgeous. Artwork. Décor. Staff. Coffee machine in room. Bar.
Cons: Nope.
Location: I Uber to where I need to get to, but it is close to Te Papa, New World Supermarket and lots of shops and restaurants.
This hotel must be one, if not 'the' best hotels in NZ. It is trendy, gorgeous and provides the best service ever. I have stayed in a number of hotels in NZ but the Museum hotel is unique. It has amazing artwork, very funky décor and all the bells and whistles. Love the coffee machine in the room. Staff were outstanding and couldn't do enough for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waikanae, NZ

Quite. We loved the peacefulness of our Apartment

Posted Apr 30, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: We loved the hassle free parking - all the amazing artwork - the spacious apartment - the comfortable bed - the newspaper - the friendly staff.
Cons: Honestly can't think of a thing. Our stay was most enjoyable and memorable - we will be back.
Location: Fabulous location close to Te Papa. Short walk to Courtney Place for movies, shopping, restaurants, cafes, pubs and movie theatres.
We experienced a visual feast of fabulous art work throughout the hotel, it was amazing, we took many photographs to remind us of our evening at the hotel - we even asked the waitress at breakfast if she would take a photograph of us and she promptly popped a miniature version of a hippopotamus on the table to be included, a thoughtful gesture, especially as it the the Hippopotamus Restaurant. We experienced the best nights sleep that we had had in a very long time ... due to a combination of many things including a wonderful relaxing soak in the bath and an amazingly comfortable bed, linen and pillows.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by David from Auckland

Great spot

Posted Apr 28, 2015 on Hotels
First time staying at the Museum Art and wiull be back. It's kind of cooky in a good way. Not my style of interior decorating but it suits the ambience of the place. Staff were super friendly and nothing was a problem. Bed was extremely comfy and thoroughly enjoyed my three nights with them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 27, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Stylish hotel

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Very stylish hotel with unique history in the centre of Wellington. Unusual original decor in lobby. Rooms are modern and well appointed. Restaurant is fantastic.