Ratings based on 229 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Friendly pkace

Posted Apr 21, 2015
The facilities were excellent. The staff where very friendly and helpful. It costs only $nz20 for the taxi to Wellington Airport. Most people will enjoy their stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nelson NZ

Close to city

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Great place to stay close to shops. Bit noisy at night.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cheap n cheerful

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: Position in city. Clean if small room.
Cons: Hanging space. Somewhere to put things. Tea making in room with cups and spoons etc.
Location: Museum nearby was very good.close to seafront.
Unfortunately we were arriving late as ferry from south island was delayed. Even so there were no cups for a cuppa. Towels had to be found. The room was a triple but very small with know where to put luggage. We went out leaving our luggage which worked well.good position in city.
5 out of 5
by Ka Man Wong from Australia - QLD - Brisbane

Posted Mar 20, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Great Location close to the Waterfront
Cons: Can be a bit noisy at night as nightclub next door
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF, Calif.

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Location: Wellington Botanic Gardens, National Museum of NZ Te Papa
Great location! We appreciated the unexpected amenities - dinner & breakfast!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2015 by Saoirse, Hotel Management
Hi Charlie, Thanks for the review. We hope to see you back in the Capital in the future. Saoirse, Hostel Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Esther from Boston, MA

Average facilities, but can't beat $2 dinners

Posted Mar 4, 2015 on Hotels
The hostel facilities themselves were fairly average, but I've been traveling around Asia, so my standards are probably a little high. The neighborhood was great, close to the harbor and all the sights. Loved Cuba street. Especially liked the free pancake mix and the free snack or $2 dinner every night at the hostel. Can't beat that. Wish the showers were in better condition. Tried two different showers over two different nights, and they both wouldn't drain, so had to shower in ankle-height dirty water, which ended.up overflowing into the rest of the bathroom.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2015 by Saoirse, Hotel Management
Hi Esther, tank you for taking the time to leave your comments. really glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. The shower issue has been a problem for us this summer but our wonderful maintenance team is working hard to fix it. I hope you find your way back to the Capital again in the future. Saoirse, Hostel Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Chloé from Paris

Good but comfort less for dormitory and noisy

Posted Mar 2, 2015 on Hotels
Good place to stay for a few days, near to Cuba and free wifi spots. The beds in dormitory are very uncomfortable and very noisy. The place is also a bit noisy, it is more a place for party people. Don't go if you want to rest ! If not it's ok
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2015 by Saoirse, Hotel Management
Hi Chloe, thank you for your review. We are very lucky with our central location, but yes, it does make things very noisy at times. We hope you make it back to the Capital again in the future. Saoirse, Hostel Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very central

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: Helpful staff, very central - easy to get everywhere
Cons: -
Location: Everything! Bars, cafes, the stadium, Te Papa, waterfront.
Helpful staff, very central - easy to get everywhere
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2015 by Saoirse, Hotel Management
Hello, thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Saoirse, Hostel Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great place to stay for concert goers.

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Also very central location for exploring the city after dark. Was easy to find. Check in was also easy with friendly staff. In a safe part of town.
Cons: We had booked for 3 people but only 2 towels in the room - not a biggie as we could have asked for the extra one if it was needed.
Location: As above, this is a great place to stay as close to Queen's Wharf, concert venues, restaurants, bars, shops and felt very safe too.
Nomads is very close to Queen's Wharf where the concert was held that we attended.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2015 by Saoirse, Hotel Management
Hi Jo, thank you for your review. I am glad you had a good stay. We look forward to having you back in the Capital again in the future. Saoirse, Hostel Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Rajshahi, Bangladesh

Posted Feb 17, 2015
I was really nice. A good experience. 24/7 facilities and friendly people.