Ratings based on 222 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Australia

Friendly pkace

Posted Apr 21, 2015
The facilities were excellent. The staff where very friendly and helpful. It costs only $nz20 for the taxi to Wellington Airport. Most people will enjoy their stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nelson NZ

Close to city

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Great place to stay close to shops. Bit noisy at night.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cheap n cheerful

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: Position in city. Clean if small room.
Cons: Hanging space. Somewhere to put things. Tea making in room with cups and spoons etc.
Location: Museum nearby was very good.close to seafront.
Unfortunately we were arriving late as ferry from south island was delayed. Even so there were no cups for a cuppa. Towels had to be found. The room was a triple but very small with know where to put luggage. We went out leaving our luggage which worked well.good position in city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom SF, Calif.

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Location: Wellington Botanic Gardens, National Museum of NZ Te Papa
Great location! We appreciated the unexpected amenities - dinner & breakfast!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2015 by Saoirse, Hotel Management
Hi Charlie, Thanks for the review. We hope to see you back in the Capital in the future. Saoirse, Hostel Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very central

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: Helpful staff, very central - easy to get everywhere
Cons: -
Location: Everything! Bars, cafes, the stadium, Te Papa, waterfront.
Helpful staff, very central - easy to get everywhere
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2015 by Saoirse, Hotel Management
Hello, thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Saoirse, Hostel Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Zealand

Great place to stay for concert goers.

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Also very central location for exploring the city after dark. Was easy to find. Check in was also easy with friendly staff. In a safe part of town.
Cons: We had booked for 3 people but only 2 towels in the room - not a biggie as we could have asked for the extra one if it was needed.
Location: As above, this is a great place to stay as close to Queen's Wharf, concert venues, restaurants, bars, shops and felt very safe too.
Nomads is very close to Queen's Wharf where the concert was held that we attended.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2015 by Saoirse, Hotel Management
Hi Jo, thank you for your review. I am glad you had a good stay. We look forward to having you back in the Capital again in the future. Saoirse, Hostel Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom Rajshahi, Bangladesh

Posted Feb 17, 2015
I was really nice. A good experience. 24/7 facilities and friendly people.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by angelafrom Gold Coast

Comfortable, quiet and friendly

Posted Jan 7, 2015 on Hotels.com
didn't realise I would be sleeping in a bunk bed when I booked this, otherwise I wouldn't have booked - however, can't blame the hotel for that - I should have investigated more. Although I was on the top bunk, the mattress itself was actually quite comfortable (it was just getting up and down that wasn't so great). The room was very small but for the price it was fine. One thing I wasn't happy about was that they advertised breakfast included with their "world famous pancakes" - which I was looking forward to....imagine my surprise when I discovered the batter was supplied but you have to make the pancakes yourself! They didn't supply butter either so I not only made my own pancake but also ate it plain. The staff were pretty helpful and it was a good atmosphere, with lots of social areas. It appears that a lot of people live there permanently. It was also right next door to a bar so that would be good if people like socialising too (it wasn't noisy though). It was in good, central location. Overall, I would stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by F Nfrom Auckland

Only for Night Owls

Posted Jan 3, 2015 on Hotels.com
Even though the staff were very helpful and friendly, and the room was perfectly nice, we were awake every night (4 nights) well after midnight because of the noise of the pub right next door. That was really, really annoying. Also, we couldn't keep our window open because of the smell of cigarette smoke coming up from the smoking area outside.
3 out of 5
by Jessica Keanfrom Australia - NSW - Sydney

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Pros: Short walk from food, theatre and museums. Tourist buses to local attractions stop right across the road.
Cons: Shower drain was blocked and though the cleaners tried to fix it, it remained blocked - they needed a plummer and didn't call one.
Location: Central, Near transport, Noisy - pub downstairs
Facilities: Run-down, Bare minimum; Value: Low-priced; Service: Amateur, Below average, Lacking; I enjoyed having a quiet drink and listening to jazz at The Lido - a bar/cafe on the corner. City Gallery is a few minutes away (and its cafe is yum!)
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2014
Hello, thank you for your review.I am sorry to see that you found our service to be lacking, I will discuss this with our team to ensure that we keep our service at the high standards we normally pride ourselves on.I will also discuss with housekeeping what went wrong with your shower, as a policy we always call in a maintenance team to fix any issues, I will be investigating why this did not occur during your stay.We hope to see you back in Wellington in the future.Saoirse Holic, Hostel Manager