Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cheap & Cheerful - Central Location

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Great place as a solo traveller, the hostel bar was a bit of a rallying point to meet people. Generally, facilities good and staff very helpful/friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

free breakfast and dinner, space of room

Posted Jul 31, 2014
wonderful, we can get the free breakfast n dinner at budget accomodation. but the space of room are too small, the bed is too soft made us feel uncomfortable and the bunk bed made the annoyed noise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central backpackers in Wellington CBD

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Handy to everything that I needed to access, a bit noisey but still value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Alifrom South Island

Great location

Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
fantastic loved the 10am checkout, location and service thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Jenniferfrom Milwaukee, WI

Great location, affordable

Posted Mar 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
I spent time at the YHA in Wellington in January and now spent a week at the Nomad in March. The Nomad was a good place to stay overall. In comparison to the YHA, I found the Nomad to be noisier, the kitchen facilities were half of the YHAs, and the fact that it was a dry hostel would make me think twice before staying there again. However, it's right off Cuba street, with great access to restaurants, shopping, transit, etc. The free "snack" each night was great - meant that I didn't need to cook as much. My room faced the street so it was often noisy overnight (due to the bar next door). The staff was really nice and very helpful - I got strep throat on the trip and they were great about directing me towards medical advice. It didn't appear that they'd tend to the room daily - which was fine for me, but might not be for others. Again, depending on my reasons for travel and who was with me, I would consider staying here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rfrom CHCH

Good place for the first traveller

Posted Feb 21, 2014
We three stayed elite twin room for 2 nights. Good location - close to Cuba st., waterfront and the Lambton Quay.. just almost all attractions. I liked young and passionate atmosphere from backpackers. Bathroom was clean and good to get towels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by alkhfrom Wellington

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Silviafrom Hobart

good location

Posted Dec 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
Had the elite twin. The beds were very soft (too soft for my liking) and the sheets were stained. On the plus side free dinner in the pub next door, which was nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by bob_torontofrom Canada

First hostel experience

Posted Dec 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great friendly staff - couldn't have been more helpful.