Ratings based on 156 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

My Experience

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Proprietor very rude unfortunately which did not give me a very good experience like others in NZ
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Lovely little place, clean, well looked after

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Was impressed by the art displayed in the dining room: two beautiful Madonas with the Child, and European pottery. And an antique radio
Cons: Can't think of anything. It was perfect for me.
Location: It's within walking distance of Courtney Rd, from where buses can be taken anywhere, including the airport.
I was there last weekend. Warm and cosy room; close to the town green belt. Very helpful host. The very clean dining room dons a huge radio that looks like my grandparents'. The quality of the sound was very good too when I went in for a cuppa before going to sleep. I had an ensuite bathroom, and a complimentary newspaper. Slept better there than in any BB, guesthouse or motel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wairarapa

Nice clean central accommodation

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: It was very clean, quiet and tidy.
Cons: Nothing of note.
Location: Very central to the city, with plenty to see and do.
A very nice centrally located, reasonably priced place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent B&B, close to central Wellington

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Richmond Guest House is a very comfortable B&B, and very convenient for central Wellington. It is clean, tidy and warm and a lovely old place.The manager, John, was very welcoming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Faboulas stay

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness , service, host, house, breakfast, free wifi, location,
Cons: nothing needs impriving its' a 19th centure house renovated into a faboulas bed and breakfast but if you dont' like old houses dont' go there
Location: , Basin reserve, Courtney place , Mt Victoria, Tepapa Museum etc'
What a faboulas place this is , and such a great host and yes he is a talker but to run a successfull buisness like this you have to be one,he was also good with advise and giving directions as well , plus he also does the little things good as well such as asking guests if they would like a hot drink and turning on heaters in rooms at night so that guests dont come back to a cold room and making sure that guests have nice clean towels every day , the Richmond is so peacefull and clean, The location was good as well close to everything within walking distance, and free wifi , Ive' stayed at the Richmond a few times before and every time I return there is always something new , John is always improving the place , renovating, new carpet, new bedding new curtains , yes as I read in another review its' like a good wine improving with age , Keep up the good work johnboy
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, close to town

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean and close to town.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to Wellington CBD and quiet

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: Close to Wellington CBD
Cons: The proprietors attitude
Location: it was in a residential area.
The advertisement made out that the villa was a quaint guest house which appealed to us but it was more like a boarding house. The proprietor didn't possess many people skills and we weren't made to feel very welcome at all. I wish I had read the reviews prior to booking!!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just Awesome

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: house service cleanliness free wifi Host
Location: very central
I had read before my visit about the fire in the house and how it was subsuquently closed down for a couple of years and after reading a couple of reviews I was in awe' when I walked in the front door such a beautiful ceiling such passion had gone into this restoration obviousley some guests going by there reviews wernt ' to appreciative of the old look so why did they book into the place To quote the advertising Its' a nineteen century villa not a modern hotel , it is what it states it is , As for my stay well im' hooked as they say , a lovely room with awesome water presure in the shower very, very clean, great breakfast I am on a limited diet so it was great to see all the gluton free cereals , the service was great , John the is a real pro been in the buisness a while so he knows folk and is always looking for ways to improve his buisness , a realy awesome bed and breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tas Australia

Lovely guest house. Just what we expected thanks

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Enjoyed listening to John. Close to city of Wellington.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just Tops'

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: cleanliness,, atmosphere , gorgeous old architecture and ceilings , location, free wifi, and the service
Cons: Nothing it is what its' supposed to be
The location of the place is tops ,easy to walk everywhere , cosy clean room with gorgeous old plaster ceilings and great bed , great breakfast with friendly atmosphere , host was very helpful , great hospitality