Ratings based on 528 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NZ

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Room was nice enough. Staff were friendly.
Cons: Overall upgrade eg carpet wearing thin. Frontage - could not see from street - quite hard to find. not inviting.
Location: Close to Cuba Street :)
Nice room, comfy bed, facilities were fine. Could not find the hotel initially as there was no sign (the name of the hotel had changed...?). Breakfast was good. The overall facilities though could do with a bit of an upgrade. Would stay again as the price was right, close enough to the city.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom australia

Within walking distance to city

Posted May 25, 2015
Pros: the rooms are big
Cons: need to supply better quality pillows! they are as flat as a pancake! the furniture is very budget and falling apart-chairs in restaurant are torn
Location: only a 10 minute walk to the city
Arrived at 4.00pm to find the room not even ready, not impressed, had to wait 15 minutes for the room to be cleaned! Rooms are serviced in the afternoon, had to leave for 10 minutes in the afternoon twice so the room could be cleaned and then its pretty much just make the bed and change the towels. Had to get 2 more pillows as they are so thin you might as well not have one. Breakfast is ok, but feels a bit uncomfortable having someone watch you eat so they can take your plate away. Appreciate the service but not to the extent that you are stared at the whole time. Not a 4 or 5 star hotel so you get what you pay for. First in first served for the car park, a very tight squeeze if you have a big car.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Dinner options

Posted May 21, 2015
The breakfast provided a good range in options, from muesli through to a cooked breakfast. As I was only staying one night for business (and that night had incredibly bad weather) I would have welcomed options for an evening snack/light dinner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Melaka, Malaysia

Clean hotel with helpful and friendly staff.

Posted May 17, 2015
The hotel is about 10 - 15 minutes walk to the busy Lambton Quay. Clean room, helpful staff and the breakfast was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Auckland

Posted May 11, 2015
Enjoyed our stay.The Breakfast was Excellent.Walking Distance to town.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to city

Posted May 3, 2015
Pros: Beds were comfortable
Cons: Need a bigger parking facility
If you are driving, this is not a hotel for you. Very limited parking, no street parking and hotel staff unhelpful. Would not stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Value for the Price charged.

Posted Apr 24, 2015
It's basic, but quite clean and easy walking distance to the night life. Value for Money, as good rates with reasonable accommodation and clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Affordable city accommodation

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Hotel fairly close to city centre, staff very friendly and accommodating. Room decent for price - was a bit offput by the mouldy smell in the bathroom.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tauranga. NZ

Basic but very comfortable

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Basic room. Yet very adequate, clean, comfortable and quiet. Great breakfast included in our room rate. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Close to city. I would stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, BC

Inexpensive, breakfast included.

Posted Apr 20, 2015
I have a love hate relationship with this hotel. My first impression in finding parking was incredibly frustrating. If you arrive early you shoukd not have this problem. However, if you don't you are stuck finding a car park in a city you might not be familiar with. The staff on the other hand is very helpful. During our stay the elevator broke down (a new one was recently installed) the staff did their best in getting the guest to their floors. The rooms are very dated but appear to be clean. The saving grace on this review is the breakfast. It's a simple affair but did add value to our stay. For location it was a bit difficult to find but it is in walking distance to Cuba street for shopping and dining.