Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by nicstar from sydney nsw

lovely place, could do with a bit of a touch up

Posted May 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
lovely place, great location. a little old now. the rooms could do with a bit of a makeover, they are starting to show their age. breakfast was nice but lacking variety. the gardens are just lovely,a must see while you are there. overall a nice place and great service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Anil from Chorley, UK

Great location

Posted Apr 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Superb Hotel. Fantastic Winery. Try the the One Eye Shiraz....amazing
5 out of 5
Recommended
by JTM from VIC

Great hotel

Posted Apr 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall we had a great experience - stayed here for a wedding. Our room was nicely situated between the wedding and the reception. Very happy with the modern rooms in a stunning old building.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Debz from Gippsland

exceptional mansion

Posted Mar 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Heritage room was a well utilised space - although the TV could have been bigger! The grounds and Mansion are exquisite and well worth the drive to Werribee. Rooms service was great and the food YUM
1 out of 5
Recommended
by disappointed from Melbourne

would not return.

Posted Jan 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was a break my husband and I were very much looking forward to, however we were left very disappointed by the whole experience. It seemed to be all the basics that let the hotel down. It is the first time we were truly disappointed with a hotel break dispite having stayed in hotels ranging from tiny hostels to 5 star+. Upon check in, the girl did not seem to have the right booking for us. We had prepaid and had handed her the receipt but her records showed payment required. She did not have details of package we booked. She took receipts and advised she would follow up. This did not happen. I phoned down to reception a couple of times later that day but no answer. Room was very very noisey. A loud whirling noise overtook the room. We thought it was the air-conditioning and turned it off. We left the room to look around the grounds and when we returned the noise still continued. I recorded the noise and went to the reception who changed our room. Walls in the second room also lacked sound proofing and we were kept awake by the nocturnal activities of another couple on our floor. Room was very small for the price (389 1 night bb+d) but that was expected before we arrived based on other reviews. Both breakfast and dinner were also disappointing. My husband ordered his steak medium rare. Steak arrives with only the slightest bit of pink, the waiter asked how it was when my husband cut into it and said he would return it to the kitchen. Second steak arrived the same as the first. My husband decided to just eat it rather than wait again. Food tasted OK but was not amazing for the price, and disappointing a steak could not be cooked as ordered. There was one waiter who was very friendly. Breakfast experience also left a lot to be desired. There was nobody at the desk when we arrived so we waited for a few minutes. When the girl arrived we gave her our room number. The phone rang at the same time, and she answered that and waved her hand shooing us into the restaurant to find an empty table. We couldn't find anyone to ask if there was an al a carte menu, so went to the buffet (we later learned there was). We tried numerous times to flag someone down to order a pot of tea, but could not. We went to the tea station to order ourselves, and were advised we should get a waiter to order. When we eventually managed to get a pot of tea, it took the same man three attempts to our table to recall an order of a pot of tea, there was no milk or suger. I asked a waiter for some milk and sugar for our tea and he returned with one stick of suger. The experience ruined our Christmas break and we would not return. Upon check out we were told we would receive communication from a manager, as no one was available during our stay - have not heard from as of yet. Pro's: grounds are very nice Pool was nice Con's: Small rooms Noisey rooms Issues with Check-in Issues with both Dinner and breakfast No consistency in service
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wedding party stay

Posted Nov 24, 2013
Cons: communication between staff and management of staff.
Location: the wedding in the mansion side was brilliant, nothing to do with the wedding went wrong, they went out of their way to make the wedding special.
Had my sister wedding in the Mansion area and stayed in the hotel area the night before (Saturday night) and the night after (Sunday night) in the lead up everything to do with our stay was confirmed by the bride at least three times. payment was stuffed up the first time. when it came to the day we arrive the extra breakfast we had confirmed we got told was not available and we would have to pay even more money for it, even though we had already tried to pay for it but payment was stuffed up. Saturday night out for dinner as the bridal party, came back about 10:15 and the gates where locked and the first intercom wasn't working and the second gate no one was answering. after about 15 minutes of being locked out the night before my sisters wedding we snuck in a car leaving opened the gate. Then we went to reception to sort out breakfast which they said they would call us before we left for dinner about, after waiting 30 minutes at reception someone came to tell us that we couldn't get the extra breakfast that had been confirmed so 2 people missed out on breakfast the morning of a wedding. then the swap of rooms and bag got miscommunicated and our bags ended up in other peoples rooms that we had to hunt down even though we asked for them to be left at reception so this wouldn't happen as we need to get keys out of them ASAP. No one went out of their wait to make the bride feel special. no sympathy, no apologies and a very stressed out bride and bridal party.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Emmanuel from Melbourne

A stay amongst history,rose garden and a Mansion .

Posted Oct 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Twentieth century comforts of an early heritage priest's college isolated from the daily rat race of modern living. One absorbs the period features, untouched, including the library and original stained -glass windows. A award winning restaurant can be found within the hotel,to dine and take in the garden views surrounding this piece of history. An extension can also be found in the form of more added luxury rooms, a spa and gym. The hotel is part of the original 19 th. century Mansion within the grounds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Liana from St Kilda

The Perfect Romantic Escape - Just out of the City

Posted Sep 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Wonderful hotel, lots of added inclusion complimentary to the werribbee grounds like the Historic mansion and free wine tasting at Shaddowfax Winery. The gardens are expansive and delightful, could have wandered around there for days, the historical rose garden is delighful and will be stunning when in full bloom. The sculpture walk is another little adventure within the grounds. Just a peaceful relaxing escape utterly delightful.
4 out of 5
by Sue from NZ

Beautiful hotel with very bad access

Posted Sep 8, 2013
Pros: No snakes under the bed
Cons: The access road
Location: No time to do anything
Road to hotel attrocious - unsealed, ruts, no street lamps, and a lost taxi driver. The actual hotel was beautiful with excellent service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Thomas from Gold Coast QLD, Australia

10 out of 10 experience

Posted Mar 9, 2013
Pros: The staff and grounds were so impressive!
Cons: We had to leave.
We really enjoyed our stay at the Mansion on our recent trip down during the 2013 Avalon Air Show. The Hotel was so inviting and friendly. All of the staff from the front office (Cedric - the Guest Relations Manager - has to be special mentioned as he has gone above and beyond to try and help us find a lost camera to the point of calling on mobile and personally checking the room we stayed in!), restaurant and housekeeping were really friendly and seemed to take that extra bit of care and attention. The grounds are stunning and make you feel like you are walking back in English Estate history - at least our vision of it. We loved the Air Show but by the second day we debated staying at the mansion and indulging in the spa treatments, beautiful pool or the local Zoo. 10 out of 10 experience and look forward to coming back to Werribee Mansion for a non Air Show romantic weekend or week.