Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.5 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Disappointed!

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: The free ice machine.
Cons: See my comments above
Location: Location was ideal.
From the web site photos and description, first of all, I thought this was a "hotel". It was not! It was a "motel" - HUGE difference!! They should advertise it correctly. The building is very old, and I had to ask for a different room, since the one they reserved for me smelled terrible! The refrigerator did not work, and the bathroom was probably as clean as they could get it, but looked terrible, old tiling that needed grouting. A few of the lights didn't work. They gave me another room, which was a little better, but not much! It still had an odor to it. The king bed was old, squeaky and lumpy! I felt as though I had to stay or pay for the full amount of my two-night visit, which I think was overpriced for what I got! Their continental breakfast only consisted of bread, a toaster and coffee! Since my trip out to West Branch was only for beach-going purposes, staying there was okay. I will look for a better hotel (not motel) next time! The only thing good about this visit was that it made me appreciate just how good I have it at home, and I couldn't wait to check out of there! I think these hotels/motels need to be much more honest about their facilities!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very run down

Posted Jun 23, 2014
I didn't like the shower at all...little water pressure as most of the water went out the faucet not the showerhead, a dirty bathtub floor, and badly bubbled paint overhead. No place to hang clothes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to highway

Posted Jan 12, 2014
nice to have a restaurant upstairs And a bar downstairs
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 4, 2013
extremely outdated. Grout in shower was gross. almost no water pressure
1 out of 5
by Tracy from Chicago, IL

Sleep in your car instead!

Posted Oct 28, 2013
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything.
Location: We were there for parents weekend at U of Iowa. It was hard to find a room so we ended up here. Never again!
Dirty, smelled like smoke, facets did not work on tub, only hot water came out of sink. Didnt want to walk on the floor without shoes on. If I didnt have my three children with me, I would have slept in my car. It was awful!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Rachel from Berkley, MI

good cheap option for iowa city

Posted Oct 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
cheapest option for recent visit to iowa city for the football game. right off the highway. it is a motel, but clean. dont think you need shower shoes...
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2014 by Management, Hotel Management
Hi Rachel, Thank you for allowing us to be your host during the football game. We hope you enjoyed your entire visit to the area. We would also like to thank you for taking the time to post a review for us. We are pleased to hear you were satisfied with the hotel. We are working to enhance our guest experiences even further and we look forward to hosting your visit to the area during the next football game. Thank you again Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by Dave from Milwaukee

This place is very overpriced for what it is.

Posted Oct 9, 2013
Pros: Nothing
Cons: With a lot of work and money
Location: There is a Mexican Restaurant attached to the motel. Not much of anywhere else to go other than to a bar
This place is run down, messy, and needs repairs and painting. It is grossly overpriced. When we checked in there were piles of sheets on a table and on the floor. This was about 6:00 in the evening when we checked in. For $105.00 I was extremely disappointed. Drain didn't work and plaster in bathroom unpainted. I would never suggest this to anyone.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Cameron

Posted Oct 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2014 by Management, Hotel Management
Hi Cameron, We would like to thank for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to rate your stay with us. We are pleased to see the hotel met your expectations and we will strive to improve the hotel even further. We look forward to being your host the next time you are in the West Branch area. Thank you again, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by David from Colorado

WRITE IT OFF YOUR LIST

Posted Oct 7, 2013
Pros: The staff of one person doing everything including registration, cleaning, laundry, etc.
Cons: Room conditions, painting, outside appearance, tv reception (get ESPN) hallways, odor in the hallways, beds, lighting, bathtubs. Need I continue?
Location: Close to Interstate 80 and home to Hebert Hoover Presidential Library. Ia. City, home og U of I, fishing, etc.
AS THE ONLY HOTEL IN WEST BRANCH, IA AND BEING NEAR I 80 IT WILL ATTRACT VISITORS. BUT THE OVERALL APPEARANCE OF THE HOTEL IS LATE 1940 - EARLY 1950. WALKING IN TO OUR ROOM THE HALLWAYS SMELLED "OLD" BUT THE ROOM DID NOT HAVE THIS SAME ODOR. THE STAFF, CONSISTING OF ONE LADY WHO RAN THE OFFICE, DID THE ROOM CLEANING AND EVERYTHING ELSE AROUND THERE. SHE TRIED HER BEST AND DID ALL SHE COULD DO AND WAS ALWAYS ACCOMMODATING TO REQUESTS. SHE WAS THE ONLY THING GOOD ABOUT THIS PLACE. TV RECEPTION WAS POOR AND LIMITED. I WOULD GIVE IT AN OVERALL RATING OF 1/2 FOR CONDITIONS, PLEASANTNESS AND 3 STARS FOR THE POOR GAL WHO IS TRYING HER BEST TO RUN THE HOTEL FOR SOMEONE TOO UNINTERESTED OR TIGHT TO MAKE IT A BETTER PLACE TO VISIT PRES. H. HOOVER LIBRARY.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2014 by Management, Hotel Management
Hello, We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel during your visit to the area. We would also like to thank you for taking the time to rate your stay with us. We are sorry to hear the hotel did not quite meet your expectations. We will continue to identify our weaknesses and work to improve on them, so that our guests experience the best visits to the area. We hope you will give us another opportunity to show you the improvements we have made with the hotel. Thank you again, Hotel Management