Ratings based on 111 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manalapan, NJ

Sept 12 & 13

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: The room rate was excellent, lower than anything else I found in the area or in Newport (where I was visiting).
Cons: Perhaps a few more items could be added to the breakfast bar, particularly a better selection of fruit and maybe some yogurt as well.
Location: I was visitng Newport, so the hotel was a bit farther out than I expected it to be, but getting to Newport was easy (thanks to my GPS).
I was here for two nights, Sept. 12 and 13, 2014. I had read previous reviews and found them to be about 50/50 for and against, so I wasn't quite sure what to expect. The room rate was excellent, which is why I stayed, although it was a bit farther from Newport than I had expected. Despite the negative reviews, the room was roomy and comfortable and extremely clean, however, there was a tear in the carpet, which had been glued down. I think that detracted from the overall appearance. Previous reviews of the "breakfast," were correct and I personally didn't think it was anything "spectacular" and I found the selection to be rather limited. On Sunday morning, after I checked out, I went down the road to the Gentleman Farmer diner, which had been recommended by the hotel. However, despite this, I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy location.

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Nice hotel. Close to the highway. Good central location. Everything seems to be about a 30 min drive from here. Not much in the immediate area but that's ok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, clean hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Overall very good qualty hotel. Pool, spa are pluses. Clean rooms, sheets, towels. Only drawback is limited breakfast choice. I was expecting a wider selection as I was with my wife and kids. Will recommend to family and friends. Nice, convenient location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Hotel in good shape and the whole family liked it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Nice hotel, great breakfast, PLEASANT STAFF

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: Good value for money
Cons: Would prefer bar soap and shampoo rather than push up containers on wall in showerGood location
Location: Good location within driving distance to University of Rhode Island and Newport. Excellent restaurant called Dans one exit down. Easy on/off highway
Nice hotel right off the highway. Pleasant staff who offered good advice for dinner places. Excellent breakfast. Rooms comfortable and clean. Working hot tub and nice pool.Would stay again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by Leonard from Florida

Non-smokers beware!

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Fumigate the rooms in the hotel that were smoking rooms. Customer service and free breakfast.
Over the past several years my wife and I have had the opportunity to stay at this hotel on several different occasions. Was a great place to stay with a great staff. No more! For a non-Smoking hotel our room had a terrible stale cigarette smoke smell. Evidently, we were staying in a room that was a smoking room before the hotel switched to all non-smoking. In my opinion, if you call a room non smoking it should smell fresh and clean. Not the case here. When I brought it to the attention of the front desk and asked for a different room I was informed that they could not inconvenience the maid staff by assigning another room. In addition, they were quite arrogant about it. Maybe because We booked our room and paid in advance we were stuck for the four night stay. One last note. When I asked to speak with the manager I was informed that the manager only visits the property on Saturday morning at 11 AM. Bottom line, it was a terrible stay.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location not close to beach but rates reasonable

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: Sheets were clean, toilet and sink were clean.
Cons: Look at what is in my experience.
Location: Not real close to the beach but it is commutable. Bike trails.
Room could have been cleaner. Drain in tub was not working.