Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A room with character in a building with character

Posted Mar 23, 2015
old house converted into a B & B. Great host and excellent breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Climax, NC

Historic Buffalo Tavern B&B - a winner

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: Relaxing
Cons: Directions via GPS are sketchy. Instead go through West Jefferson and come down from the north on Buffalo Road
Location: Quaint town, antiques, cheese factory. For short hike and good view, try nearby Mt Jefferson State Park.
Excellent accommodations at a surprisingly low price. Plenty warm in the cold winter of West Jefferson. Great breakfast, friendly and engaging proprietor. No shared bath areas.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jackfrom little river sc

great mountain getaway

Posted Aug 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
This place is fabulous. Very nice very quiet. Doc the owner makes you feel right at home and cooks great food with his home grown herbs and vegetables. Mountains are gorgeous and the downtown area is quaint. Air quality is extremely clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Chelseafrom Charlotte

Exactly what you want in a B&B

Posted Aug 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Normally I pretty harsh in my reviews, but this place was great. The title says it all. This place was charming, in a beautiful area, old but maintained. Doc, the owner/inn keeper treats his guests like old friends and is very accommodating. I was in the area for business, and didn't get to spend as much time there as I would've liked, but I would definitely come back again. This place was perfect for what it was, a charming little mountain B&B.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Davidfrom Columbia, SC

Enjoyed

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
My wife felt very pampered our entire stay. Thanks, Doc
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Bettie lou & Boycefrom Charlotte, N.C.

Buffalo Tavern B&B

Posted May 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
The owner/ operator was very cordial and the staff were kind as well. It would be good to have someone to review the use of the artificial electric fireplace. The shutters were in very poor condition such that you could not close them to prevent outsiders from seeing into the room. It would help to have a map to know the exact location without dependance on the GPS navigation. Please note, the cell phone service drops calls due to the mountains and you loose communication within 10 miles of the location. The breakfast was very nice and the hospitality was pleasing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Quaint?

Posted Oct 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel was miles from anywhere. We arrived fairly late at night after a long days travel and had to immediately get into the car and travel to a restaurant. In the morning the breakfast did not open until 9 o'clock, we were on the road to next destination by then and subsequently missed our breakfast. Breakfasts should be available from 7 o'clock.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint little bed and breakfast up windy mountain

Posted Jun 25, 2013
This was our first experience at a bed and breakfast. We were there for a wedding so did not have as much time to explore all the outdoor amenities in the area, but we greatly enjoyed our stay. Doc was very friendly, warm, and welcoming. His meal creations far exceeded my expectations. We will be going back again! He had a snacks and drinks available 24/7.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Greg & Dianafrom Orange County, CA

Historic should not mean cluttered and run down.

Posted Jun 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
The owner / innkeeper "Doc" was away on vacation and in his stead was a well meaning woman who apologized for not being familiar with the breakfast recipes. The furnishings in the living room were generally in poor condition. One love seat had a broken leg with stuffing showing. We spent 3 nights in late May and Christmas decorations were still present in both the living and dining rooms and repairs were in various stages of development throughout the house. If this inn's condition was a result of being "off-season", it should have been so noted in the on-line literature and discounted accordingly. It was an unpleasant surprise for two seasoned B&B travelers. It's a beautiful location and hopefully the needed repairs can be completed before too long.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 19, 2009 on Hotels.com