Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.5 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Melindafrom Moline

What we expected

Posted Nov 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stay was exactly what we were hoping for. Cheap, clean, quiet. A place to rest our heads and shower the next morning. Nothing fancy but adequate
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Aging hotel

Posted Nov 4, 2014
We stayed at this hotel because every other hotel in the area was booked. It wasn't dirty just very old and worn. The heat barely worked and the sheets on one of the beds had holes and tears. The staff was very nice however and did the best they could.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Jc mendezfrom Wisconsin

Never going back ever

Posted Oct 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
The smell in the room was terrible , spider Web in the room , the heater wasn't working right I make the reservation because I don't fine other hotel close to iowa city, next time if this is my last choose I sleep in my car for $95+ I pay for this ,I never coming back to this place horrible experience the wife don't stop telling me I told you so.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Ok
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Jessicafrom Kansas City

What we needed

Posted Sep 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was visiting a friend in iowa city for Labor Day weekend and we just needed a shower and beds. It wasn't 5 star or anything, but that wasn't what I needed!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Lisafrom Illinois

Price is right

Posted Aug 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
Needed a cheap place to sleep close to I-80 on way to family wedding and the Econolodge fit the bill. It was cheap, close to I-80, and relatively clean for an older motel. Yes, it smelled some, but all of the older motels do. It wasn't enough to bother us. We arrived at 10:30 @ night and someone was there to check us in. They offer a few rooms for an additional $10 you can stay in with your pets. There's nothing around it except a gas station, so plan on going somewhere else to eat. Overall, we got what we paid for and were satisfied.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Edwardfrom Southern California

Value Acceptable for Price Paid

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: It was a clean, comfortable room for a low price (relative to other hotels in the area). This was all I needed and they delivered. Nothing fancy.
Cons: Would have been nice if a hair dryer was in the room.
Location: It was a 15 - 20 minute drive to Iowa City from the hotel. It was a bit of a drive but I could deal with that since I made my plans at the last min.
At the last minute I needed a low price room for the weekend (2 nights) close to Iowa City. The Econo Lodge West Liberty met my requirements and expectations given the price that I paid, and last minute request. Many hotels in the area were fully booked or had very expensive rooms available.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by JustPassingThrufrom Fort Collins, CO

Decent night's stay for the price

Posted Mar 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
We got a good price and all we needed was a bed, so this place fit the bill. The beds are old and the springs are worn, but we all (3 adults) got a good night's sleep. The general cleanliness of the room was good, but the commode had a nasty smudge inside. The tub faucet was constantly running a small stream of water and could not be shut off. There was a rust stain in the tub from the running water. The towels were thin and threadbare, but probably never were soft and fluffy when they were new. Sheets were old and worn but seemed to be clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awkward Location

Posted Jan 12, 2014
The hotel is located behind the BP station and it was interesting to get to. The girl who ran the front desk was not very personable. When I called from my room to get the wi-fi password, no one answered the phone. I had to walk to the front desk in below freezing temperatures just to get answers to my questions and get the password. The room was not clean. I wouldn't recommend staying here.