Ratings based on 237 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rockhampton

Affordable place; Close to CBD area.

Posted Dec 13, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff Close to CBD area Fee wifi at good speed
Cons: Cleanliness.
Location: The location is very good. The sea life aquarium, food joints, Melbourne library etc are very close
We stayed at the hotel for 6 nights. The hotel is close to CBD area. Most of the places we wanted to visit were within 2 kms radius. We found the rooms to be a bit small. There wasn't even decent space to walk freely within the room. The staff was very friendly. Complimentary wifi was provided at a good speed. No hot plate available but we could cook breakfast in the well equipped kitchen. The room didn't have enough space for table and chair so had to eat most of food that we brought with ourselves on the bed..something we don't like. We the option of eating the food in the cafeteria/coffee shop. The only thing that we (my wife & I) disliked was that during our entire stay the room wasn't vacuumed even once.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, Wa

Basic hotel with great staff

Posted Dec 7, 2014
Pros: The staff and the location outside of the downtown area but close to restaurants and pubs
Cons: The decor and furnishings were worn and the bathroom could use a redo.
This is a basic travelers hotel, no extras or big amenities, but the price is great and it's a great place to stay if you are looking for a clean, quiet room with a really helpful and friendly front desk. The free wifi was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great little hotel, good location, clean and tidy

Posted Nov 23, 2014
great little hotel, good location, clean and tidy . Lots of eatery's near by
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brisbane

Good alternative to CBD stay.

Posted Nov 8, 2014
Pros: Suited all my requirements to a tee, at short notice.
Cons: Rooms at back have some Pub noise from down the road - patrons leaving, etc, only.
Location: Tram very close by, with direct route to CBD and Queen Victoria Markets. TAB, eateries, specialty shops, and Myki Card top-ups are short walks, only.
Staff well-versed in providing information, and small hotel is clean in an older-style building......pristine ensuite, in particular.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom M

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Convenient, clean, comfortable stay and staff were very friendly and helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Malaysia

Warm & cozy

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: The location that is easily accessible by tram and other mode of transportation. The staff are friendly and very helpful.
Cons: They could add an iron in the room.
Location: Very convenient to go to town via the tram. Or you can walk to Queen Victoria's market and find many interesting things.
I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights with my daughter. It was comfortable, cozy and most of all I felt safe. The room had everything that we could ask for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean good value hotel

Posted Oct 26, 2014
I stayed for a week whilst visiting my son in Melbourne. Hotel facilities are good and the staff very helpful. It's a little bit out of town but still walkable, room furniture and fittings a bit basic and old fashioned - but what do you expect for the price? Very clean and very good value hotel. I'd definitely recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and secure

Posted Sep 28, 2014
We stayed for a weekend good secure parking and building is also secure. 24hour reception rooms are small everything inside is quality from the beds to the bathroom and new tvs. Close to the tram would definatly go back
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very comfortable and friendly service and we would definitely stay there again. 1. A booking fee was out of my credit card when on your website I thought I was to pay on arrival. 2. Our key was disabled before we checked out of the hotel and we were unable to get into our room but that was rectified quickly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas, TX

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: The Staff is awesome, very helpful. The hotel is going through some renovations, but it is still a basic hotel. It is not 3.5 stars as has been said
Cons: It is a bleak, drab place. But for just sleeping and storing your stuff while you see the city, it isn't bad at all.
Location: The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the Victoria Market. I like the location. But if you don't walk, don't stay here.
I have stayed here twice. Once during the high season when the rates were high. Once when they were very reasonable. I like that the hotel has laundry facilities on site. The Staff have always been great. I like to walk, so it does not bother me that it is about 10-15 minutes from the CBD. The hotel is very basic and some might say dingy, but that is b/c the lights are florescent, the walls are dark, and the carpet utilitarian. But it is clean and again, I like the location as well as the Staff. I would stay there again.