Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wyoming

Historic hotel with great dining facilities

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: The decor, the bedding which was wonderfully soft, Patton's Pub, Dining room
Cons: The Bistro for breakfast was very limited
Location: West Point, Hudson River Valley
We stayed one night while we toured West Point. Our room looked out over the Hudson River. It was fall so the colors were beautiful. We were also there for a storm which was impressive to watch but the hotel remained warm and cozy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Very quaint

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Nice hotel-quaint and had modern amenities. Food excellent-especially brunch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

History

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Quick over night but the hotel was very nice. Staff were friendly. Room very small but comfortable and clean. Restaurant was nice but a little pricey but do have a lighter menu at the bar.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid riverside rooms and beware internet 'tax'

Posted Jun 3, 2014
When we checked in we were given a 2nd floor room overlooking the river and told that there might be some noise from the trains and the Zulu bar. We didn't pay much attention to this at the time but the welcome pack of earplugs on the pillow should have been a clue. When we returned to the room after dinner the noise of loud music from the bar was unbearable - you couldn't even hear the TV when it was switched on. Fortunately we were offered a room change as the door lock wasn't working properly and we asked to be moved to the other side of the hotel which was fine. Also when we checked in we asked about internet access and were told that this was only available at an additional facility charge of $11.99. We decided not to take this option. However, when we checked out the charge had been added to the bill for each of the 2 rooms we had booked. When we queried this as we hadn't asked for or used the internet we were told that it was a 'tax' that was added to Expedia bookings. Despite our objections the receptionist insisted that we had to pay it and as they had our credit card details we felt that we had no choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room was very clean and comfortable

Posted May 4, 2014
We went to a wedding and stayed the night I would do it agai
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room was very clean and comfortable

Posted May 4, 2014
We went to a wedding and stayed the night I would do it agai
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kimberlyfrom upstate NY

Historic hotel on the Hudson

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: We have come for lunch before and Sunday brunch. This is the first time we stayed overnight. We enjoyed our visit, dinner in Patton's Tavern(casual).
Location: The history of the hotel and the views of the Hudson River. Looking forward to planning event here. We drove to Millbrook vineyards after first visit.
We were pleasantly surprised to find The Thayer Hotel on this website and jumped at the opportunity to experience as we are considering for a social event. Professional staff at the front desk, courteous valet and sales staff that is knowledgeable and personable. We cannot wait to return
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 31, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Terryfrom New Jersey

Survival

Posted Jul 18, 2013
Pros: Quiet, clean rooms, delicious food at a reasonable price, close to small town with yummy ice cream
Location: Not much to do in really hot weather. Other than West Point not much close by
We really appreciated the frigid air conditioning on our trip on a few of the hottest days of the summer. Restaurant was amazing for dinners and breakfast. Very peaceful and quiet.... Slept much better than at home! All staff was polite and accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tomfrom Webster, NY 14580, USA

Military history & tradition at hotel

Posted Jun 6, 2013
Pros: View of USMA from room
Cons: None
Location: Hotel perfectly located at the gate of West Point Military Academy.
Very impressed with the personnel working at this hotel, Also, the hotel was extremely well maintained,