Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Neil from Thorpe Bay, Southend-on-Sea, UK

Superb in every way

Posted Jan 5, 2013
Pros: Room and spa facililites
This hotel is truly excellent and we see ourselves making further trips here. Recommended without equivocation as a place to come and de-stress, unwind and be thoroughly spoiled!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room Too Small for Comfort

Posted Oct 14, 2012
The room was too small. I actually had to duck my head every time I walked around the bed to get from the bathroom to the TV/desk to avoid hitting it on the slanting wall. Not exactly five-star comfort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 8, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lynn

Posted Oct 8, 2012 on Hotels.com
Read many reviews about this hotel before booking. The room was an attic room up a musty dark staircase which was very disappointing as we were expecting luxurious. Although the restaurant food was lovely and the service was outstanding, it was overpriced however the overwhelming five star spa redeemed our experience..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bliss!

Posted Sep 30, 2012
After being let down by two previous hotels on this trip it was an absolute pleasure to stay here! Gorgeous bed and linens! Wonderful extremely helpful staff! A pleasure!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for a romantic getaway.

Posted Sep 13, 2012
Pros: opulent decor and quality of staff
Cons: trying to find the property at night was difficult
Location: in the country side, 15 minutes away from Gatwick
Fabulously decorated, olde world hotel with top quality professional staff. We arrived late for a one night stay which was the most disappointing part as could not really make the most of the stay. Dinner in the less formal restaurant was wonderful; would have loved to try the formal dining room but time and money would not permit! We stayed in the Windsor room which was an attic room with a quirky yet perfect bedroom/bathroom design; I cannot say enough about this luxurious hotel. Also very close to Gatwick airport for those who'd like to start their holiday one day early. Only suggestion I would make is a lighted sign outside the property..it took us a while to find in the dark winding country roads, even with a sat nav.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by JH

Lovely Spa and quiet location

Posted Jun 18, 2012 on Hotels.com
Lovely spa is definetely worth to try it. the quality of water was really good! Room was reasonablely good.The food in hotel restuarant was fine except the portion. I ordered a fish and chips.. yet the fish was too small even for a woman. (If you were a man, you will get angry!!! ) Overall, it was good to book it if you like a spa.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

4 star Fawlty Towers & dirty duvet.

Posted Apr 10, 2012 on Hotels.com
Beautiful building and spa. Shame that nothing worked in our room! The CD player wasn't working, we had only 3 channels on the TV, window in bathroom would not shut (the manager tried too) bathroom lights would not turn on. Duvet had blood on it. Staff very sweet but incredibly immature and inexperienced. After an overpriced meal in 'relfections' we were told by a lad to leave with no explanation (assumed as it was closing?)Very odd, didn't offer to carry our wine to room. Spa lovely but again, staff are sweet to chat to however they told me the towel washing machine was not working, i need to know because??! Wouldn't stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Pleasant stay at Alexandra house hotel.

Posted Apr 2, 2012
Very pleasant stay. Lovely surroundings, very clean and comfortable room, friendly and helpful staff. Thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Marbella, Spain

Good small hotel

Posted Nov 19, 2011
The hotel was well located and easy to find. The staff were friendly and the room had nice decor and was comfortable. Our only problem was that the television did not work on some of the channels. I did report this and asked if it could be fixed by the evening when I returned but nothing had been done about it. I phoned reception 5 times to ask about it and there was no answer. My only other slight problem is that there was only 1 vegetarian meal on the menu, which doesn't exactly give you much choice - especially if you don't like risotto! Would I go back - yes - it is a lot better than other hotels that I have stayed in close to Gatwick airport.