Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Browning from Hove

Wonderful stay

Posted Sep 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Loved the Alexander house! Beautiful inside and out. Amazing staff, from entering the house until the last minute leaving!! Will 100% be going back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Spa
by Jon A from Horsham

Wow!

Posted Aug 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
From the moment we arrived, the greeting from the front of house, receptionist and Spa was first class. The two spa treatmenets I booked for my wife and I were superb and the Spa fantastic. The food in the fine dining was the best we ever had, the chateaubrean was seasoned and cooked to perfection, what a lovely day and night, could not fault it from start to finish. You pay the money and this is what you get, 5 * all the way, will certainly return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Janet from Oxford, UK

Pleasing property close to Gatwick excellent spa.

Posted Jul 27, 2013
Pros: Very comfortable homely feel with beautiful grounds and pretty courtyard in the restaurant
Cons: The room at the top up the tiny staircase, o.k for one night but would have preferred a better room, but the usual story for the single traveller!
Location: Beautiful location with lovely gardens and grounds
I had read the previous reviews before booking this hotel with hope that I did not end up in the attic room up the tiny staircase, but guess what I did!! However although it did have lower ceilings and was obviously up in the eves it was not unpleasant. The bed was extremely comfortable and as I was only staying one night before flying from Gatwick it was adequate. Huge well equipped bathroom. I had a lovely afternoon tea in the pretty garden area, room service for dinner and breakfast in the equally pretty courtyard restaurant all were of a good standard. I had an excellent treatment in the spa which was obviously very popular as it was very busy. This was a most pleasant change from staying at one of the sterile airport hotels. Would definitely stay here if flying from Gatwick again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice but not worth the cost

Posted Jul 21, 2013
Hotel and Spa were nice? Our beef was about two things, firstly the value for money, they charge top end prices for everything, and its not top end. The service in many instances fell short of what you'd expect of an expensive 5 start hotel. No big dramas, just not attentive enough.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Near perfect and close to Gatwick

Posted Jul 16, 2013
Pros: Hydro pool
Cons: small room, The Winchester...avoid it in the summer especially hot.
Location: Great and close to Gatwick
The hotel and grounds of this lovely hotel are perfect.Lots of outdoor space to sit and relax. Our stay was great other than the room which, by the way, was the only available room when we checked in. The room was very small even by European standards and there was no air conditioning which made it nearly unbearable. But, that said the hotel is really great and the staff accommodating. The spa is fantastic and the hydro pool is perfect especially after jet lag!!! All in all a great experience and even better if we could have a larger room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Loving Couple from Hampshire

Perfect stay for a romantic getaway

Posted Jun 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
On arrival we were warmly welcomed and check-in was swift. All staff were pleasant and not intrusive when relaxing in the lovely grounds. The room was well maintained and bed very comfortable. Even with a wedding disco a going on it was very quiet. Only slight thing is the lovely shower design means after spending a long time in there the bathroom floor was very wet, and the very large bath took a very long time to fill.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Relaxing nights stay.

Posted Jun 3, 2013
Pros: Spa, especially the outdoor hot tub on a sunny day-amazing!
Cons: Room too hot to sleep and unexpected disturbances during the night.
Hotel staff extremely welcoming, spa was lovely, room was nice, although very warm overnight. Some noise from hotel terrace and an unfortunate fire alarm at midnight. A lovely stay overall but a couple of very minor blips.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lexi from London

Great hotel for couples and romantic dates

Posted May 23, 2013
Pros: Staff, hot tub!
Cons: room, it was a bit small
Location: Gorgeous, green, relaxing
Amazing Hotel! Amazing staff! We are definitely coming back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Eric from London

Great Spa Location

Posted Apr 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is in a great location, about 20 minutes from the M23. The spa was great, note the steam room and sauna are in the changing rooms. The bed was very comfortable and i had a great nights sleep. Service was 10+
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Chris from London

Not quite perfect

Posted Mar 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
Lovely hotel in so many ways. Nice spa and treatments... Beautiful bedroom and view. Dinner was slightly disappointing... Food was good but service was slow and they played music better suited to a cruise throughout the meal.