Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Great hotel in lovely lication

Posted May 4, 2015
Friendly staff. Good location. Great food. From checkin to checkout the staff were professional and attentive. Hotel is in a lovely location. I was a little disappointed by the cleanliness of the bathroom. The bathroom needs a deep clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 11, 2015 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ivanfrom London

Nice country-side break close to London

Posted Feb 1, 2015 on Hotels.com
We`ve spent a couple of days it the property and much enjoyed it. The hotel is lovely. The stuff is very helpful and nice. The room was a bit dark, but apart from it very nice - clean, spacious and nicely decorated. Both restaurants offer delicious food. The spa-center is lovely, especially a hot-tub outside - it was so good to sit in a hot tube under the moon sky.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

not worth the money.

Posted Jan 20, 2015 on Hotels.com
bad points- - room ceiling was 6 ft. far too low and cramped. - bathroom door would not lock -seperate wc without window - house keeping would have to be prompted - overall service was 3 star at best - spa over priced by 30% - AG fine dining restaurant- food was avergage, service was poor - no hall room - much less grand than portrayed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gordonfrom Weymouth

Think Downton Abbey experience....

Posted Jan 11, 2015 on Hotels.com
Think Downton Abbey.... Arriving to the welcoming door men, taking your bags for you and seeing you to reception. The smell of open fires with amazingly large fireplaces, crystal chandeliers, antique furniture and beautiful decor. This is just the hotel. The spa, again amazing; a choice of spas (indoor and out), wonderful massaging jets, swimming pool, sauna, wet room and large changing rooms with fluffy towels, hair dryers, hair straighteners, and all the other toiletries one requires. We didn't book any treatments, the hotel and the spa are tonic enough! This was our second stay, we travelled over 3 hours just to stay here again, and it was well worth it. We had a meal in AG's a la carte restaurant, which was delicious, but sadly I was too full from the aperitifs that you are given beforehand to fully enjoy my main meal. We have stayed in many five star hotels here and abroad, but this one takes some beating!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 4, 2015 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful building. Good first greeting.

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Room flawed. Terrible overpriced food. Restaurant staff totally untrained. Food mediocre at best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by davidfrom David and Sam from Surrey

Stunning Hotel and Spa

Posted Dec 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
A fabulous night hotel, perfect for a most indulgent romantic break. Superb dinner - definitely have the tasting menu! The spa was wonderful. A first rate stay from the moment we were welcomed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Andrewfrom Bampton, East Grinstead

Rainy night in East Grinstead

Posted Nov 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely hotel - amazing service and ambience. Breakfast a little pricey but very attentive staff. Hard to fault really.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Barryfrom Horncastle

A lovely mid-week one-night break

Posted Nov 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
A glorious country house hotel. We were looked after perfectly all the time. When we were told the restaurant we wanted was full, they still managed to double check and put us in. Great night.