Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful building. Good first greeting.

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Room flawed. Terrible overpriced food. Restaurant staff totally untrained. Food mediocre at best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Barryfrom Horncastle

A lovely mid-week one-night break

Posted Nov 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
A glorious country house hotel. We were looked after perfectly all the time. When we were told the restaurant we wanted was full, they still managed to double check and put us in. Great night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Suefrom Cowden

Gimme a break

Posted Nov 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Seriously needed some down time and this was just what the doctor ordered! Pampering and luxury..perfect!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Awesome spa!

Posted Nov 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely setting and grand looking hotel with a beautiful spa area. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room itself however (Chelsea)was not of a 5 star standard unfortunately. Although the view was good the windows were quite dirty and painted shut apart from one. The interleading door rattled all night and there was no minibar. I would still recommend this hotel though, based purely on the spa (possibly the best one that I have been to).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

I believe it is the best hotel in that area.

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: Cozy, comfortable, classy
Cons: Expedia's coordination with the hotels concerning the payments
Location: Graet countryside.
I didn't appreciate the fact that they were trying to charge me again for the room, after I had already paid it in Expedia. I don't know if it was Expedia's fault or the hotel's, but had I not fought it and had I paid double, it would have been very bad. Lack of coordination from Expedia, possibly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

We'll be back....

Posted Oct 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
My partner and i stayed in Alexander House for just one night. The staff were very welcoming and the old part of the hotel was delightful. I would highly recommend the he made beefburger from the bar! The spa is one of the best I have seen with indoor and outdoor fascilities. The only negative from our stay was the price of treatments. These are by far the most expensive i have ever seen. Would highly recommend this hotel and we'll certainly visit again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Paulfrom International

not really a 5 star service hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
As a international traveler staying at countless 5 star resorts, I was disappointed with the level of service you would expect from a 5 star rated hotel in terms of amenities and attention to detail. For those looking for the usual 5 star service, you will not find it at this hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Spa
by Sarah Rushfrom London

Best Hotel I have Ever Stayed At

Posted Jul 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
WOW!! I booked this hotel for one night for my BFF's birthday treat. We stayed in the Chestnut Suite. The room was large and comfortable. There was a double shower and a free standing bath in the bathroom. The bed was so comfortable.We spent a lot of time walking round the grounds as the weather was lovely during our stay, the hot tub in the pretty gardens was lovely and there were plenty of sunbeds available to relax in the sunshine. The indoor pool area was unbelievable, The jacuzzi was MASSIVE! There were several different buttons you could press to operate different water features, we spent ages having fun in there. The sauna and steam room were fantastic too with a really lovely surprise cold shower feature to cool down afterwards. We ate in the brasserie restaurant as we fancied something a little informal for our evening meal. It was everything we could have hoped for and more. My BFF had steak and I had lobster pasta, we shared tender stem broccoli and spinach as sides. It was all amazing! Overall this hotel was out of this world!! The service was impeccable from beginning to end. I can't wait until I return! I LOVE ALEXANDER HOUSE xxx
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Special birthday treat

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Hotel, spa, room, front of house, concierge absolutely superb, just what you expect for £245 per night. Restraunt staff absolutely appalling, no attention to detail like a steak knife for steak, I had to ask, forgetting the order literally five minutes after order, wrong drinks delivered to the table and the food was average in the reflections restraunt, not what we expected following the arrival experience. The turn down service was a joke, they literally just pulled the corners of the duvet back, pillows were as we left them after an afternoon nap, and they took our chilled water out of the fridge and left it to warm!? Oh they did empty the bin.., breakfast service was equally underwhelming.