Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Special birthday treat

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Hotel, spa, room, front of house, concierge absolutely superb, just what you expect for £245 per night. Restraunt staff absolutely appalling, no attention to detail like a steak knife for steak, I had to ask, forgetting the order literally five minutes after order, wrong drinks delivered to the table and the food was average in the reflections restraunt, not what we expected following the arrival experience. The turn down service was a joke, they literally just pulled the corners of the duvet back, pillows were as we left them after an afternoon nap, and they took our chilled water out of the fridge and left it to warm!? Oh they did empty the bin.., breakfast service was equally underwhelming.
1 out of 5
by david from uk

Lovely location, awfull rooms and service

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Service, rooms,
Location: Don't know as stayed one night only
We arrived and were shown to our room called Devonshire, don't stay in is room. It was a cool evening however it was way too warm as only part of one window would open. The rest of the windows were painted over. With the window open you could smell the extracter fan from the kitchen. The service at the hotel was awfull, it took a long time to find someone to talk to about the room where we were offered a junior suite at extra cost which we declined as it was ridiculous for this standard of room. At drinks in the evening and breakfast the next day service was very slow, over an hour for breakfast to arrive. The staff appeared uninterested and overworked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by MissM from London

Beautiful hotel and one of the best spas ever

Posted May 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
I recently stayed at this hotel and the spa was the absolute highlight of the stay. The service was excellent. My room was lovely, although a bit stuffy as the air con was broken and they tried but failed to fix it. I had the hair dryer on trying to get ready for a big dinner I had to go to and was getting rather overheated. But other than that, It was great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Easter weekend

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Cons: The amount of chlorine in the water of every pool was too high, please reduce it. The amount of foam in one of the Jacuzzy wasn't nice.
Nice hotel. But it's not a 5 star. Staff is perfect as well as the service. But again guys, only because I compare it with the real 5 star hotels the facilities, that's why it is not a 5 star to me. But overall I had a lovely time and would still recommend it to anyone else who is probably looking for a proper 4 star hotels and an amazing SPA day outside London.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Weekend break

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Staff, spa, location, food, amazing bathrooms
Cons: Our room on the top floor was a little long and dark, felt a bit like a corridor and the TV was hard to see from the bed.
Location: Great location, very close to East Grinstead, we went to Hever Castle and explored the beautiful surrounding countryside.
Excellent service, lovely location, good facilities
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Roy from Kent

Hotel Alexandra

Posted Jan 7, 2014
Pros: The warm open fires, very pleasing decour and fine finnishings, coupled with warm friendly staff an experiance worth the time taken to travel.
Cons: Due to the adverse weather the building suffered several leaks on almost all floors, buckets in full use.staffing levels in restaurant let side down.
Location: Ideally situated for both country and town, several walks taken throught the grounds lasting approx 1hr 20min and only a 15min drive to town.
Three night stay, restaurant used on two evening Friday and Sunday, service on Friday exceptional and food of a very high standard. Unfortunatly the Sunday was not of the same standard, table booked from 20:00 shown to our table on time but we were not given a menu until 20:35, starter ordered at 20:50 when staff eventually returned but did not arrive on the table until 21:15, (quility of starter very good and no complaints) Main course did not arrive until 21:40 and although the quility and experiance was of a very high standard the food arrived on the table a little chilled but worth the wait. Room service on the whole very good but we where required on one day the phone reception and query the non arrival of staff to replenish consumables and clean the room, this arrranged very promptly. On the whole the experiance was very pleasant with only those small complaints listed above to dampen an experiance that I would recomend to others. Extensive use of the swimming pool ECT that made the whole experiance one to remember.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Spa
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ruth from Farnborough

Old style hotel but modern service

Posted Dec 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great hotel, lovely interiors, modern rooms, and thankfully help wit your bags up a mountain of stairs. Overall happy with my stay although trying to get a coffee in the morning was beyond their capability. I'd recommend a stay there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by JH from Lancashire

Proposal - SHE SAID YES!

Posted Nov 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
Planned way in advance, traveled for nearly 14 hours, 600 mile round trip, and it was worth every traffic jam on route, every mile & every pound! This 5* hotel met all expectations, and was treated like royalty, an the best part, the girl in my life who was once my friend, best friend, then girlfriend, has now become my fiancee and soon to be my wife! All thanks to Alexander House!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Peter G from USA

Under-Managed

Posted Oct 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel wants to be a sophisticated, high end spa destination. The staff is sincere at trying to be that. But in the execution Alexander House fails. For the price, minor things should not go wrong. But the safe in our room did not work. At the one breakfast we ate at the hotel, the fruit plate we ordered never arrived and other items were unavailable. At dinners, the amuse bouche was the same each of 3 nights--a potato leak soup--and the menu never changed. Guests were not warned ahead to book tables for dinner and on weekends locals crowded out the guests from prime dining hours. On one dinner bill the waiter forgot to charge for drinks and had to be reminded. Service at the restaurant was frequently slow despite lots of staff (all of whom seemed very young). At a lower price point and with less up-front pretentiousness these would be minor matters. But at luxury prices and positioning, there is a lack of attention to detail here that suggests it needs experienced managers to teach the eager but under trained staff how to live up to the hotel's billing.