Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Weekend break

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Staff, spa, location, food, amazing bathrooms
Cons: Our room on the top floor was a little long and dark, felt a bit like a corridor and the TV was hard to see from the bed.
Location: Great location, very close to East Grinstead, we went to Hever Castle and explored the beautiful surrounding countryside.
Excellent service, lovely location, good facilities
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Roy from Kent

Hotel Alexandra

Posted Jan 7, 2014
Pros: The warm open fires, very pleasing decour and fine finnishings, coupled with warm friendly staff an experiance worth the time taken to travel.
Cons: Due to the adverse weather the building suffered several leaks on almost all floors, buckets in full use.staffing levels in restaurant let side down.
Location: Ideally situated for both country and town, several walks taken throught the grounds lasting approx 1hr 20min and only a 15min drive to town.
Three night stay, restaurant used on two evening Friday and Sunday, service on Friday exceptional and food of a very high standard. Unfortunatly the Sunday was not of the same standard, table booked from 20:00 shown to our table on time but we were not given a menu until 20:35, starter ordered at 20:50 when staff eventually returned but did not arrive on the table until 21:15, (quility of starter very good and no complaints) Main course did not arrive until 21:40 and although the quility and experiance was of a very high standard the food arrived on the table a little chilled but worth the wait. Room service on the whole very good but we where required on one day the phone reception and query the non arrival of staff to replenish consumables and clean the room, this arrranged very promptly. On the whole the experiance was very pleasant with only those small complaints listed above to dampen an experiance that I would recomend to others. Extensive use of the swimming pool ECT that made the whole experiance one to remember.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Spa
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ruth from Farnborough

Old style hotel but modern service

Posted Dec 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great hotel, lovely interiors, modern rooms, and thankfully help wit your bags up a mountain of stairs. Overall happy with my stay although trying to get a coffee in the morning was beyond their capability. I'd recommend a stay there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by JH from Lancashire

Proposal - SHE SAID YES!

Posted Nov 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
Planned way in advance, traveled for nearly 14 hours, 600 mile round trip, and it was worth every traffic jam on route, every mile & every pound! This 5* hotel met all expectations, and was treated like royalty, an the best part, the girl in my life who was once my friend, best friend, then girlfriend, has now become my fiancee and soon to be my wife! All thanks to Alexander House!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Peter G from USA

Under-Managed

Posted Oct 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel wants to be a sophisticated, high end spa destination. The staff is sincere at trying to be that. But in the execution Alexander House fails. For the price, minor things should not go wrong. But the safe in our room did not work. At the one breakfast we ate at the hotel, the fruit plate we ordered never arrived and other items were unavailable. At dinners, the amuse bouche was the same each of 3 nights--a potato leak soup--and the menu never changed. Guests were not warned ahead to book tables for dinner and on weekends locals crowded out the guests from prime dining hours. On one dinner bill the waiter forgot to charge for drinks and had to be reminded. Service at the restaurant was frequently slow despite lots of staff (all of whom seemed very young). At a lower price point and with less up-front pretentiousness these would be minor matters. But at luxury prices and positioning, there is a lack of attention to detail here that suggests it needs experienced managers to teach the eager but under trained staff how to live up to the hotel's billing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Browning from Hove

Wonderful stay

Posted Sep 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Loved the Alexander house! Beautiful inside and out. Amazing staff, from entering the house until the last minute leaving!! Will 100% be going back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Spa
by Jon A from Horsham

Wow!

Posted Aug 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
From the moment we arrived, the greeting from the front of house, receptionist and Spa was first class. The two spa treatmenets I booked for my wife and I were superb and the Spa fantastic. The food in the fine dining was the best we ever had, the chateaubrean was seasoned and cooked to perfection, what a lovely day and night, could not fault it from start to finish. You pay the money and this is what you get, 5 * all the way, will certainly return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Janet from Oxford, UK

Pleasing property close to Gatwick excellent spa.

Posted Jul 27, 2013
Pros: Very comfortable homely feel with beautiful grounds and pretty courtyard in the restaurant
Cons: The room at the top up the tiny staircase, o.k for one night but would have preferred a better room, but the usual story for the single traveller!
Location: Beautiful location with lovely gardens and grounds
I had read the previous reviews before booking this hotel with hope that I did not end up in the attic room up the tiny staircase, but guess what I did!! However although it did have lower ceilings and was obviously up in the eves it was not unpleasant. The bed was extremely comfortable and as I was only staying one night before flying from Gatwick it was adequate. Huge well equipped bathroom. I had a lovely afternoon tea in the pretty garden area, room service for dinner and breakfast in the equally pretty courtyard restaurant all were of a good standard. I had an excellent treatment in the spa which was obviously very popular as it was very busy. This was a most pleasant change from staying at one of the sterile airport hotels. Would definitely stay here if flying from Gatwick again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice but not worth the cost

Posted Jul 21, 2013
Hotel and Spa were nice? Our beef was about two things, firstly the value for money, they charge top end prices for everything, and its not top end. The service in many instances fell short of what you'd expect of an expensive 5 start hotel. No big dramas, just not attentive enough.