Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

I believe it is the best hotel in that area.

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: Cozy, comfortable, classy
Cons: Expedia's coordination with the hotels concerning the payments
Location: Graet countryside.
I didn't appreciate the fact that they were trying to charge me again for the room, after I had already paid it in Expedia. I don't know if it was Expedia's fault or the hotel's, but had I not fought it and had I paid double, it would have been very bad. Lack of coordination from Expedia, possibly.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Paulfrom International

not really a 5 star service hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
As a international traveler staying at countless 5 star resorts, I was disappointed with the level of service you would expect from a 5 star rated hotel in terms of amenities and attention to detail. For those looking for the usual 5 star service, you will not find it at this hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Spa
by Sarah Rushfrom London

Best Hotel I have Ever Stayed At

Posted Jul 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
WOW!! I booked this hotel for one night for my BFF's birthday treat. We stayed in the Chestnut Suite. The room was large and comfortable. There was a double shower and a free standing bath in the bathroom. The bed was so comfortable.We spent a lot of time walking round the grounds as the weather was lovely during our stay, the hot tub in the pretty gardens was lovely and there were plenty of sunbeds available to relax in the sunshine. The indoor pool area was unbelievable, The jacuzzi was MASSIVE! There were several different buttons you could press to operate different water features, we spent ages having fun in there. The sauna and steam room were fantastic too with a really lovely surprise cold shower feature to cool down afterwards. We ate in the brasserie restaurant as we fancied something a little informal for our evening meal. It was everything we could have hoped for and more. My BFF had steak and I had lobster pasta, we shared tender stem broccoli and spinach as sides. It was all amazing! Overall this hotel was out of this world!! The service was impeccable from beginning to end. I can't wait until I return! I LOVE ALEXANDER HOUSE xxx
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Special birthday treat

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Hotel, spa, room, front of house, concierge absolutely superb, just what you expect for £245 per night. Restraunt staff absolutely appalling, no attention to detail like a steak knife for steak, I had to ask, forgetting the order literally five minutes after order, wrong drinks delivered to the table and the food was average in the reflections restraunt, not what we expected following the arrival experience. The turn down service was a joke, they literally just pulled the corners of the duvet back, pillows were as we left them after an afternoon nap, and they took our chilled water out of the fridge and left it to warm!? Oh they did empty the bin.., breakfast service was equally underwhelming.
1 out of 5
by davidfrom uk

Lovely location, awfull rooms and service

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Service, rooms,
Location: Don't know as stayed one night only
We arrived and were shown to our room called Devonshire, don't stay in is room. It was a cool evening however it was way too warm as only part of one window would open. The rest of the windows were painted over. With the window open you could smell the extracter fan from the kitchen. The service at the hotel was awfull, it took a long time to find someone to talk to about the room where we were offered a junior suite at extra cost which we declined as it was ridiculous for this standard of room. At drinks in the evening and breakfast the next day service was very slow, over an hour for breakfast to arrive. The staff appeared uninterested and overworked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by MissMfrom London

Beautiful hotel and one of the best spas ever

Posted May 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
I recently stayed at this hotel and the spa was the absolute highlight of the stay. The service was excellent. My room was lovely, although a bit stuffy as the air con was broken and they tried but failed to fix it. I had the hair dryer on trying to get ready for a big dinner I had to go to and was getting rather overheated. But other than that, It was great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Easter weekend

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Cons: The amount of chlorine in the water of every pool was too high, please reduce it. The amount of foam in one of the Jacuzzy wasn't nice.
Nice hotel. But it's not a 5 star. Staff is perfect as well as the service. But again guys, only because I compare it with the real 5 star hotels the facilities, that's why it is not a 5 star to me. But overall I had a lovely time and would still recommend it to anyone else who is probably looking for a proper 4 star hotels and an amazing SPA day outside London.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Weekend break

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Staff, spa, location, food, amazing bathrooms
Cons: Our room on the top floor was a little long and dark, felt a bit like a corridor and the TV was hard to see from the bed.
Location: Great location, very close to East Grinstead, we went to Hever Castle and explored the beautiful surrounding countryside.
Excellent service, lovely location, good facilities
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Royfrom Kent

Hotel Alexandra

Posted Jan 7, 2014
Pros: The warm open fires, very pleasing decour and fine finnishings, coupled with warm friendly staff an experiance worth the time taken to travel.
Cons: Due to the adverse weather the building suffered several leaks on almost all floors, buckets in full use.staffing levels in restaurant let side down.
Location: Ideally situated for both country and town, several walks taken throught the grounds lasting approx 1hr 20min and only a 15min drive to town.
Three night stay, restaurant used on two evening Friday and Sunday, service on Friday exceptional and food of a very high standard. Unfortunatly the Sunday was not of the same standard, table booked from 20:00 shown to our table on time but we were not given a menu until 20:35, starter ordered at 20:50 when staff eventually returned but did not arrive on the table until 21:15, (quility of starter very good and no complaints) Main course did not arrive until 21:40 and although the quility and experiance was of a very high standard the food arrived on the table a little chilled but worth the wait. Room service on the whole very good but we where required on one day the phone reception and query the non arrival of staff to replenish consumables and clean the room, this arrranged very promptly. On the whole the experiance was very pleasant with only those small complaints listed above to dampen an experiance that I would recomend to others. Extensive use of the swimming pool ECT that made the whole experiance one to remember.