Ratings based on 255 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from north queensland

Too many staff and poorly trained for the job.

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: It's proximity to our social events. And I would have liked to be able to buy the bowler hatted teddies.
Cons: Staff hospitality education.
Location: Very pretty area.
At dinner we were one of about 6 tables in a pub. 2 of those tables had dirty dishes on them and there were 3-4 staff members behind the bar chatting. Lots of little irritating letdowns in an otherwise lovely weekend at copthorne. Apart from cleaning staff who worked very hard the other staff really needed hospitality training. Whilst waiting to book in we were in a line of people. There were numerous desk staff walking back and forward. It would have taken them 5 minutes to help out and reduce waiting times. Theses were just 2 instances of lack of hospitality!! For a supposed better quality hotel were very disappointed. The fan in the bathroom did not work initially.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

The perfect end to a visit to the UK

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: Charming character & peaceful setting coupled with proximity to Gatwick airport.
We have found that the Copthorne Hotel provides us with a final bonus to our trips to visit relatives in England. We return our rented car to the airport, check in to the hotel for a final night in pleasant surroundings, and catch our return flight home without the anxiety of trying to do it all the day of our return. The peaceful atmosphere of the hotel gives no indication of its closeness to Gatwick airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rickmansworth,Herts

Card entry to room.

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Reception was pleasant upon arrival. Room was quite nice and very clean.
Cons: As stated. No offer of a morning paper. Repay the charge of £5.00. for parking.No cash machine.
Whilst I have experienced card entry to rooms before, this was the first time that I had experienced the bedroom lights being operated by the same card and upon entering the room I was greeted by complete darkness with no light switches operating the interior lights. I could see a small light by the door but but having tried pessing it with no result I had to leave my wife in the dark room and had to walk back to reception where I was informed to insert the card into the slot by the door that was where the small light was,which was annoying and a time waster whereas an interior light that came on when the door was opened would have at least made it easier for me to gather what to do once entering the room. Upon leaving the hotel I was not given a receipt so I had no idea how much money had been deducted from my account and came away from the hotel feeling that I had been treated like a gereatric which whilst I am elderly was not a pleasant feeling.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good atmospheric and friendly hotel

Posted Aug 4, 2014
It was a convenient and welcoming hotel. We stayed here a family wedding in a nearby hotel. It was the leisure facility that prompted some to stay here. We found it generally good but nothing specific to write home about.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canterbury

Copthorne Stay

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: Air of calm and peacefulness without being like a morgue.
Cons: Removal of car parking fees. It's a hotel not a hospital. Guests should not be penalised for choosing to stay there.
Location: Good location just off the M23.
Stayed for one week as had business to do in Crawley.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by hugh from bda

just fine

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
honestly, i had no problems..
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

booked because close to Gatwick

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: close to APH, easy to get to
Cons: pillows , lifts , doors,
Given the fact we'll all have suitcases why are the doors really heavy and opening in the wrong direction? Why are there no lifts ? Why are there endless stairs in the executive wing? yep even around corners? The Premier inn has closer parking not a rip off breakfast price and if you are using APH is only 10 mins further and the pillow menu exists! We have stayed here 3 times brfore - NO MORE