Ratings based on 383 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Airport Hotel

Posted May 21, 2015
I've stayed in quite a few Crowne Plazas and have never been disappointed with the food, facilities and welcome. The corridors and bedrooms are looking a bit tired and the restaurant could uses some new furniture. All in all a nice stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom St Albans

Good option for an early flight

Posted Apr 16, 2015
We stayed overnight before and early flight to Marrakech. There is no shuttle bus so we go the bus (no 10) fromoutisde the South Terminal. The Taxi would have been £16 for a 3 mile journey. The hotel itself was fine, if a little dated but prefectly acccptable for the purpose. The food in the restaurant was good.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom p

It's not 4 star and it's not an airport hotel!

Posted Apr 5, 2015
This is an ageing and tired hotel 10-15 minutes from gatwicks terminals. None of the convenience or closeness you would expect of an airport hotel which it is represented as being. 4 stars at gatwick airport......is a misrepresentation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Budget hotel

Posted Mar 16, 2015
It's ok on a budget, I wouldn't classify it as a luxury hotel. I was put off by the hair on the extra pillows, on a towel in the bathroom and the sound of the air conditioner
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom bristol

Good value for a pre-flight stay

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Pros: Facilities
Cons: No
Location: Didn't venture out as overnight stay only.
For an overnight stay prior to a long-haul flight this hotel is ideally suited. It is close to the airport (20 mins). Decent restaurant and facilities; pool and gym. I wouldn't park for the duration of a trip as cheaper at long-stay at airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Devon, UK

Fabulous nights sleep but needs some TLC

Posted Mar 7, 2015
Pros: Fabulous pool and leisure facilities open early until late.
Cons: The hotel is in need of some TLC. Restaurant menu quite limited.
Location: Perfect for Gatwick, easy to find and lots of lovely Sussex village pubs nearby if you don't fancy eating at the hotel.
I love Crown Plaza hotels, you cannot beat the comfort of the beds and facilities and London - Gatwick is of the expected standard. However there are one or two things that have niggled and I am not sure that I would pick this hotel again. The location for Gatwick airport is ideal, easy to find and well signposted. The staff, as always, were friendly but efficient and helpful. However the general standards of finish around the public areas of the hotel are beginning to show signs of their age, shabby lifts, poorly fitting corridor carpets and grubby paintwork. The club room I stayed in was spacious and nicely styled but various light bulbs weren't working and a broken shower door handle took the shine off initial impressions! Breakfast was actually OK, expensive if not included in your room rate but the variety would allow you to set yourself up for the day. however could someone please review the use of cheap sliced bread for toast, for the money charged I would expect quality bread please. The saddest bit was hearing that the lovely swimming pool and leisure facility is to be filled in to make the restuarant bigger.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Hot hot hot

Posted Feb 18, 2015 on Hotels.com
Hotel was lovely, we were upgraded to a Club Room which was a lovely gesture but the room was so hot! We asked them to look into it while we were out to dinner &Tehran we arrived back at approx 11:30pm, they had put a fan in our room! Not quite what we expected, we had to sleep with the window open. When we mentioned it at check out, they offered to refund our parking which should have been £10, however, when I checked out bank account, they had actually debited £50 & then credited it!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mikefrom hornchurch

deep joy

Posted Feb 16, 2015 on Hotels.com
not good extras for everything. Wifi was free but didn't work. Maids started hoovering corridors at 8am. When we left receptionist asked about our stay, we said rubbish. And she said ok and laughed. Nice, would not use chain again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

A pleasant stay

Posted Feb 9, 2015 on Hotels.com
Convenient and tidy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good standard

Posted Feb 9, 2015 on Hotels.com
the only thing that let them down was the ability to deal with strict dietary requirements, even through i emailed in advance.