Ratings based on 758 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from stratford ontario

Old and tired

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: everything
Location: nice area with nice pubs
I have stayed at this hotel before because of its location but it just keeps getting older with no money or time being spent on it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sussex

Last minute booking.

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: atmosphere
Cons: Sunday breakfast could stay until midday
Location: no experiance
All went far better than expected. even a single room had a double bed and everything you could need.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sussex

Night to relax

Posted Aug 25, 2014
The overall experience was fantastic & we checked in very quickly with no issues. The room was a good size & good value for money.the appearance of the room could do with some improvements with cleanliness & updating!swming pool was very clean & pleasant. Very friendly atmosphere
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saffron Walden

Very dirty and tatty hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: If you are going to Gatwick it is close to the airport
Cons: Needs Cleaning and seriously updating
Location: Beware you can only reach this hotel from one side of the M23, heading north from Brighton there is no exit.
We stayed in a family room with our 2 children. Our first room was very dirty, obviously not cleaned, stained floor, ripped wallpaper, mouldy bathroom. We asked to be moved and was given another room which was cleaner (less mould and less ripped paper) but the TV didnt have an ariel, so we moved for a third time which by this time we were exhausted! This room was ok but very tatty, no lampshades, still mouldy bathroom, all the furniture was battered and worn out. The only saving grace was the bed linen was clean and the bed was fairly comfortable. This hotel is in need of lots of updating and a really good clean, the corridors were dirty and again tatty and the whole place is very run down. It just makes me think if this is the dirt you can see I can only wonder what is going on behind closed doors in the kitchen for example, hasten to say we did not eat here!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst ever. Officially.

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Never again. Pay 10 quit more and get a normal place
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Decent value for the money

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: Like the shuttle service to the airport and very reasonably priced compared to the taxi I had to get from the airport to the hotel.
Cons: More difficult as it should be to get a shuttle from Gatwick to the hotel. Calling the hotel was not very helpful..
Location: The location was fine for the airport.
Decent hotel but not as close to Gatwick as I had imagined. The staff was friendly and the condition of the rooms was acceptable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Not as advertised

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Luckily we only stayed one night. The hotel is very dirty and rooms not well maintained or cleaned.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from montreal canada

Not a three stars as i expected

Posted Aug 11, 2014
I regreat to have booked this hotel, it was a three stars but the facilities were too old for me No lift for my 40 pds luggage Food was awfull Will never come back
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fine for an airport overnight; nothing more.

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Proximity to Gatwick Airport and facilities on offer for those needing airport transport / parking.
Cons: This is not a resort hotel and would be incredibly disappointing for a family doing more than just waiting for a flight.
The Europa seems to be a bit confused as to what it is. The location close to the motorway and Gatwick Airport is a winner, along with the facility to leave a car for the duration of your vacation. But there are plenty of facilities which point to it being something of a family holiday resort; and that would be incredibly disappointing. Getting to our shabby room involved traversing corridors smelling alternately of swimming pool chlorine and cigarette smoke. And there was precious little once we got in there. Luckily we were just there for an overnight before heading to Gatwick the next morning.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hungerford

Really Easy To Find

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Staff are great!
Cons: Decor and cleanliness - EVERYWHERE!
Location: not far from Motorway
The hotel is 'well used' it is tired and there is a lot of dust and muck in the lobby and bar area under tables and chairs, so first impressions not great but the staff more than made up for it. For the price, we paid £50 for a night for 2 - it was not bad - room was very clean and comfy, bathroom spotlessly clearn although sink had a crack all the way around it. Restaurant is ok if you do not want to go out and breakfast was fine too - although I have never seen chips on a breakfast buffet before so that was a bit odd! - all in all if you want somewhere not far from the motorway, not too bothered about how it looks and to crash for the night this place is fine.