Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel near airport

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: helpful staff
Helpful staff and very good service . Pleasant scenery from window
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maidstone, Kent

Near Perfection!

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Everything else!
Cons: A spare sheet should be provided for those who like a LIGHT-weight duvet or just a sheet above them. Extra milk and sugar would be a good idea, too.
Location: We really appreciated the silence at night, especially so close to the airport. Regarding "things to do", this did not apply to us.
The ONLY thing wrong with the hotel was the bedding! There was just one duvet and an undersheet per bed - and the duvet weighed a ton!! It was too heavy to sleep under and no sheet to put on top, so I had to remove the duvet, pull out the undersheet and sleep under that. Sounds a minor matter, but this was about 3.00 AM and, due to a long late flight and a missing taxi driver at Gatwick airport, we were both shattered and my wife had already fallen asleep. Until I woke her up with my activity. After that it was easy to get asleep at last.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2014 by chris, Hotel Management
Dear Bob, Thank you for leaving us a positive feedback, we appreciate your honest feedback with regards to the bedding. I'll definitely discuss your feedback with the housekeeping team. Once again thank you for the review and we look forward to seeing you in the near future. Kind Regards, Chris Schoeman General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk

Quiet and very comfortable next motorway.

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Had worried that too close to motorway but no worries was very quiet. Room had everything one needs and was spotless. Husband said best quality workmanship he had seen in any hotel bathroom. Only dislike was square toilet !!! Reception staff superb.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2014 by chris, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for leaving us a positive feedback, I am glad to know that you enjoyed your time with us, I'll definitely share your feedback with my team. Once again thanks for a positive review and we look forward to welcoming you back in near future. Kind Regards, Chris Schoeman General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Melton Mowbray

One night stay at Holiday Inn, London Gatwick

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Location Value for money Large comfortable accommodation.
Cons: The coat hangers in the wardrobe were an obstacle course.
Location: Right next door was a Nuffield Gymnasium with swimming pool. It was also well located for East Grinstead.
Very good value for money accommodation. Large 2 double bedded room with full English Breakfast. Good sized easy to operate flat screen television. Very comfortable beds. staff were efficient, friendly and helpful. We appreciated the late check out time of 12.00 noon. Hotel located in a very interesting area, with excellent stud facilities literally next door.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2014 by chris, Hotel Management
Dear Brian, Thank you very much for leaving us such a wonderful review, we are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in near future. Kind Regards, Chris Schoeman General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel, recently refurbished, comfortable ro

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: We didn't eat there so my only comment is a more of a warmer welcome from staff at the front desk.
Location: Only 10-15mins from the airport. Park and stay facility which is excellent.
The hotel room was lovely only wished i could have stayed there longer to enjoy it..... Hotel staff need to be just a little more welcoming in reception, but it was very late when we checked so I'm hoping that was part of the reason ......
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2014 by chris, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking some time out to write us a positive review, we are pleased to know that you have had a good time with us, I'll pass your comments to our night team and they can take it as something they can work on. Once again thanks for the review and we look forward to welcoming you back in near future. Kind Regards, Chris Schoeman General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel near the airport

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: Room was comfortable and clean. Ordered room service and was prompt and food was good. Reception staff vey friendly and helpful
Cons: The room was looking a bit tired and worn
Location: Ideal location for the airport and straightforward to get to
Quick check in car park was expensive for overnight. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room was comfortable and clean. Food ordered from room service was prompt and enjoyable
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2014 by chris, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for writing us a positive review, we are glad to know that you have had a comfortable stay with us and you enjoyed while you were here. We look forward to welcoming you back in near future. Kind Regards, Chris Schoeman General Manager
3 out of 5
by Andy from MN

Not for holidaying in

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: Rooms were okay.
Cons: Transport to location. Better food and service. Access road could be smoother.
Location: Didn't try.
Led to believe there was a shuttle bus from the airport - but there wasn't. We eventually tried the number with the local phone - the very small notice said transport on request. We requested, but there wasn't any - we needed to get a taxi. We had to use a mobile phone to phone for a taxi. Not what we expect when tired and weary. The taxi couldn't pull up where we were so we had rather garbled instructions where to meet the taxi, hauling our luggage with us. This is not satisfactory. The food service in the brasserie was slow and the food not exceptional for the price. A poor deal. We wouldn't want to stay there again - we were a party of 6 people.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2014 by chris, Hotel Management
Dear Andy, Thank you for taking some time out to write us a review, I am sorry to hear that you had slight inconvenience while you were here due to the transportation. We do not have a shuttle service at our property, but because there are three properties in the locality guests often presume that it is Holiday Inn Gatwick Worth that has a shuttle service when actually it is the other property in the locality that offers the shuttle service. Regarding the restaurant service, I'll definitely pass your comments to our F&B Manager and we will endeavour to meet your expectations on your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back in near future. Kind Regards, Chris Schoeman General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Advertised as Gatwick......not Gatwick at all

Posted May 31, 2014
Watch out if you think this is near Gatwick....it isn't! No shuttle bus, you need to get a cab.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 12, 2014 by chris, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thanks for your review, we are just 12 minutes drive from the Gatwick airport and we are now working with a local cab company that charges only £11.50 from the hotel to the airport (standard car) which works out same as the shuttle, keeping in mind the time and hassle involved with the shuttle service, we decided to go with the cab company. We look forward to welcoming you in near future. Kind regards, Chris Schoeman General Manager
3 out of 5
by john from california

Hotel nowhere near the airport, as advertised.

Posted May 5, 2014
We booked the hotel because our flight landed at one in the morning so we needed a hotel near the airport. This hotel was advertised as such. However upon arrival we found out it would be a 17 pound taxi ride to the hotel which took about 30 minutes and we ended up in a hotel out in the country. Nice hotel in good condition with all the modern amenities. Nice spacious room. Had to pay for wi-fi and the breakfast. Breakfast is understandable but not charging for the wi fi.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 12, 2014 by chris, Hotel Management
Dear John, Many thanks for your review, we are indeed 12 minutes drive from the airport and that is verifiable from the google maps as well. The taxi prices are fixed (£11.50 for a standard car, £16.50 for an MPV/Estate, and £18.50 for a people's carrier) unless there is a bank holiday in which case the prices are slightly higher than the usual. I am pleased to inform you that we now offer a complimentary internet access to all our IHG rewards club members, if you still haven't signed up for the IHG rewards club membership please do so online or you can also do it upon check in next time you walk into an IHG property. We look forward to welcoming you soon. Kind regards, Chris Schoeman General Manager
1 out of 5
by Richard from lLiverpool

Don't come here by taxi,

Posted May 4, 2014
Pros: Once arrived this hotel was ok.
Cons: Really need a courtesy shuttle from Gatwick a Airport. I will be complaining direct to the hotel.
Location: The location sucks. It is out in the sticks! I don't know what is nearby.
My wife stayed here one night. In fairness, I have not been able to speak to her fully as I am also way. The major gripe is that there is no shuttle bus from Gatwick Airport to this hotel. Most other hotels outside the airport have a shuttle bus. My wife had to wait ages shivering in a bus shelter at Gatwick North terminal waiting for a taxi which eventually arrived. The hotel is really out in the sticks, down the bottom of a long dark road. The hotel website says it is 10 mins from the airport but my wife says it took much longer than that! I cannot recommend this hotel unless you have your own transport.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 12, 2014 by chris, Hotel Management
Dear Richard, Thanks for your review, I am sorry to know that your wife had inconvenience while she was here. We used to have a shuttle service but we had few good reasons to discontinue the shuttle service and choose a cab company instead, we do not advertise ourselves having a shuttle service either unless it is an outdated web link stating we have a shuttle service. The cab company we work with is generally very reliable, once the guests land at the airport they call us and get the cab company number, within 15 minutes they have a cab waiting for them. We are certainly 10 - 12 minutes drive from the airport, if you put our postcode in google maps and find directions to the Gatwick airport, you would find the same. Once again thanks for the review and we hope to see you soon. Kind regards, Chris Schoeman General Manager