Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom suffolk

in the centre of the town

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: friendly breakfast staff. good location.
Cons: decor
staff friendly, enjoyed lovely log fire in lounge on a dark and wet saturday afternoon. could do with a make-over though, some tatty carpets on the stairs and wallpaper coming away from the wall in bedroom.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very pleasant hotel in charming Arundel

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: We had come to spend Thursday & Friday nights as we were going to Fontwell races. This hotel and Arundel in general is really close and takes 10 mins
Cons: The shower in the ensuite was dated but is was perfectly usable and water was good and hot.
Location: Good range of local pubs with decent live music, Red Lion and Eagle. Decent Indian restaurant close to races and Arundel castle.
arrived late on Thursday evening and warm welcome by hotel reception. Upgraded to huge bedroom with four poster overlooking the high street. Really comfortable bed. Accommodated our daughter for a night without a prior booking at a really reasonable rate. All staff were charming, especially the lady who served breakfast on Friday morning, calling all guests but their names!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Canterbury, Kent

Seen better days

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: Staff polite, breakfast acceptable, location excellent
Cons: The decor and furnishings; the bathroom especially needed a complete revamp. TV handset didn't work properly, could not get hard of hearing subtitles
Location: Arundel castle (interesting, expensive), Chichester, Petworth House, Weald and Downland Open Air Museum, Tangmere Aviation Museum
The Norfolk Arms is a former coaching in and has definitely seen better days!The decor is very shabby and tired; there was an ancient dressing table in my room which wobbled every time I touched it! Despite this the sloping floors and shabby furnishings do grow on you after a while and the location is good, just below Arundel castle. The breakfast was a lot better than I expected; a fairly limited choice on the menu but it was freshly cooked to order and the staff were friendly and polite. However I would probably not stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Andreas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by kedisfrom Nottingham

Well overdue for renovation

Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Booked in to stay in The Norfolk Arms the night before a wedding. Location is fantastic in the centre of Arundel, and that about the only thing this place has going for it. The room was very dated, and the bathroom damp and dirty, with a shower which leaked everywhere. The general appearance of the whole place was very dated and tired, while the room rates did not reflect this. Arundel is a fantastic little town and well worth a visit, but my reconmendation would not be to stay at the Norfolk Arms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Martinfrom Gothenburg, Sweden

Very picturesque little town

Posted Sep 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great staff, very service minded, great location only an hours drive from Gatwick airport and another 15 minutes to the Goodwood estate. Very picturesque town with a lot of restaurants and breakfast cafés. Would definitely book this again.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom South Wales

Close to Arundel Castle

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: It was just around the corner from Arundel Castle, which was the purpose of our visit. Had its own car park.
Cons: Room decoration and better cleaning, and some sort of table/shelf in bathroom for toilet bags.
Location: Arundel Castle superb/ thoroughly worthwhile visiting, and the Cathedral. 20-minutes to Chichester Theatre for a show and shopping.
Extremely disappointed with allocated room, which was on the 3rd floor. I am just 5'2" tall, and I could touch the ceiling without stretching! Room in desperate need of decorating. Wallpaper peeling away from wall, liquid splashes on wallpaper at head of bed. Small window, so quite dark, and several flights of stairs to climb as there was no lift. Moved to another room in what is probably called the Annex. This second room much brighter but again in need of decorating. Bed was clean and comfortable. Plenty of tea/coffee and biscuits ... would have liked more milk though. Clean enough, but could do with a bit more elbow-grease! But maybe the cleanliness looked worse because it was all so sad looking. We were told by someone in the car park, that the hotel had just been taken over by someone new, so maybe room decoration will be on their priority list. Hair dryer and trouser press in room, plenty of storage room. Two chairs. Would have liked some sort of shelf in bathroom, on which to store toilet bags.. had to put them on the floor. Nice towels provided; bar of soap/shower/shampoo/shower cap changed daily. Good breakfast choice, but disappointed that we had to make our own toast and tea/coffee.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by rayfrom cheshire

comfy beds,great location,very quiet room

Posted Sep 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
the hotel could do with updating the décor is a bit dated but having said that the room was clean and the bed very comfortable,good breakfast,staff pleasant,its ideally situated in the centre of town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by YVONNEfrom TONBRIDGE

BEST SLEEP IN MONTHS

Posted Aug 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
THIS WAS ARE 3RD YEAR, VERY HAPPY, ENJOYABLE STAY
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cornwall

Lovely characterful hotel in the centre of town.

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: I like its character and old-fashioned charm, and the food in the restaurant is very nice.
Cons: The bathroom, although clean enough, didn't look as if it had been given much effort (bath taps a bit grubby looking) and there was no hand soap.
Location: Amazing castle; cathedral; great restaurants, wetlands centre, lido, walks, bird and wildlife - generally a very nice area to visit.
I stay there for work fairly regularly. Also a great base for exploring the town and surrounding area, which is very beautiful.