Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Nice country hotel

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: Overall atmosphere and setting. Bar and restaurant also very handy.
Cons: Cooling
Only downside was that the weather was hot and the room didn't have any cooling facilities e.g. fan or air conditioning
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Penny from New Haven, CT

A beautiful Experience

Posted May 14, 2014
Pros: Everything
Location: Plenty to do nearby. Goodwood horse & car racing. Fontwell horse racing. East Dean Gardens, Chichester Cathedral, Goodwood, Petworth houses.
Set in the tiny hamlet of Charlton in the glorious S. Downs. A lovely old pub with character. The room was comfortable and furnished well. Pub was great with good dinners and wonderful breakfasts. One of the prettiest pub gardens I've been in with a view of the downs and sheep and lamb in the field next door.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Katie from Surrey

Beautiful place to stay.

Posted Apr 25, 2014
Pros: Everything. No faults at all.
Cons: Nothing major at all perhaps just a little more choice at breakfast.
Location: Portsmouth Historic Dock, Witterings, Bosham, Arundel town and Castle, Chichester.....and so much more!
Just stayed for one night with my daughter after visiting on the South Coast would have been very happy to stay longer. The Fox goes Free is in a stunningly beautiful location and very quiet. The rooms are well furnished with comfortable beds, good and fresh bathrooms and a good walk in shower. Evening meal and breakfast were both very, very good. The staff were all very polite and helpful. Can't recommend this place enough and will be re-visiting in September.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth

Lovely pub beautiful scenery

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: Staff, location, food, beer
Staff helpful, friendly, welcoming. Room warm and comfortable but could do with a little attention. Very loud extractor fan ( no big deal) and cubicle leaked. Lovely breakfast and evening meals with good beer selection. Ideal location for nearby walks and attractions
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Fabulous service

Posted Apr 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
A very warm welcome, we couldn't have asked for more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by VW from Yorkshire

BUSINESS TRIP

Posted Mar 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
I've stayed here before, food is good, staff very helpful, rooms are comfortable, I'll stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Iambont from North Yorkshire

Great Country pub

Posted Nov 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
After a very long day is was just what was needed, warm welcome great menu and very comfy bed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chrissy from Gold Coast Qld Australia

Great Hotel in the country

Posted Nov 19, 2013
Pros: The atmosphere was fantastic, great English Pub terrific food and friendly staff.
Cons: The room was above the kitchen so it was a bit noisy maybe better sound proofing
We had a double room which was large, clean ,big bed and lovely ensuite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by aphughes from milton keynes

Great place to stay

Posted Nov 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
Really enjoyed my dinner and breakfast - really good quality and freshly cooked - apple muesli crumble and home made custard was wonderful