Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Surrey

A pleasant stay

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Pros: Its quietness and rural location
Cons: Access to upstairs rooms
Location: Portsmouth Historic Dockyard, Goodwood
Comfortable accommodation in quiet pastoral surroundings Well-cooked food from a varied menu
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good food, lovely room, excellent value.

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Lovely country pub in a tranquil setting. Stayed just one night on business and so much better than staying in a Travelodge or Premier Inn - and less money! Highly recommended
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Edwardfrom Maidstone

A warm welcome in the South Downs

Posted Dec 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
We arrived after a long drive and in the dark. The Christmas Tree lights glowed a warm welcome, as did the Landlord when he showed us to our very warm and comfortable room. The bar was friendly, the food excellent, tyhe beds comfortable - what else could one possibly want? Fukk marks!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Peterfrom Birmingham

Not so easy to find in the dark!

Posted Oct 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great country pub, in a little village, although not so easy to find on the dark roads...having said that, the room was good, and the food excellent. Great to wake up to sunshine and see that in fact we were in the middle of open countryside. would stay again when next in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely country escape

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: Just about everything
Location: Its close to Goodwood and to the Weald and Downland Museum - close enough to Arundel, Chichester and the coast
What a lovely find this pub/hotel was. Had a lovely sumptuous room, wonderful dinner and breakfast, great service from happy caring staff - nothing to dislike here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom B

Lovely surroundings

Posted Sep 4, 2014
The hotel itself was quite nice and clean. It is set in a beautiful countryside with stunning views even though my room was facing the road(the only room I think). The staff could've been little bit more friendly. The restaurant was very good - fantastic food, polite staff there. I would certainly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Davefrom Kent

Lovely free house hotel in country

Posted Sep 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
It is a lovely hotel in a lovely spot. Our stay was extremely pleasant and we had a truly great dinner. I would have rated it as 5 stars apart from a disappointing breakfast experience - staff had not turned up at the chosen time and, because of a consequent rush, the scrambled egg was on the verge of being uncooked!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NZ

Fantastic place to stay.

Posted Aug 28, 2014
We had a fantastic night at The Fox Goes Free. Great room, wonderful meal, great live entertainment the night we were there. I would recommend it to everyone.