Ratings based on 286 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Kent

Good but could be so much better

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Great aspect looking over the river Individual rooms Good coffee and home made biscuits Complimentary wine on arrival Honesty bar
Cons: Lack of atmosphere in bar/lounge
Location: Most people will head for central town but there are things of interest just across the water The Armoury, the Adelphi Pub, Tetleys HQ
I have stayed at 42 The Calls three times so far but this time was disappointing because our bed was particularly uncomfortable ( no problem on previous visits) I didn't complain because I don't expect to be moved to another room until I can find a good bed and I don't expected the hotel to change the bed either as that would be impractical Its just something that would probably consider somewhere else next time I think the idea of the honesty bar is very good but unfortunately we always seem to be the only ones using it so the only communal area apart from the small restaurant has little or no atmosphere
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Liverpool

Hotel stay

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff.
Nice hotel. Friendly staff. Good location. Nothing more to add.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom P

Great hotel close to the city centre

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Quirky hotel with loads of character within 5 minutes walk of the city centre. Staff were all excellent and friendly and the breakfast was superb. Too many nice little touches to go into but the complimentary glass of wine on check in was a great touch. Will definitely book again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel is tired and over priced for it's rating

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: Not much
Cons: Pillows Bed throws Tea/coffee
Location: Good central location
The room was tired with worn bed covers and lumpy pillows - but a very comfortable bed! The TV didn't work despite someone trying to fix it. Poor coffee and tea facilities enough for one cup. Just felt a little more care was needed all round.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

City centre hotel

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Staff were great and rooms were lovely. Just 1 complaint - the noise outside from surrounding pubs until about 3am.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Leeds

Intimate

Posted Mar 1, 2015
We chose this over the larger hotel down the road for its intimateness. A beautiful hotel in a lovely setting missed out on breakfast will have stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom central london

Boutique type hotel, close enough to main station

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Pros: Quiet
Cons: Pillows, mini bar quality/selection and bathroom products aren't in keeping with the feeling of the hotel.
Location: Lots of restaurants, shopping and culture.
Very friendly, patient and warm staff. Arrived at Leeds station and phoned for walking directions; the young lady that answered the phone gave me extremely clear directions and suggested that should things become confusing to call again as I progressed, which I did 2 more times as although directions were clear, the hotel is slightly off the beaten path; Was offered a welcome glass of wine to take to my room as I expressed wanting to relax for a few moments before heading out again. Was given a room upgrade which was very nice. Room cosy warm with a view on the water, very clean. Only shortcoming is that the pillows were very lumpy and bulky..... and dreadfully uncomfortable making a good nights sleep impossible which was a shame. Woke up with a stiff neck! Great pillows are a necessity to a good nights sleep and the hotel really should upgrade pillow situation. Would have also been nice to have complimentary bottle of water in room, which most hotels supply these days. Nice small mini bar, however drink selection, wines in particular, should have been of a better quality - otherwise a very very nice place to stay. Close to shopping and restaurants. I will surely recommend .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom York

Gorgeous hotel and lovely staff

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: Everything! Rooms were spacious and modern whilst retaining the character of the building. The bathroom was huge with plenty of toiletries.
Cons: No!
Location: It's within walking distance of fabulous bars and restaurants.
We received a very warm welcome on arrival at the hotel and was offered a glass of wine to take to our room whilst settling in. The breakfast room was delightful and waiter who had only been working there for one week is already a credit to the hotel. The breakfast was delicious with lots of fresh fruits and a choice of sausages only experienced in a top-class butchers! We will definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central location

Posted Feb 3, 2015
Great hotel, nice rooms, fantastic breakfast, would stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good city centre hotel

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Ive stayed here a number of times for business. Whilst the rooms are a little dated they are clean and very comfortable. No restaurant just room service but a great breakfast in the morning