Ratings based on 187 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brighton.U.K

Old world travelling comfort

Posted Jun 10, 2015
Pros: A good ambience in a rather dated building
Cons: A little oil on the hinges of the bathroom door which would enable one to sleep though the visit to the bathroom of one's partner during the night.
Location: location close to the railway station, city centre and shopping and the Alhambra Theatre, all within easy walking distance
The Great Victoria Hotel was very convenient to Bradford Exchange Station when we arrived. We had hired a car and found the parking handy. Our 'suite of bedroom and lounge on the First Floor, with a TV in both suited us very well. The room was warm and quiet with two armchairs.The bed proved very comfortable. The restaurant was easily accessible and amply provided for our breakfast. Reception staff were courteous and helpful and provided a city map and free bus guide together with additional supplies of tea, coffee and milk in the evening. All staff we met were pleasant and helpful to two pensioners visiting Bradford for the first time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 22, 2015
The hotel is a mid-range hotel and for the room charges it's OK. A little worn at the edges perhaps, but this is from the experience of one room. Overall the hotel is quite nice, it's clean and tidy and the breakfasts are quite good.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fourth floor - disappointed

Posted Apr 23, 2015 on Hotels
The room we paid for was a 4th floor room which was advertised to be so much nicer than a standard room. However, the room we received was not nicer, it was smaller, there was no bath tub as requested. We were told there were no other rooms on that floor available and if we wanted to move to a standard room with a bath tub we couldn't get a refund on the extra we had paid. Was very disappointed with the room and service.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Great Victoria

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: The ambiance of the hotel, the friendly staff and the nearness to the railway station
Cons: Outside ventilation in the bedrooms even though I know it is a listed building
This was our 6th visit and have usually found the hotel comfortable with friendly staff but on this occasion the room was very small and because the old window would not open the room got very warm and stuffy, even though they provide a fan. My wife also fell when getting out of the bath and had to ask for a rubber bathmat. We also found the food disappointing compared to our previous visits.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good hotel tired decor

Posted Mar 28, 2015 on Hotels
Staff mostly friendly & helpful. Nice hotel, needs freshened up decoratively.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Newcastle

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Pros: Food
Cons: Staff communication
Location: Very close to the train station
The hotel was nice. The room was comfortable with a large bathroom. I ate a beautiful meal in the restaurant although there was a slight confusion as to who was serving me and as such I was asked to pay twice!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lynn from ST.Helens.

Lovely hotel in the centre of Bradford

Posted Mar 22, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel overall was excellent ...the décor was fresh, the roomwas comfortable, clean and warm and the on-suite was perfect in size an cleanliness. A really comfortable, peaceful sleep. I will give the breakfast in the morning a 9/10. The cereal/ fruit and croissant bar was excellent along with the tea, coffee and toast making facilities. The cooked breakfast was ok, it was a buffet style, pick your own items breakfast which I prefer rather than being served on a plate. I only have 2 little moans about the breakfast and that is that the bacon was under-cooked and there was lots of soggy, white fat around the bacon and there was no choice of fried/poached egg only scrambled. These last two things are down to mine and my partners preferences.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by CARL from New Ferry

Not the fourth floor

Posted Mar 20, 2015 on Hotels
The staff where very helpful. The building is very nice. The room on the fourth floor was like a box with no windows.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 19, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jeannette from York

Disappointing

Posted Mar 17, 2015 on Hotels
Insufficient towels so had to request more. The bath was unusable as cold tap inoperable and the shower attachment was very loose. The radiator in the room was full on, could not be adjusted, windows could not be opened and hence room was uncomfortably hot. The cooked breakfasts were tepid and had to be returned ...... twice! .