Ratings based on 163 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Bristol

Great Victoria

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: The ambiance of the hotel, the friendly staff and the nearness to the railway station
Cons: Outside ventilation in the bedrooms even though I know it is a listed building
This was our 6th visit and have usually found the hotel comfortable with friendly staff but on this occasion the room was very small and because the old window would not open the room got very warm and stuffy, even though they provide a fan. My wife also fell when getting out of the bath and had to ask for a rubber bathmat. We also found the food disappointing compared to our previous visits.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Newcastle

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Pros: Food
Cons: Staff communication
Location: Very close to the train station
The hotel was nice. The room was comfortable with a large bathroom. I ate a beautiful meal in the restaurant although there was a slight confusion as to who was serving me and as such I was asked to pay twice!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Trying hard not to fade

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: The room (4th floor) spacious and modern. Bar area was relaxed and the prices good.
Cons: Attentiveness of the staff.
Location: Good location, near the main transport interchange. And near a leisure park so things to do within 5 minute walk.
The Victoria is one of those grand hotels known for faded glory. It has some updated rooms which are modern and spacious. The public areas are ok and the bar area comfortable. The staff pleasant enough, but not what you'd call attentive. Not at check in where it seemed a shame to interrupt the conversation as I was ignored, had to remind them about room service order (after a hour), cleaner didn't bother vacuuming the room although saw someone outside vacuuming. A few of us booked for Christmas lunch during my stay. I was asked if I'd booked in my name....(!) we were then shown to a table and the table numbers switched. This caused many, many problems. The service was rushed and so not as enjoyable as it should have been which was a shame as the food was quite good. I think I've talked myself out of staying again, which is a shame as it wasn't a bad stay overall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Gloucestershire

Handy location and (for Bradford) a Touch of Class

Posted Feb 12, 2015
Pros: Location, stylish reception area and bar, very friendly helpful staff. Thick fluffy towels!
Cons: Freshening up the décor, especially in the bathroom.
Location: Its right in the city centre across the street from the bus/train interchange. Couldn't be better.
Very grand and stylish reception and bar, although my room was one of the smaller ones and looked like it could do with a refresh - some grouting missing from bathroom tiles, a lick of paint needed here and there, and maybe the carpet would have benefitted from a shampooing, but it was certainly clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london

Hotel in Bradford City Centre

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Pros: the decore
Cons: the restaurant needs improving
Location: very good
The hotel was in a very good position, close to the Station, Bus Terminal and Town Centre. The Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The bedroom was nice, comfortable bed and pillows. The room was clean. There was no heating in the bathroom so it was a bit chilly in the morning. The food was disappointing. We had dinner in the restaurant and the potato was cold and the chips were greasy. My lamb shank was cooked, but not falling of the bone. The cooked breakfast was luke warm. We would stay there again, but eat elsewhere.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Paul

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 18, 2015 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Karin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 15, 2015 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very central

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Pros: comfy
Cons: paper/plaster
Location: very central
good hotel but starting to look aged, needs investment to bring back to former glory, bar a little pricey but a pub is opposit
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Here, There, & Everywhere.

My First Review of the Year

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Pros: Décor and furnishings.
Cons: A larger window in the bedroom.
Location: Sir Titus Salt pub, National Media Museum, & The Alhambra Theatre.
My stay at The Great Victoria Hotel recently was not too shabby: while I enjoyed the view from the room, I was met with some noisy hoteliers during the wee hours of the morning. Overall, the room itself and the location was superb and, since I did not dine at the hotel I can not comment on it's menu. Finally, I would recommend this hotel to others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Nicholasfrom Stourport on severn

Close to Bradford Interchange!

Posted Jan 12, 2015 on Hotels.com
Stayed here for 1 night. It was a very nice room, very close to Bradford Interchange. Room was clean and well furnished. I would stay here again