Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Suzi from Lancaster

Misleading Website Information

Posted May 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
The photos and information on the hotels.com website were misleading.Only a small amount of the rooms were as advertised. The majority of the rooms for single occupancy had shared bathrooms, single beds, no tea & coffee making facilities, no wifi, limited TV channels.Also the hallways were very narrow & dark, with multiple changes in levels.All in all very disappointed in the quality of the hotel, as a lone female traveler i would have not booked this hotel knowing the facilities were shared. If i hadn't have pre-paid for the hotel i would have left immediately. .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Dave from Scotland

Good food & beveridges

Posted May 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Although the room was small and basic but as I was there on business I did not need a large room. Beds were quite comfortable and the hotel was quiet. The bar staff are very friendly and helpful, the food is good especially curry night on Wednesdays and reasonably priced. There is a large selection of real ales and ciders again reasonably priced. I would not hesitate to stay there again as overall it is good value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from USA

Convenient

Posted Apr 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room small, television reception poor, few facilities. Clean. Price OK for a basic roof over your head. Quiet. I would stay there again if in Halifax.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location and friendly

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Very convenient location for Halifax. Very helpful friendly staff. Clean and comfortable.
Cons: We didn't require it because we were out so early but adding breakfast might be good? Though lots of places very near by do breakfasts.
Location: Central to Halifax and very close to Sowerby Bridge, Hebden Bridge, etc. Also near to rail station for easy access to further afield.
We found the receptionist very pleasant and helpful. The hotel is very clean and has facilities that would not usually be expected, like a fully fitted (shared) kitchen and cooking facilities. Lovely room - beams and large velux window. Very good value for money.
1 out of 5
by Anne from Gloucestershire

hotel close to town centre and bus and rail

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: close to town centre and bus and rail stations.
Cons: Better lighting and easier access to rooms
Location: A large Sainsburys very close, also town centre a few minutes walk away
a cell-like room, nowhere to put clothes not even a hook on the wall,4 flights of stairs and badly-lit corridors. I will not stay here again!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Paul

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

no ensuite facilities

Posted Mar 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good central location and welcome. The room specification on the booking stated that there would be en-suite facilities, but there was not. As I arrived late due to rail service disruption and it was only for one night I did not complain, but it did seem to me that most of the rooms are so small that they cannot have these facilities. Very nosiy live music coming from the bar until after mid-night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location, room was clean, neat and quiet
1 out of 5
by Phil from Manchester

Not what it says on the Tin

Posted Feb 9, 2014
Pros: Clean and quiet.
Cons: Costumer service. And be clear in your discretion of rooms wham facilities on your information pages on line.
Location: NA
Very disappointed with the Old Post Office. I don't mind roughing it but if you are a hostel say you are. My single room on booking stated that the room had WiFi access, tea and coffee making facilities, and a DVD player. One WiFI did not reach my room on the far side of the building, the DVD player was damaged so couldn't prep for work the next day (reason why I was staying in the hotel)! And no tea and coffee making facilities. I went down to speak to staff (bar staff) to ask for assistance, was told kitchen for coffee is at the end of the hall. Everybody else can connect to the internet and the broken DVD player was ignored. No offer of changing rooms or coming up to see that the WiFi wasn't registering on all my devices. Might be a good idea to up your costumer services for the hotel and have enough staff on if there is an issue enough staff on the bar so someone can assist the guest. The only conservation was the room was clean and quiet. Could have spent an extra few pounds and had access to all I needed to have a comfortable and productive stay in Halifax. Very disappointed Old Post Office.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Wossie from Australia

Work in progress

Posted Nov 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
The price was good and the refurbished single room although rather small was okay. The bathroom was only down the hall so convenient . But having to remember to take the key every time I left the room was a pain . The kitchen was very handy and located on the same floor. If you don't like climbing stairs don't stay there. Close to the main centre of town with a number of good restaurant close by. It's more like a hostel than a hotel . But don,t expect hotel service and you won,t be disappointed . Overall good cheep accommodation.