Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Halifax

Lots of potential - frustrating

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Attitude of reception staff - fabulous. Chef in restaurant really nice. Own car park good. Easy to find. Actual room really good comfy mattress.
Cons: More room sockets in 404. Hotel info in room. Better cleaning of room overall - dusty round edges. Better breakfast staff attitude on Saturday.
Location: Good location - 5 mins into town. 5 mins to Sainsbury on foot. Easy to find.
Lots of potential - nice position - nice building, car park BUT let down by breakfast staff on Saturday and the restaurant closing on Friday evenings without any notice of that. Menu in room stated it was open Friday. Room OK but needs more plug sockets - only two. Bed actually decent and nice to have proper wardrobes. Lots of storage. Wifi free too. Room staff need to up their game though - no spoon left twice for the tea/coffee so had to ask. Dusty round areas when difficult to hoover but overall clean. And great that you can open the windows properly !! No hotel info in room so guessed at 0 for reception. Could do with bigger area as desk without the kettle etc on it. Needs bigger desk or a separate table for kettle/tea/coffee etc.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Yorkshire

Cheap town centre hotel

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Hotel was okay on the whole. One of cheapest in town, so you get what you pay for. Room was very clean, although decor a bit dated and slightly run down (big stain on carpet). Staff at reception were very polite. Loads of parking, easy to get to by car. Easy access by foot to town centre. If you are staying during the weekend take some earplugs otherwise you will be woken by other guest returning at all times of the evening (banging doors, talking loudly in corridors).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by DanSmith from London

Pleasant for an overnight stay

Posted Jul 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Simple, clean hotel located in the heart of Halifax. good value with helpful staff. The hotel does need some TLC.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

A decent place to stay, good value

Posted Jul 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was ok. A decent and well maintained room for a simple night away. Good value too. Reception was a bit basic, and the breakfast in the morning didn't have a huge amount of choice, or particularly good presentation, but for the money you'd be hard pushed to do better. For a simple no-frills stop away, it was absolutely fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Fee from Glasgow

Friendly staff

Posted Jul 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very close to the centre of Halifax. Breakfast was good, lts of good. It appeared they had started renovating but in general hotel needed update of decor. Staff very helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bats from Manchester

Breakfast

Posted Jun 29, 2014
The breakfast on Sunday was hectic as the food kept running out
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by D & D from Aberdeen

Restaurant and bar closed, breakfast stops at 9.00

Posted Jun 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had to wait to check in (some of us waited for 30+mins) and the bar was closed every time we visited it. The hotel restaurant is closed on Friday nights! We went for breakfast at 09.10 & were told breakfast finishes at 09.00 on a Saturday! The bar closed before we went out for dinner and also on our return. Our bedroom was very basic and dated. The headboard was in 2 pieces lying on the floor. The curtains were thin and did not close properly due to many broken hooks - there was a street light right outside the window No hotel info in the room with breakfast or bar times. No bath mat resulting in a very slippy floor.The shower head could not attach onto the rail/pole as it was broken so it had to be hand held at all times. When we checked out we discovered that we had been charged on the credit card used to secure the booking hours before we actually arrived!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by jill from spain

lovely, clean, quiet hotel with great staff

Posted Jun 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very close to town centre, 5 minute walk
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Joy R from Slough

Good location

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
The overall impression was of shabby chic, with a general feeling that the hotel was working hard with what it had but was in need of some refurbishment, in particular the beds. The room was comfortable and clean. The staff very helpful, when around. Free internet was a bonus as many hotel like this charge or only have it in public areas. The breakfast was adequate but the lack of any fruit was a negative. I would still stay there again as it is very convenient for Halifax centre without being in a busy area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by matt28030 from Huddersfield

clean cheap hotel

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was a clean and tidy hotel with pleasant friendly staff. In the centre of halifax so convenient for all sorounding areas