Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom North Yorkshire

Handy for the train station

Posted Mar 6, 2015
It served it purpose for a one night stay. Room clean bed comfy bathroom tiny but good shower. We ate in the adjacent restaurant the food was excellent & service very good.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Peterfrom Derbyshire

Very poor indeed

Posted Jan 17, 2015 on Hotels.com
The welcome and room were standard [though I was over charged which was initially irritating but this was corrected], but then was placed in a room was next to the lift and wooden ramped floor outside which created such noise that meant that the pedestrian traffic passing the door [what seemed like every few minutes] became extremely infuriating and not conducive to a good nights rest. I had requested a quiet room! When I complained in the morning I got nothing but a shrug of shoulders! Not pleased at all
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Great stay. Great location. Clean and tidy room
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Robinfrom Surrey

the only triple bedroom around

Posted Jan 4, 2015 on Hotels.com
Stayed with my two sons for a junior squash tournament so happy to get a reasonable value 3 single bedroom hotel. Breakfast was good and great service from all hotel staff who did their best to sort out all problems with room key cards and extra duvets, etc. Good for free Wi-Fi and free parking. Unfortunately the room was poor quality being very small with uncomfortably saggy mattresses and was cold (no heating turned on for us and housekeeping turned off radiators each day). Bathroom small but well appointed. Room carpet was really disgusting - big stains all over and very dirty with bits of mud left behind - a real turn off getting in and out of bed. The thin blinds did not block out window morning light and had no curtains. Noisy fire door kept slamming right outside the paper thin room door didn't make for a quiet night. Overall, this hotel compares unfavourably with other big hotels at this price point.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Clean rooms

Posted Dec 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room is not bad but outside was noisy and not easy to get good night sleep
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Kayfrom Newark

Very useful to know about

Posted Dec 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
All staff really welcoming and helpful. Food at dinner and breakfast was good and my celiac disease needs were dealt with really well inc gluten free toast at breakfast ! Room clean but a bit no frills however it was warm and the bed was comfy perfectly functional for business trip. Very helpful in terms of letting me use the car park all day the day after the night I stayed. I would definitely stay again in business
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Basic but enjoyable

Posted Nov 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed here whilst attending a gig with a Brummy mate at Warehouse 23 (which is super cool). Family room 207 was a decent size, had good wi-fi & decent shower but overall it was a bit basic. Breakfast was very good but portions a bit small. Ate dinner in the restaurant as we were given a £5.00 voucher at check in if we spent over £25.00, it had a good menu with lots of deals. At dinner I asked the waiter if I could charge our food to my room & he answered 'no', I had to tell him that reception had okayed it before he grudgingly agreed. I then asked if they would split the price of a bottle of wine between our two rooms, they couldn't manage this so I asked them to just charge it to my room instead - on checkout the receptionist tried to charge us both, probably due to the unclear bill from the waiters. My £44.00 charge was actually only £27.00 after I'd re-calculated it for them. I'd have rated them excellent if not for their dodgy billing practices. I'd probably stay here again but would watch my bill at checkout...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Richie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Davidfrom South London

Close to the station and all u need 4 a short stay

Posted Nov 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
There are a few hotels outside the city, but if you're using public transport this is the best choice; it’s a short walk from the main station and in a fairly well-lit area. The hotel has its own attached restaurant which has a fairly reasonably priced basic menu. I only had breakfast there (included in the room price) which was your usual affair, choice of cereals, tea and coffee, toasts with butter and selection of jams. There is also a standard full english cooked breakfast. The hotel itself is nice enough, it's a bit old and rickety but I believe has had a bit of renovation going on. I had a standard double and certainly the bathroom felt rather nice, there were swanky toothbrush holders attached to the basin, the shower felt clean and roomy and there were plenty of clean fresh towels. The room's carpet had seen better days but it was okay, the bed and surrounding areas all felt clean and very comfortable. Nice size TV on the wall too, and a good amount of UHT milks and tea bags in the tea making area, which also get topped up during the daily room service. Also a minibar stocking bottled water and cans of soft drink, no booze though from what I could tell. Overall for a short stay that's in the heart of town it's all you need. It's close to the main train station and within an acceptable walking distance of bars, clubs, restaurants, the theatre, Wakefield bus station, and the retail park which has a Frankie and Benny's and a Cineworld. I would happily stay here again.