Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom North Yorkshire

Ok hotel

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Quiet. Felt safe.
Location: Wakefield centre just outside the door. Great for the Long Division Festival.
Staff were fine, quite friendly. The hotel is easy to find and the room was clean, although both the room and bathroom were quite small. The hotel felt a little dark and slightly old fashioned. The breakfast was again fine but unexceptional. It was an average hotel. Quiet at night though as we had a room away from the road. It was fine, just not particularly notable. We thought it was quite expensive for what it offered.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brisbane

Good convenient hotel with an invisible staff.

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Sleeping was so good
Cons: Better control of staff and some obvious management
Location: A city, easily accessible
check in staff we saw and some odd kitchen people but otherwise, nothing and nobody. Lost property policy is shocking as large bag containing medicines was reported early twice but nothing was found. This was extremely disappointing.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Oxford

Reasonable hotel

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: The outside of the building, and its location in the centre of Wakefield.
Cons: Somewhere to put bags and coats instead of a fridge.
Location: The Hepworth Museum (in Wakefield) is wonderful. The Yorkshire Sculpture Park (about 6 miles outside Wakefield) is absolutely stunning.
We stayed here with two young children for 2 nights as a base for exploring the Hepworth Museum and the Yorkshire Sculpture Park. It was good that there was free parking outside the hotel, but the one-way system round Wakefield makes it hard to get to. Possible to walk to the shopping centre, but nearer the interesting Civic Quarter. The interior of the hotel is old, but it doesn't have much character. It has been modernised, but not to an especially high standard. The room was ok - top floor; there was a lift, and we would have preferred second floor with balcony but didn't realise that was available when we booked. It was a bit small, with nowhere to put bags or hang coats. There was a drinks fridge in the room that we turned off at night because it was noisy. The first night was ruined by a smelly duvet but they were apologetic about this and changed it the next morning. The price of the room included breakfast, and this was quite nice. The breakfast service felt quite personal but also a little chaotic when it got busy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom london

Cheap hotel in the middle of Wakefield

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Picked this hotel for a visit to the Hepworth Wakefield and Yorkshire Sculpture Park. Stayed in a family room (4 single beds) which was reasonably spacious, but very basic. No curtains but a blind which just about kept out the light. The room was uncomfortably warm with nothing but a desk fan to try and keep it cool ... which it didn't. Breakfast was okay but not great. Whole place felt a bit run down. It isn't in a great part of town either. Surrounded by bars and nightclubs. We only met two of the staff who were both extremely pleasant. It was a cheap bed for the night in Wakefield. Nothing more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Excellent friendly staff

Posted Aug 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very friendly and helpful staff. free parking for guests, good breakfast, just only minor gripe was slightly uncomfortable mattress
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Birmingham, UK

York House Wakefield:

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: see above
Cons: Basic management and deep cleaning
Location: Close to Centre of Wakefield, however a the back of entertainment area.
Most of the time no reception staff; staff employed by hotel relaxing in guests areas; ventilation in room very poor; neither extractor nor hairdryer in bathroom were working; cleaning of room and making up of the bed left much to be desired. On the positive side breakfast was generous and good quality with high marks to the lady serving it, who by the way appear to be the only one on duty at that time of the day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom scarborough

Nice hotel very close proximity to train station

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: close to town
good food, clean environment, close to town, would be happy to use again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Knaresborough

Leaving Do

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Friendly family run hotel close to centre of town
Cons: There were a few rowdy guests who made a lot of noise during the night
Location: Close to town centre and railway station, with restaurant attached
My wife and I visited Wakefield for a friend's leaving party and stayed at the York House Hotel. There is a very convenient restaurant attached to the hotel, so not far to walk for a meal, which was excellent by the way.