Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by peter from New Zealand

Not very welcoming

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: The comfy bed and the full English breakfast.
Cons: Cleanliness. A smiling welcome.
Location: ???
We arrived at about 5.30pm on a Saturday evening. There was no receptionist just an empty table. The barmaid checked our booking, gave us the key and pointed upstairs. The King Henry suite was 2 rooms. Nowhere to sit down. Very comfortable bed but the rest of the furnishings were.....strange.... mirrored dressing table and chest of drawers and a stained plastic quilted area ( perhaps used as another bed.) Excellent cooked breakfast though and the Sunday staff seemed much friendlier. Wouldn't ever recommend it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Slightly disappointing

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Should have believed the other reviews! Was disappointed to be in the car park cottage given that my booking said 'house' on it. Wifi didn't work there and the room wasn't furnished to the level I expected from the photos.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent but wouldn't stay again

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Room not as the pictures advertised. Nice little decorative pieces in the room however the bed was very uncomfortable and we both woke up with sore backs. Breakfast was nice though.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Emma from oxford

Stunning

Posted Nov 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Beautiful old building refurbished to a high standard, though no lift for my heavy bags, but the food was fantastic! Helpful friendly staff and a lovely modern shower/wet room. The room was small and it said on my booking a king size bed, which it wasn't, though I ended up alone so it was not a problem in the end. The bedding was amazing and very comfortable, however i was kept awake most of the night by a glaring green light on the emergency lighting!! So a little disappointed... i suggest blindfolds if you stay there lol.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Rachel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Rich from Wakefield

I found a good one Grasshopper inn

Posted Oct 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Lovely place nice surroundings hotel steeped in history very clean brill service breakfast excellent rooms newly refurbished what more do you want oh and yes its cheap!!! Highly recommended and deserves more than the stars it has
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice; could be even better

Posted Oct 16, 2013
Location: This is close to Churchill's home, Chartwell, and the gorgeous Kent country. Also close to Canterbury and Dover, so it is a great location.
With just a little more effort, this could be a great place to stay. The 'cottage' really isn't as quaint as it sounds, but is fine (although the mattress could be replaced). The hotel really does need to have an adapter on hand JUST IN CASE tourists lose/forget theirs – it was a nightmare driving around in a cab to replace mine when a hotel that caters to tourists really should have one to loan out to guests. The food is very good, most of the staff is very, very accommodating. I'd stay again.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by N Clarke from Cheshire

Very Disappointed

Posted Oct 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
WOULD NOT RECOMMEND ! So much wrong with this hotel and such a shame because it really is beautiful. Unfriendly staff, room was noisy, NO WIFI even though this was advertised. The bin in the room hadn't been emptied and was full of rubbish. The restaurant was way too hot and much too dark. The food was considerably average. The worst was the fact that there were hairs in the shower and the carpet looked like it hadn't seen a hoover in a while. It made me wonder if the sheets had even been changed. Nothing positive to say.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Brian from Solihull

'You have not failed no one Grasshopper'

Posted Oct 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
'You have not failed no one Grasshopper - only your own ambition' as telly addicts with long memories may recall. 'Overall rating' - a bit pretentious but 'not bad'. 'First impression' - a rather faded architectural mish-mash that may have something of genuine merit hidden beneath the many facades. 'Service' - superficially faultless but less 'charm school' and more sincerity might have made it a little more convincing. 'Room' - a chalet on the car-park didn't seem overly promising but was spacious, reasonably well appointed and offered a comfortable night's sleep. (Tip - take some additional coat-hangers with you). Excellent bathroom. 'Dinner' - not inexpensive, uninspiring 'pub- grub' - should have opted for the evidently popular carvery. Well kept ale. 'Breakfast' - brilliant! 'Location/neighbourhood' - large car-park, main road, handy for motorway but pleasantly rural for all that.