Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bisley, Surrey, England

First time safari

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: We loved its location, the beautiful views, the staff, the electric blanket (definitely welcome on a chilly night in August)!
Cons: The evening meal was disappointing. Also, could have done with more light in the tent, as well as a torch that you could actually see by!
Location: Location; absolutely perfect as not too far off the beaten track. Able to reach Mossel Bay, George, Knysna and Plett quite easily if you wanted to.
We were a little apprehensive as to which game reserve to choose during our recent stay in South Africa but, after having read some other reviews, we decided on Botlierskop and we were so glad that we did. The attention to detail was second to none and we loved the activities that we chose to do. We weren't even put off by the rain we had when out on our game drive; it was all still very exciting. Our guide, Corlia, was knowledgeable and informative and knew just where to go to find the animals we wanted to see. And, as for walking with cats - it was a wonderful experience. I won't give too much detail as I wouldn't want to spoil it for other people who choose this activity! Although we only stayed in the resort for less than 24 hours, we were able to pack so much in and felt as if we had stayed for a week. As for our 'tent'; definitely glamorous camping as its best!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler from Uk

Great place but limited night time activity

Posted Mar 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel the rooms and the food were great. The staff were extremely helpful and the day time activities were plenty. At night however there was little to do but eat and drink. It felt to me as though it needed something to entertain you - like some live music. There are no tv's in the rooms or at the main lodge so once you had eaten there was nothing happening. The place was deserted by ten pm. For romantic holidays that might be fine but when travelling as friends there was a need for something else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Billy from Glasgow

Great and attentive staff

Posted Feb 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Really enjoyed the game drive but dinner choices a little limited
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by John from Dublin, Ireland

Great Experience

Posted Feb 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel location must be one of the best in the world despite the fact that you travel the last few Kms over an unpaved track. Facilities were very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Serge from Canada

Luxury is always nice

Posted Dec 13, 2013
Great stay. We had dinner and it was very nice and also did the walk with the lions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Colley from virginia

Amazing destination we highly recommend it!

Posted Dec 8, 2013
Pros: Service was impeccable. We were accommodated in every way. The lodge is beautiful and the tenants were amazing.
Location: Mossel bai, must do the great white shark cage. It was incredible. And experience you will never forget.
We stayed in the luxury tents, they were beautiful. Did game rides on horseback, played with lion cubs, walk with Lyons in the wild And even rode elephants. This is will be our most memorable vacation ever. Great destination for vacation or wedding or anniversary.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by CE from Boston

Relaxing, Stunning and Fun

Posted Dec 2, 2013
Pros: Beautiful grounds, great food, lovely animals
Cons: Maybe a hot tub for cooler nights?
Location: Mossel Bay is a pretty beach town.
My boyfriend and I had an absolute blast at Botlierskop. Our first night there was chilly and we were worried about staying in the unheated tent, but were delighted to find that the bed had an electric heating pad in it. It turned out to be the first of many details that made for a great experience. The game drives were more fun than I could have imagined, not only because of the opportunity to see animals, but also the bumpy ride through beautiful, hilly terrain! A baby rhino was born when we were there, and we also saw lions, wildebeast, zebras, giraffes, many types of antelope, elephants, and more. We did not see cheetahs or hippos, as I don't believe they are on this reserve, but I was not disappointed. Our guide, Nico, had a great dry sense of humor and kept us laughing throughout. We learned a ton about the animals, plants, and South Africa in general. We also did a horseback ride and it was just the right length to see some animals and get back before we were too sunburnt or tired. The food was also fantastic - we tried blesbok, ostrich, alligator and also plenty of less adventurous delicacies. It was our favorite activity in South Africa and I will never forget it. While the grounds and accommodations are classy, it never felt stiff or overly formal. We were able to select activities at our leisure and never felt pressured or obligated to sign up for more. For this reason, I felt completely relaxed and at ease the whole time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 30, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lara from knysna

Excellent

Posted Oct 22, 2013
This was one of the best experiences we ever had. Everything was great. The staff makes one feel welcome from the moment you arrive till the moment you leave. We stayed in one of the tents and have absolutely nothing negative to say. Will tell everyone we know to visit as staying at this amazing lodge is an experience not to be missed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by agnes from london

Perfect

Posted Oct 7, 2013
excellent experience in a private reserve for the first time everything was very well organized and the staff very friendly the food is excellent . There are many activities to do during the day we recommend this reserve and had an excellent stay