Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Princes Risborough, UK

Great hosts

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: The welcome, local knowledge of the hosts and the spacious rooms.
Cons: Bathrooms could be touched up.
Location: Local action is near the town but in a quiet area. Knysna has a scenic lagoon, glorious beaches nearby and plenty of excellent restaurants.
This is the third time I have stayed at The Hide Away, which speaks for itself. It has a wonderful setting overlooking the lagoon at Knysna. Colleen is the consummate hostess, with nothing being too much trouble. She has a great knowledge of the local restaurants and will book them for you, should you so wish. The rooms are spacious, breakfast is pre ordered the night before and has always been excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX, USA

Wonderful B&B in Knysna

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Very private and quiet. We had a very nice room.
We had a great experience in Knysna, South Africa. We were there 3 nights and the Hosts provided for many activities in the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2014
Once again, thank you for staying with us! We hope to welcome you back to Knysna and Hide-Away Guest House at some time in the future. Kind regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Excellent Hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2014
I had a wonderful couple of days at Hide Away. The owners really made you feel welcome and went out of their way to help. The room has everything you need. Great place
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2014
Hi there Colin Thank you for taking the time to do your short review on your stay with us. It was indeed a pleasure meeting you and we hope the Scottish referendum goes the way you want - we will be keeping a close watch on developments! Take care and kind regards Cecil & Colleen
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by lmj from UK

Great service

Posted Apr 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely breakfast on the veranda
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2014 by Colleen, Hotel Management
Hello there We are delighted to see that you enjoyed the breakfast service on your veranda. As you know we do not have the space for a buffet service and the personal service directly to your table makes up for this. Thank you once again for staying with us. Kind regards Cecil & Colleen
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fantastic view from the balcony

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: Comfort and view.
Cons: There is no elevator to the second floor and we had to carry our huge luggage bags to our room.
This is a family-run hotel with a big balcony facing the waterfront. Fantastic view. The couple running the hotel is very friendly. The area is safe enough for driving out for dinner at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Cal from USA

Excellent stay!

Posted Apr 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed our stay at Hideaway very much. The owners, hosts, were very hospitable and friendly. We had a nice breakfast on the deck each morning and we were allowed to order what we wanted, which was nice. Colleen spent time with us explaining places to go, restaurants to eat in, sites to see, etc. The location was very convenient. We had a very good stay for three days, and recommend it wholeheartedly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2014 by Colleen, Hotel Management
Hello there Apologies for the delay in responding to your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast service. It is interesting to read the various reviews of our breakfast service where some guests do not like the idea of pre-ordering what they would like the next morning or that we would like some indication of time they would like to eat. We do not have a buffet offering but prepare all meals as required and serve hot meals directly from the stove to the table. Thank you once again for staying with us - we hope to see you back in SA at some time in the future. Kind regards. Cecil & Colleen
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rob and Martina from Surrey, England

Exeptional Guest House

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: Would recommend it to anyone staying in Knysna.
Exeptional service, great advice for day trips, local events and restaurants. Owners are very friendly and helpful. Very clean rooms and stunning vew. Loved all the breakfast choices. Which was served on our balcony overviewing the lagoon. Excellent cooking skills. Within walking distance to the waterfront.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2014
Hello Rob & Martina It was indeed a pleasure meeting you! Thank you so much for the positive feedback on your stay with us - especially on the breakfast service. We love doing the service on the verandah in the morning so that our guests can really have an appreciation of the Knysna Lagoon and its various facets. We hope to see you back at Hide-Away Guest House soon. Kind regards Cecil & Colleen
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by charlie from edinburgh

nice place, friendly owners

Posted Feb 7, 2014
Pros: character and atmosphere, room quality, view, owners
Cons: nothing - good value for money and I nice homely alternative to large hotels
Location: just a few minutes walk out of the main part of Knysna - lagoon cruise with nature walk is tremendous, lots to see and do, good base for exploring.
really nice atmosphere, friendly and helpful owners who gave great advice about sightseeing and booked a trip for us. nice room with a lovely view over the lagoon. breakfast served on the terrace was a bonus. well worth considering if you want to stay in Knysna
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2014
Hello there Thank you indeed for the excellent rating of your stay with us. We certainly hope to see you back in Knysna in the not too distant future. Take care and kind regards. Cecil & Colleen
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 1, 2014 on Hotels.com