Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice suite

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: Clean room, nice beds
Cons: Internet
Location: Nice location
Stayed overnight so we could attend white shark diving early the next morning. Arrived for a late check in. No room at the restaurant so attempted to sit outside and order, however we were ignored by staff, so we decided to order room service which also took some time. Wireless internet did not work ever. We voiced our concerns with the staff on checkout the next day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Honeymoon Hotel

Posted Dec 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good value for money. Great restaurant attached.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by john from london

Nice hotel but location could be better

Posted Sep 18, 2013
Pros: Room and staff
Cons: Location
Location: Near shops
Really nice hotel with friendly staff. Huge room which was actually a small house over 3 floors with a kitchen. It was located centrally but after driving round I would have preferred to stay at the point. Wi fi was broken but they let me use their PCM.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ina from Colombia

Cozy Hotel in Mossel Bay

Posted Jul 4, 2013
Pros: The ambiente
Cons: Nothing
Location: It is very close to the shopping area and of course the shark-cage-diving, just two blocks away
I wanted to spend the weekend in Mosselbay in a cozy and quiet hotel. The Protea Hotel is that kind of hotel. A beautiful view over the harbour, the rooms are very friendly and generous, the staff phantastic and the food very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by DP from Glasgow

Stunning views from restaurant/bar terrace

Posted Mar 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
Superb, friendly staff. Smaller than many hotels in the Protea change and all the better for it. Close to beautiful Santos beach and Bartholomew Diaz Musem. Highly recommended.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Perfectly adequate hotel for a short stay

Posted Nov 28, 2012
Pros: friendliness and helpfulness of staff.
Cons: room ok but noise from street was a problem on one night
Location: close to town centre, museum and santos beach.
Stayed for 3 nights. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Good location close to town centre but not a lot to do in the immediate area other than the museum which is worth a visit. The hotel provides free entry tickets to the museum which also allows a pleasant short cut to the beach. Our room was above the street and there was some noise very late on one night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by david from uk

Nice hotel, town centre with a lovely restaurant

Posted Mar 21, 2012
Pros: superb breakfast in lovely restaurant
Cons: views
Location: town centre
Nice hotel, town centre with a lovely restaurant, breakfast was exceptional, rooms modern and well kept
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Protea Mossel Bay

Posted Feb 18, 2012 on Hotels.com
Pity the rooms , or most of them, have not much sea view due to the newish building recently built in front. For what we paid, a lot more than many better B and B's on our trip, we were a bit disappointed, especially when paying for breakfast in addition. Having the good restaurant on site was the reason for choosing it, and it provided a good dinner. Central location was useful, but rooms were adequate but drab.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cyprus

Good way to lose weight

Posted Jan 25, 2011 on Hotels.com
Hotel not located in a pleasant area. Was not impressed by the hygeine of some of the staff. During breakfast the cook sneezed, open mouthed, over the breads and pastries and whilst preparing an omelette, continuously coughed over the hot plate without covering her mouth. The sparrows sat on the edges of the large cerial bowls helping themselves, as the staff walked past and made no effort to remove them.