Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Brew from Aberystwyth

Great location

Posted May 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good hotel but staff not so good, manager very helpful but staff not very friendly. Bar should have been wonderful due to location but staff very so so, same in restaurant
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice suite

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: Clean room, nice beds
Cons: Internet
Location: Nice location
Stayed overnight so we could attend white shark diving early the next morning. Arrived for a late check in. No room at the restaurant so attempted to sit outside and order, however we were ignored by staff, so we decided to order room service which also took some time. Wireless internet did not work ever. We voiced our concerns with the staff on checkout the next day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Owen J from UK

Perfect location

Posted Mar 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very smart hotel situated close to beach, town, harbour. Excellent facilities, restuarants and bars plus pool. The service was very friendly and efficient.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by 1gwestyda from vale of glamorgan

convenient

Posted Feb 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel was convenient for a one night stay.The best part was the meal at the Gannet Cafe.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2014 by Ronel Theron, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post your comments on Expedia. Our restaurant is known as Mossel Bay's Seafood House - Cafe Gannet Restaurant. Glad that you've enjoyed your meal there. Mossel Bay is such a great location being half-way between 2 major cities, Cape Town and Port Elizabeth. The ideal spot to explore the Garden Route. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Live Life Slowly......
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Honeymoon Hotel

Posted Dec 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good value for money. Great restaurant attached.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by john from london

Nice hotel but location could be better

Posted Sep 18, 2013
Pros: Room and staff
Cons: Location
Location: Near shops
Really nice hotel with friendly staff. Huge room which was actually a small house over 3 floors with a kitchen. It was located centrally but after driving round I would have preferred to stay at the point. Wi fi was broken but they let me use their PCM.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ina from Colombia

Cozy Hotel in Mossel Bay

Posted Jul 4, 2013
Pros: The ambiente
Cons: Nothing
Location: It is very close to the shopping area and of course the shark-cage-diving, just two blocks away
I wanted to spend the weekend in Mosselbay in a cozy and quiet hotel. The Protea Hotel is that kind of hotel. A beautiful view over the harbour, the rooms are very friendly and generous, the staff phantastic and the food very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by DP from Glasgow

Stunning views from restaurant/bar terrace

Posted Mar 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
Superb, friendly staff. Smaller than many hotels in the Protea change and all the better for it. Close to beautiful Santos beach and Bartholomew Diaz Musem. Highly recommended.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Perfectly adequate hotel for a short stay

Posted Nov 28, 2012
Pros: friendliness and helpfulness of staff.
Cons: room ok but noise from street was a problem on one night
Location: close to town centre, museum and santos beach.
Stayed for 3 nights. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Good location close to town centre but not a lot to do in the immediate area other than the museum which is worth a visit. The hotel provides free entry tickets to the museum which also allows a pleasant short cut to the beach. Our room was above the street and there was some noise very late on one night.