Ratings based on 113 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lynn from Sydney

Absolutely the most comfortable bed I have ever

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: Same as previous answer.
Cons: Nothing
Location: As the area was totally unfamiliar for us we didn't find a lot to do. It was only a stop over on our trip so it was quite suitable.
Best food I experienced on my trip. Including restaurants. Restaurant staff brilliant. A truly above average hotel for such a small town. Terrific location. A lovely stay with the most comfortable bed in the world. I would have loved to have brought it home with me along with the chef.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dee from kildare

Always wonderful

Posted May 7, 2014
Fantastic hotel in the centre of Athlone. It's attached to the shopping centre for shopping and food.rooms are fab, bathroom is generous size with great shower and bath. Bar food is ok
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A from Galway

Nice hotel, great location & Staff very friendly.

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: The hotel is located in the shopping centre which was perfect as we came to shop. The bar area & lesiure centre are top class
Cons: It would be a nice touch to get a little extra for upgrade. EX: Fruit, water , cookies, bathrobes... maybe a free movie etc
Location: Location is the best thing about this hotel, in the heart of Athlone TownCentre
Stayed for two nights and paid extra for upgrade, which was a nice touch. Very nice staff. Lovely bar & leisure centre. In room - Huge bed, lovely bathroom. No extras with upgrade, just room a little bigger. no view or cookies & water or bathrobes etc which I have had in other hotels. The audio system in bathroom did not work & the iron had a burn mark & ruined my top :-( Positives: Staff & location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Angela from Ireland

Great hotel with outstanding customer service...

Posted Mar 9, 2014
On arrival it was noted that a smoking room was booked for us through Expedia.. A common problem when booking through this site, we apparently were the 3rd customer that day with booking problems. However the hotel staff were amazing and were very accommodating even though the hotel was fully booked. Customer service was outstanding..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jennifer from Kildare

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by pl from eire

Perfect stay

Posted Jan 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Luxurious rooms, extremely comfortable beds, great hotel, secure parking, would go back in a heartbeat!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

In the center if things

Posted Dec 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good location close to the Athlone by pass, parking in the basement that also serves the Shopping Centre
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Ben U from NY, NY

smack dab in the middle of town

Posted Nov 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great location, Great hotel….only complaint, the friendly staff recommended a visit to castle and a place for lunch and both places were closed on Monday!…it was a cold and windy day and we walked to both places so that was not fun!!!!
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Frances from Co. Roscommon.

Sheraton by name but not by nature

Posted Nov 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed at Sheraton Athlone for one night. There is serious work to be done to train the staff here on how to treat people and how to do the basics in delivering a quality service. Our initial experience at the reception desk was very negative as we had booked with Hotels.com but were told that the choice of our room was not what we requested as we were a "third party" booking. This was mentioned at least 3 times in 5 minutes and when I asked about the arrangements for breakfast I was told the price which I expected but it was then suggested that maybe we should go to the lounge as this "would be cheaper for us". The whole experience was dappled with what is more expected in a backstreet 2 star - drunks falling into lifts, people getting sick outside the main door and a noisy and un-savoury clientele. We travel a lot for business and feel we want to stay at hotels that have a reputation for service and quality. We thought Sheraton had, but not at this hotel. We did make a complaint to the manager on the following morning as we were served tea in a dirty cup, a chipped milk jug and a filthy tea-pot. Someone at this hotel needs to wake up and see what's happening. A very unsatisfactory stay.