Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Best Hotel in Athlone

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: We were very happy with everything as mentioned above, very clean and a wonderful atmosphere
Location: Plenty of places to visit, the new shopping centre. Many restaurants in which to eat fabulous meals. Museums, and a fantastic boat ride on the River S
We stayed here at this hotel for 12 days, we were made welcome, staff were helpful and friendly. Cannot fault anything about it, food was wonderful they cater for all. Breakfast was great too, so much to choose from. We did attend a function here too, our family reunion and a three course meal was enjoyed by everyone. Our room was kept wonderfully clean. A pleasant stay and it has a wonderful family country feel about it. Of course we enjoyed the bar in the evenings friendly staff once again especially Finton. Will definitely stay here next time we visit Athlone.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Average at Best

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Not much
Cons: new carpet, the 2 bedroom flats are in bad shape. Spider webs out front are massive. Pretty bad!
Location: It is away from the river. Too far away.
The 2 bedroom rooms are expensive and they are like dorm rooms. Dirty, party flats for fraternity kids. Holes in the wall, dirty rugs, smell of cigarettes, and flies. The 1 bedroom rooms are "ok" for a night's stay. More affordable and better value. Food in the pub was decent and the pub was decent for a hotel bar. Go downtown for a "real pub" experience at Sean's Bar and maybe stay at the Raddison which may cost the same.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Luke h from Cambridge

Very well surprised

Posted Jun 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
We spent a few nights in one of the lodges, and I must admit I was surprised, I ws expecting, maybe a few rooms joined together with all the basic immunities inside, but as we walked in the door there as space galoor, separates rooms with open space and little extras like towels on each bed, a under counter fridge and microwave, TVs in all rooms. Very impressed, the hotel I self was stylish and easier to figure out it restaurant bar launge areas ect and there was always somome helpful to talk too and get information from on the from desk. My only little downfall, which seems stupid, was the lighting in the apartment, the ceiling lights seems dirty on the inside of the covers and the bulb not powerful enough, but there where lamps to cover this but just a small announce Over all great place and we will be returning in the future. Regards from Cambridge
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

athlone

Posted Jun 10, 2014
We booked 3 suites and then found out that we only needed 2 of thenm after we checked in and they were nice enough to refund us the money for the 3 suite! Thanks so much. Athlone is a nice town.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Maj from Dublin

Posted May 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
The entrance to the hotel was very unwelcoming. There was a wedding in the hotel and quite a lot of the guests were smoking at the hotel entrance. Very untidy
4 out of 5
Recommended
by S&TConneely

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by StefSian

Great place, really friendly staff

Posted May 3, 2014
Pros: Read above... Especially staff
Location: Great lake - Lough Ree, lovely viewing spots and Clonmacnoise is cool too. Great Guiness in the snug bar too
We were very warmly welcomed and show to our room. Unfortunately, they had give us twin beds instead of a double bed but as soon as we mentioned this, they moved us into a huge suite with two en-suite bedrooms and a living room, all for free. They did this with a smile on their face and were there for anything we needed. The price is great, we would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by elizabeth

Had a great night very friendly staff would stay

Posted Mar 29, 2014
My son passed out in the army and the function was held in the shamrock lodge was it was great to get a room in the same hotel thanks to expedia
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Merv from North Wales

A night in Athlone

Posted Feb 27, 2014
Pros: Room rate and friendly, helpful staff.
Cons: The ambient temperature in the bar area was a little low.
Location: We spent the evening in Athlone town centre where the pub and restaurant scene is electric. We didn't see anything else.
We stayed in this hotel for 1 night on our wy back to Dublin from Doolin. I booked the hotel in the morning of the night we stayed, only around 4 hours before check-in. We were a party of 5 requiring 3 rooms. We found the booking process easy and effetive and the room rates offered outstanding. We checked in at around 13:30 and were allocated rooms immediately, despite the normal earliest check-in time of 15:00. The hotel was, as far as our party was concerned, excellent in all respects. The normal rack rate for this hotel is much higher than that offered at short notice through Expedia and at this rate the whole experience can only be described as excellent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Sean Ban from Cork

lovely Hotel

Posted Jan 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely Hotel very friendly staff a real family hotel.