Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rotorua

Nice motel. Great location. Close to amenities.

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Liked the location. Handy to the heads, walks, shops & cafes.
Cons: Upstairs room with a view??
Location: River and coastal walks. Boating. White Island trips. Ohope Beach 10 minutes drive away.
Very helpful and friendly receptionist. Made us feel very welcome. Great on-site cafe where we enjoyed a lunch and breakfast seemed a very popular spot with locals. Only criticism would be that being in a ground floor unit we could hear the sound of the clients moving about above us as well as their toilet & shower in use. If we stay again would ask for an upstairs apartment.
3 out of 5
by Blanik from Auckland

A bland Accomodation

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: The shower was hot
Cons: where to start? Maybe get some layout and design help.
Location: close to an an Irish pub that has great atmosphere and pub.
Advertised by Expedia as a special , it was in fact the regular budget price. I found it just so boring and bland. If you feel like spending $110 to just sleep this is the place for you. Really nice staff though - its saving grace.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value on the waterfront & close to town.

Posted Jun 15, 2014
The staff are very friendly and helpful. Great food at the cafe. Easy to walk to the waterfront and the shops. The hotel staff book trips to White Island and are offering a 2 day deal including the trip over the winter months. The room was spotless, large and comfortable. Will definitely stay again and do the trip to White Island.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Woods from Sydney

Great location and cafe

Posted Apr 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Loved being able to walk to the Heads along the waterfront. Terrific cafe with great food
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Rosalie from Palmerston North

Everything on site

Posted Mar 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great accommodation - awesome shower. The cafe on site has great food and service for breakfast and lunch. Sport Fishing Club across the road - walk to the heads. Wonderful stay and location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ritche from Melbourne

Whakatane - White Island Rendezvous Cottage

Posted Feb 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Perfect for us with a toddler. So much better than a hotel room at about the same cost. Small town so close to everything. Especially the wharf and boating tours. The Cottage itself is an Old 1930's house rejuvenated with All new carpet, dining room, lounge with 2 couches, cable TV & Kitchen. Very happy. Wish we stayed longer. No sea views, but this was not an expectation. PS Though Whakatane is excellent, next time I would stay a few extra days at Ahope Beach. Ahope is great but unfortunately too far from this hotel. So I guess a hotel room or B&B would be the option there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by William from WI

Nice facility & location

Posted Feb 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Spent 2 nights here in Feb. stayed in B&B unit. Old house is old but spacious with separate kitchen, bedroom, living room & bath. Clean and comfortable. Only complaint would be lack of reading lamp in living room. Wonderful breakfast delivered to unit or it can be eaten in cafe. Definitely recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jessie from Eureka, CA

Victorian Suite

Posted Feb 3, 2014
We stayed at a cottage to the side of the main hotel. It was in a charming Victorian home that has been converted to two units. It was very quiet and had a sweet garden. Full breakfast was delivered in the morning!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Whaketane's Finest

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Wonderful location, great staff, excellent cafe. If you are planning to take the excursion to White Island, this is where you want to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Tony and Marianne from UK

Great Location, Fantastic value for money. A+

Posted Jan 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Brilliant, Would use again and recommend. :-)