Ratings based on 232 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Stow, Ohio

Great hotel!

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: Price, location, cleanliness, free breakfast, room was comfortable and had everything you wanted.
If you want to visit Oglebay, this is the PERFECT place to stay. It is right at the bottom of the hill to Oglebay. We had a great stay, excellent hotel, very clean in every way! Pool is a bit small, but wonderful. Breakfast could use some waffles or the like, but was still very, very good! The hot tub needed to be cleaned out and kept clean, it sadly was pretty disgusting, I think the filter was broken. All in all a very happy stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good

Posted Jan 4, 2015
It was quite good. They accommodated my request for a view from my room. All staff was professional, curteous and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom s carolina

Nice stay

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Visiting family in nearby Ohio. Hotel was very clean, staff was professional and friendly. We were ahead of schedule driving north and called to see if checking in early would be a problem. Front desk person, Sheila , said no problem and it wasn't. Will stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Ohio

Nice place to stay

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pros: The cleanliness and the staff. Breakfast was one of the better ones I've had.
Cons: The only thing I noticed was a missing rail in one of the elevators.
Location: This hotel was minutes away from Oglebay. There was a local restaurant, a Bob Evans, and a Tim Horton's at the bottom of the hill.
This hotel is secluded and sits high up on a hill overlooking everything below which was nice. The staff was pleasant and helpful. Everything was clean and well maintained. I would stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Ogilby park

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Fine... Enjoyed the pool area. Breakfast could have been a better variety.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2015 by SHS Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to comment about our hotel. We will look into the variety of our Breakfast and see what changes we can make to it. Once again thank you for your comments!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canton, Ohio

The Best People

Posted Dec 27, 2014
Pros: The staff
Cons: Prices on the snacks and beverages sold there by the front desk.
Location: Oglebay park, including the Festival of Lights, museums, zoo, and more.
Our hotel experience was not that unusual from any other as far as the room, check in and out, etc. That was all great. Our room was exactly what we expected. The staff, however, was exceptional. We met Brenda at the desk to check us in. She gave us so much information and advice when we arrived. She helped us plan our evening so that we would be able to do more in the time we had. She asked how everything was when we got back and made sure everything was up to standards. Simply the most helpful person I have ever had contact with at any hotel. If everything else had been below expectations I would still give this a great rating based solely on our interaction with her and the rest of the staff we encountered as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very clean and wonderful stay!

Posted Dec 22, 2014
Very good staff place was super clean. Was able to do early check in a major plus!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MD

Weekend in Wheeling, WV

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: The room is large.
Cons: All of the hotels in Wheeling, WV seemed to be pretty expensive. The reason the price for this hotel was worth it was because of the suite set-up.
Location: We loved the shopping nearby and even went to a movie.
This hotel was perfect for what we needed and surprisingly large.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Germantown, MD

Very nice hotel in the middle of nowhere

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Pros: Very clean and very nice hotel workers. Room was nice and roomy.
Cons: The heater/cooler unit in the window is pretty loud. Don't know what to do to fix that but it woke me up when it would come on.
Location: Several small stores and restaurants - Subway, Papa Johns, TJ Restaurant, CVS, Tim Hortons
I booked this hotel within 2 weeks of a training engagement. Even with that somewhat short notice I got a room with my small requirement (not near an elevator). The room was very large, clean, and relatively soundproof. I had a king suite and it was a split-room design. The bed was in one room and the other room had a couch, chair, computer desk, and small kitchen set (mini fridge and microwave). There was a large flat screen that could be swiveled between the two rooms. There's no restaurant here but it does have a complimentary breakfast with fruits, cereal, eggs, etc. Parking is ample and included. The hotel is located at the top of a very steep hill, all by itself. If you use a GPS be warned that it'll direct you to a funeral home for some strange reason (both my Google GPS and Garmin did). Go one more block up, and you'll see the hotel at the top of the hill. It's not a walkable hotel - there's a single, very curvy, very steep road to the hotel. While you CAN walk down it, it's not really recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good choice in wheeling, wv.

Posted Dec 4, 2014
Pros: Location of hotel and comfortable bed and pillows.
Cons: Housekeeping staff always seem to talk and yell to each other in the halls in the early morning, but that's usually every hotel.
Location: Close to the Wheeling Island casino and race track
Excellent deal on a nice hotel. Very clean and comfortable. Easy check in.