Ratings based on 125 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by richard

near highway

Posted Nov 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
beds were fine but smoke was tough
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 18, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Rachel from Mississippi

Surprisingly great

Posted Nov 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
I didn't have high expectations after some of the other reviews, but my experience here was great. I didn't get in until after 11 pm, and the guy at the service desk was very helpful and got me to my room right away. When I needed a computer and printer at midnight, the staff behind the desk were again very helpful and understanding. My room was comfortable and clean, and I appreciated the early breakfast set out the next morning. I would for sure stay here again. Notes- the 3rd floor seems to be the smoking floor, so although my room was nonsmoking and fine, the hallway did smell a bit of smoke. Otherwise, no complaints whatsoever.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Bucket List Trip

Posted Nov 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
Our experience at this hotel was less than stellar. I booked a non-smoking room 6 weeks prior to arriving and when I checked us in they only had a smoking room. They did not apologize, empathize or care! They actually had the nerve to ask me to sign something saying I would pay a $250 penalty if I did smoke in the room! The staff made no allowances, discounts or effort to make things right. We stayed in a terrible smoky dirty room the first night, moved all of our stuff out, asked them to call me when a non-smoking room became available. They did do that and we spent the additional two nights there. Not at all satisfied with the staff or the accommodations. I would never recommend or stay there again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Expectations - surprisingly good for price

Posted Nov 2, 2013
Pros: Price.
Cons: Fix the clothes rack.
Location: Great spot to access Wheeling, W VA. Oglesbay Resort is certainly worth visiting.
Only negative experience was that the clothes rack came down, but that could've been fixed easily enough. Very good overall stay, which was only one night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

good for one night stay

Posted Oct 26, 2013
Pros: The Price and the ease of access from the highway
Cons: The Bedding and comfort of the beds...if all you are going to do there is sleep, make the sleep comfortable.
Budget price hotel...please don't expect 5 star hotel for the price of a 2 star... for the price it was what we needed for a one night stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to where I had to go. Good rate for pets.

Posted Oct 12, 2013
Good hotel for the price and it excepted pets that was a bonus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Grandma Barb from Wheeling West Virginia

One night stay.

Posted Oct 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
We arrived after dark, and it had been raining. Two things struck me. First off the parking in front of the building was very tight and once you started in, you had to back out. It was full so the turning around was hard. Secondly there was a group of men standing right outside the door smoking. I don't object to their smoking in fact I thank them for doing it outside the building. But right in front of the door. Perhaps another porch so they are protected from the rain, but not right in front of the building. It was at first a little intimidating.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Review of Motel in Wheeling WV

Posted Oct 11, 2013
Pros: Nothing
Cons: D├ęcor, Staff dress code and manners (non smoking) bathrooms etc.
Location: Great Italian Restaurant called Undo. Our relatives took us there.
The staff were not dressed professionally and smoked right out in front of the door of the foyer which was not pleasant for a non-smoker to have to endure. The bathroom was not good for senior citizens as there were no bars to hang on to. I really think that Super 8 has gone down in their quality of service and I am really sorry that I do have one more Super 8 motel scheduled to stay in at Harrison, Ark. If it was refundable I would diffidently cancel my reservation today. You use to be a nice motel to stay in but I don't think so anymore.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Aug 27, 2013
Pros: Convenient location
Cons: Room cleanliness
Location: Not much to do
The bed spread and sheets were filthy. When I asked for a replacement I was told they didn't have anymore. The room smelled like mildew.