Ratings based on 270 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2015
Stayed 2 nights, room was clean and the check in process was fast and easy. Nice place to stay right in downtown Wheeling.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Warsaw Poland

In Town

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: Ok for the price!
Cons: A/C was very sluggish. Shower needed repair to plumbing (Didn't work very well).
Location: Wheeling brewing--awesome Dicarlo's pizza- awesome
Decent place right in town. Historical. Needs upgrades but OK for "just spending the night". Staff is helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

WV Disappointment

Posted Jun 10, 2015
Pros: Price, Check in clerk
Stormy day- rain coming in the window. Noisy street side room, no hair dryer. Distrubed @ 9 am by staff wanting to know if we were going to check out that morning !! Several items to work on here :(
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Weston,Wv

Posted Jun 3, 2015
It was a last minute decision to find a place to stay for the night. The room was very lovely. We had a 3 rd floor room that overlooked the main road. They had a nice bag with bottles of water, snacks, and Advil waiting for us. What a nice gesture. Would we return ...Absolutely.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mid pa

Posted May 12, 2015
Cons: get people to smile more and and make you feel comfortable
Location: the town was dead
the reception's was on the computer and had a angry look on her face and was not very pleasant checked in and she didn't even a key had to get later after I came back from the dog races ,,,, the commode was clogged up ,,, so I simply fixed that ,,,,, then the phone was not working ,,,,, I was tired and just left it all go because I would never sleep there again
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Has seen better days!

Posted Apr 21, 2015 on Hotels
The only place in town. Has seen better days. The room was fine, but that was about it. They don't do breakfast except for coffee and some wrapped muffins, etc. not healthy. As it was the only place in town, not much choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Elaine from Washington, DC

The McLure and Ray!

Posted Feb 24, 2015 on Hotels
We were driving from Washington, DC, to Springfield, IL, and planned a stop in Wheeling, WV. We were to arrive early, but because of a snow storm, a drive that should have been 5 hours turned into 12! We were very glad to arrive at The McLure, even tho midnight! The McLure is an interesting hotel; too bad the 80s renovations didn't capture the rich history of this hotel, which has been operating for 150+ years! Our room, 417, was nice; it was very clean, and though not recently renovated, it still looked nice. The king bed was EXCELLENT with crisp sheets. There was an odor in the hall of the floor we were on; FORTUNATELY the odor was not in our room. The best thing about The McLure was Ray, the Night Auditor. Ray was up-beat, positive, and gave us directions -- printed out -- to Sonny Boy's for a real breakfast. (What is available at The McLure is just coffee, juice, fruit, and packaged baked goods.) Sonny Boy's turned out to be the BEST place for breakfast. In the morning we found that, over the night, Ray had delivered to our room an important folder of our travel arrangements that I had forgotten at the Front Desk when checking in so late the night before. A GREAT Save by Ray! We would definitely stay again when we go through Wheeling. The only down side is Wheeling’s downtown is essentially vacant, in a time forgotten. Don't expect fancy at The McLure, as it was in times past, do expect a very good bed, a nice room, and Ray's excellent service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 20, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

hotel needs work

Posted Feb 17, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel close to everything. Staff friendly. Bathroom had no water and dirty. Hotel needs work.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't go

Posted Feb 10, 2015
it's is a very dirty and in organized hotel with very basic necessities. The bathrooms were absolutely disgusting there was a musty smell all throughout. The complementary breakfast included nothing but packaged pastries..... Really!!!