Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Southern US

It's ok, but male staff need an attitude change.

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Pros: The price
Cons: See above....
The night I stayed, the man at the check-in desk presented himself as an irritated person who was put out with me. He has no reason to be in customer service. The lady the next morning was more sociable. There is no elevator, so lugging my heavy luggage up the stairs was difficult. I could not get the plug-in outlet in the Bathroom to work, and a easy to plug-in was not to be found without moving the furniture. There was no blow dryer; so with wet hair, I had to go downstairs to the desk to borrow one. Having typed all of this, the hotel was reasonably priced, and served it's purpose of having a roof over my head for the night. So, if you are sightseeing and not interested in spending time at a hotel, this hotel will work.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old hotel remodeled clean rooms.

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: Room was nice
Cons: Front office staff/management needs to either stop advertising online for booking, or keep their opinions to themselves.
Management was rude about booking online vs. calling hotel direct. Also was charged an additional online booking fee. It was almost like being reprimanded for booking online; very uncomfortable. Also he did not speak English very well, so I was not able to say anything to him that he would understand.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boonie Land

Nice convenient location and excellent rate.

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: The furniture and the design of the rooms. Very efficient and well-thought out. It was clean and it's obvious the owner(s) put in a lot of money in.
Cons: Costco muffins and cheap break along with black coffee reflects back to the owner. Outer doors could be secured to offer more security.
Location: Nice location which enables the overnight guests to come and go as they'd like. Place needs to be "saged" I think to ward off evil spirits.
We stayed here before and came back due to it's excellent price via expedia. Problem is my gf keeps getting nightmares every time she sleeps here. Heard the place is haunted. No worries for me since I slept through the night without any issues much to my gf's dismay. :-)
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It's a joke!

Posted Sep 10, 2014
The place is not bad. ...But it's a big joke! that the owner of Acorn charge me a booking fee for $8.50 when I got there. I travelled so many times & booked my hotels, this is the only place I run in to that charge on top of the price in the internet. I would not recommend this! Go somewhere else!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

easy on par with a 3 or 4 star hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2014
very good quality - on par with a Best western or similar.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel good area

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Prices on rooms are dependent on the day of the week
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

OK renovated Motel in Oak Harbor

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Made a last minute reservation on a Saturday night in July when we experienced a mix-up with another reservation. It was just about the last available hotel on the island. The property is a '60s era motel and looks a little tired from the exterior. The room had been renovated and was clean and comfy. Space was a little tight because the 60s era room dimensions weren't designed to accommodate two queen size beds. We got a smoking room (not our choice, only room that was left) but the manager let us check out the room before we committed, and offered us a suite as another option. The manager gave us the lecture on booking direct that others have mentioned, which I found a little off-putting. The continental breakfast was mediocre, but available. All in all an OK room that filled the bill for the night, but definitely not worth the $162 we spent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A hotel that I would never go back again....

Posted Jul 8, 2014
I stayed there just for one night, but I feel very disappointed. First of all, the Kleenex were running out, we have to go down to the front desk to get it. Secondly, there is no safety box to keep my valuables, such as passport and money etc. so I have to bring them everywhere with me. And then the next morning, I could not find any hair dryer, which I believe it is the most basic necessity for the traveler. Finally, I found that their continental breakfast is just a joke, all they serve us are only bread, bagels, English muffins and some other sweet muffins. They put them in a few plastic containers, but almost every container was empty, we have to ask the attendant to refill them as he only put out a few at each time. Can you imagine how many people would have the patience to wait at the lobby for that kind of breakfast. In conclusion, I feel this hotel is bit over rated and the charges are too high.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom m

Nice older hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2014
An older building that is very well taken care of. This is probably the cleanest room we have ever stayed in and we have stayed in some high end motels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Hans & Sigifrom Surrey BC Canada

nice Hotel to beach and campground and shopping an

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: It was reasonable and just right for what we wanted
Cons: Nothing just the Breakfeast
Location: Hiking sightseeing relaxing
It was pleasent and comfortable Cont. Breakfeast could use some improvement