Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Phillipfrom Glossop

Valentines weekend away

Posted Feb 18, 2015 
Our stay was extremely disappointing. We stayed at the hotel,as a valentines treat. The hotel and room were very clean,and the room was extremely comfortable,however when we tried to book a table at the restaurant for dinner,we were told the restaurant was fully booked,which we found surprising and disappointing,seen as a couple on valentines night would naturally want to enjoy a meal at the hotel. We were however told they would be serving the restaurant menu,in the bar. So we went down to the bar,and waited 3 hours for a table,as the bar was extremely busy with people wanting to eat. When we finally got a table,we were then informed that the restaurant menu was no longer being served,and we would only be able to order from the bar menu. And after waiting a very long time to actually be served our bar food,we actually ate at 11pm,not really what we had in mind for our evening away. Unable to bear the thought of a repeat of the evening,we ordered breakfast in our room, when it arrived it was all squashed up onto one tray with things missing, is this really what you expect at a cost of £40 for two breakfasts? The hotel was clearly, hugely over booked and under staffed. All in all,a very disappointing trip and we certainly won't be going back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Shirleyfrom Nr Dyserth, North Wales

Birthday weekend with the family

Posted Feb 11, 2015 
We really enjoyed our stay and the use of the hotel facilities. The rooms were excellently appointed and luxurious. the breakfasts were very good with plenty of choice. We did not dine in the restaurant in the evening as we weren't too impressed with the menus. A good table d'hote menu with a few choices would have been ideal with a reasonably priced wine choice available. That said, we still really enjoyed our stay and dined in Whitchurch, which is a bit hit and miss but luckily we managed to find two decent places to eat on the two evenings we were there. The pool and leisure facilities were excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by DAVIDfrom Spalding

Nice and relaxed

Posted Feb 10, 2015 
Excellent customer service.Rooms and all of hotel facilities were clean and well maintained. Staff were very helpfull during the stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Cambs

A mixed bag- helpful staff, cold rooms on arrival

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: Appearance of rooms, interaction with staff.
Cons: Remove little things that niggle - small credit card charge on bills, WiFi personal data capture, chef sending out undersized portions,
For the price in the location with the amenities on offer I had high expectation for this hotel. Checked in on a winters evening (2 rooms) Both small windows wide open and room heating off - we had to stay in our coats for a while. During freezing weather someone could have realised guests might not want to check in to a fridge. The corridors are also very cold. Rooms are a good size and nicely decorated. Free WiFi at a price - you have to enter lots of personal data which you then have to agree can be used for marketing purposes, if you choose to progress. Dining room was very cold even when it was busy - but the staff worked hard to provide good service. Breakfast - two of us ordered fish at a supplementary price. Someone in the kitchen decided it was appropriate to send out piece of haddock the size of small goldfish. It went back and an appropriately sized portion eventually arrived. After a few niggles when we got to check out we found there is an additional charge for every credit card transaction. We payed by debit card and left.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by chukukafrom Kent

Whistling through the night

Posted Dec 19, 2014 
Very comfortable and situated in a quiet area but close to useful locations at the same time. Unfortunately the room I stayed had windows that did not close tight so all through the night there was a whistling sound from the wind which kept me awake. Otherwise it would have been a great night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mikefrom Lea

1 night stay

Posted Dec 4, 2014 
One night stay was comfortable with pleasent staff and a very nice meal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by mariannafrom Devon

Very comfortable bed for a fussy sleeper

Posted Nov 25, 2014 
very comfortable bed, big room, very quiet surroundings. Very nice breakfast and quick. Only stayed overnight en route to Malpas but would come back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Danielfrom Torquay

Excellent!

Posted Nov 20, 2014 
Fantastic stay. Lovely hotel! Modern and clean rooms, extremely helpful and friendly staff, delicious food and lovely surroundings. My new hotel of choice next time I'm on business in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 17, 2014 
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gordon Hfrom Bristol

1/11/14

Posted Nov 5, 2014 
Lovely hotel and setting spoilt by terrible service. Reception understaffed. Bar staff over-stretched and unhappy.