Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.2 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Okay

Posted Sep 3, 2013
Everything was satifactory, but you could tell they were cost cutting. This place is showing it's age. Everything was clean, but there was a mold stain on the bathroom ceiling. Kids loved the inside pool. The breakfast was really good, but heard after we ordered that there was a continental.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Upstate NY

Resort is misleading

Posted Aug 13, 2013
Pros: close to Franconia Park
Cons: it is an aging facility
Location: lots to do in Franconia and Lincoln. Hiking in Summer.
You get what you pay for. Cheap hotel showing signs of age. Breakfast not included. Dad Restaurant was good, but would be better if they cut both portion size and price in half.
1 out of 5
by Patty from Chelmsford, MA

The Beacon Resort

Posted Aug 5, 2013
Pros: The office staff that checked us in was very pleasant.
Cons: EVERYTHING, the place was an absolute dump.
The room had a bad odor. We went out and purchased some air freshening room spray. The TV was old, came in terribly, and the remote did not work. Wall paper was peeling. The beds and pillows were uncomfortable, and the mattresses were all stained. Room was in major need of updating. We had stayed at The Beacon Resort several years ago and returned because of the great experience we had many years ago. However, we were so disappointed this time that we will not return, nor will we refer it to friends or family.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new hampshire

Not impressed

Posted Jul 23, 2013
Pros: The cleanliness of the room I stayed in, the outdoor pool only, the playground.
Cons: The appearance on the outside- Its kind of an eye sore, the AC units in the rooms, the flooring around the indoor pool- very slippery, very unsafe.
Location: Wales tale water park- walking distance, Clark's trading post, flume gorge, loon mountain, hobo railroad and mini golf.
I was expecting it to be a lot nicer like in the pictures online. I was very dissapointed with the appearance- the buildings on the outside looked trashy, set up, service- it took over 40 min just to check in which was extremely frustrating. The outdoor kids playground was nice along with the outdoor pool. The indoor pool was extremely slippery around the sides and the shallow end was too deep for my kids to use so we ended up using the outdoor pool in the rain because they could actually stand and play in that pool. The location is ideal- very close to all major attractions. The room we stayed in was berry spacious and clean. The AC in our room didn't work that we'll but everything else about the room overall was nice-appearance, cleanliness, comfort, mini fridge-awesome when traveling with young children for storing all their left overs for later.
2 out of 5
by RB from Bow, NH

Rooms/Hotel are outdated.......

Posted Jul 1, 2013
For the price I expected a better hotel.....Don't think they have updated any portion of hotel in years. Restaurant closed too early.....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kim from New Hampshire

Nice hotel with lots of amenities.

Posted Jun 22, 2013
Pros: Location and amenities
Cons: Rooms could stand to be updated
Location: Lots to do nearby. Hiking, Clarks Trading Post, Whale's Tail Water Park, White Mountains, Views, etc
This is a great hotel with lots of amenities and right in the heart of the White Mountains. The rooms are a little outdated, but they are clean. This is our second time staying there, and we will stay again the next time we need to stay in the White Mountain area of NH.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jenny from CT

Fantastic cheap motel, but a lousy "resort"

Posted Jul 28, 2012
As you may gather from other reviews, some are disappointed with this motel. IMO, the whole issue problem stems from the word "resort." While it has a restaurant and a bar and a pool, I don't think the Beacon Property is what *anyone* thinks of when they think of a "resort." However, if you are looking for a perfectly decent motel room, or cottage, and are extra interested because it popped up as the cheapest in the area, and are willing to accept what you pay for, this is a perfectly acceptable cheap motel. Yes, it's a bit worn and tattered, but clean enough and friendly and fun. No luxury, priced right, no complaints.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay away

Posted Jun 28, 2012
The first room we had smelled like feces...we moved to a second room that didn't smell much better. The indoor pool had an old liner and what felt like rocks underneath. Pay the extra dollars and find another place to stay...