Ratings based on 193 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kentucky

Beautiful hotel, gorgeous views

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Location. Grounds. Mountain view. Helpful staff.
Cons: Decor. Room size is too small for price paid.
Beautiful hotel, gorgeous views. The room was quite small and the furnishings were dated. It was pricey for the size, but the location and grounds were outstanding.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Otttawa, ON

Grand Old Hotel

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: A classy old hotel, enjoyable staff, lovely grounds...just old fashion class
Cons: Like us all, age takes its toll. Could use some paint here and there, replace some carpets, fix up the wall paper...but do not ever change the bones!
Location: Golf, walk, enjoy the waterfall nearby. Sit on the porch and contemplate life.
Up the road, away from the fray, sits a beautiful old hotel. Atmosphere, clean, friendly staff and a lot of character. Yes, it could use some work but look beyond and it truly is a gem. We had a blast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Very loud family above. Children probably jumping on bed. Called , very nicely, 3 x. Little or no effort put forth to remedy . 4th call, a bit more strong but polite , front desk went up. Much better . Too bad fd didn't take care of this on the first request
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel in excellent setting

Posted Jul 20, 2014
We had a great stay here with our two small children - the staff were friendly and courteous, and the hotel itself was an amazing place. The vintage elevator was particularly impressive to the boys. It's located right along the river which makes for an incredible place to stop in summertime.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Scott from Southern Maine

Fun weekend

Posted Jun 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Had a great time. This hotel is historic and very comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by PAWilliams from Ottawa, ON

Historical Hotel

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: Location, staff,
Cons: Overall, the place is just getting tired and needs a lot of work.
Location: Mount Washington, Cog Railway, Franconian Notch, North Conway outlet malls, walk the town, golf
The resort is located in a very beautiful area in Jackson, NH. The stream that runs parallel to the resort is a wonderful walk full of birds, water and forest. The resort is fairly easy to find, and check in was painless. The staff is really good, but overall the place needs a lot of repairs and maintenance, it is really showing its age.We stayed 3 nights and over the weekend it was fairly busy but on Sunday night we felt like we had the place to ourselves, granted it is not high season yet.Housekeeping missed our room the first day and we went to the desk and asked for towels and new glasses. They were delivered promptly which was nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

would go back

Posted Jun 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff was friendly and the room was clean. Only issue was lighting. Both lamps in the room did not work. Aside from that, it was great. I had requested a small refrigerator and they had it set up before I got there. I would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Mr and Mrs Beyers from Langhorne, PA

Charming with caveats...

Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
We loved the hotel and the surrounding area was beautiful too! The rate was fair and the food was really good in the hotel bar. The problem was the staff at the bar. They were not in full season yet, so they didn't seem too interested in impressing. The waiter stood by our table watching the NBA draft and commenting on it for a good five minutes. And just prior to that, he changed the channel from a program we were watching to the draft! The bartender wasn't as bad, but they were a little too nonchalant about things. The hotel staff was pleasant enough, though. It was a lovely stay and we would do it again...hopefully there is a different staff at the restaurant next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sue from MA

Weekend away

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is very quaint but could use some updating. The walls are thin so hope for quiet neighbors. Good price, good location. overall it was a good stay.