Ratings based on 182 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

More than we expected

Posted Aug 29, 2014
We had a wonderful stay at the red jacket we have already booked our next stay! the staff was overly accommodating and friendly the only thing I would say is it could be updated a bit as far as rooms n hallways go bother than that it was one of the best family trips we have had
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Mass

Annual Stay

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Staff is always is nice and helpful. The activities that are kid focused through out the whole day.
Cons: Yes it could use updates but again not a deal breaker for me if I was to stay again.
Location: Diana Bath and Cathedral ledge awesome and they are must do. Cranmore Adventure park was awesome and not packed with people. Such a fun family day.
My son (8yrs) and I have made NH an annual trip before he heads back to school. He loves the Red Jacket and we usually always stay there for part of our trip. The mountain view is breathe taking and there are so many great activities for the kids! We were right across from the room used for the kids activities so my son watched the movies on both Tuesday and Thursday and could just go across the hall if he needed anything back in the room. Sadly though it seems the pool causes my son to get a rash as he has sensitive skin this made the trip I bit of a bummer as he had to stop using the pool. Which was no fault of the hotel. They seem to use a little something extra that doesn't agree with my son's skin.. The pool area has always been the big seller for my son and it seems no matter what we do in hopes that he will not have a reaction after he swims in the pool nothing worked. With the water park and the pool the hotel does do a good job keeping both areas clean and no one can fault them for that.. I just have a son with very sensitive skin. The staff is always very nice every time we go. Yes the resort could use some upgrades but nothing major in my opinion. Being that this seems to be a Family Focused resort and all the running around of kids day in and day out I would expect that it would be very hard to keep things updated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Anon

Mountain view

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: Internet search via Expedia
Cons: Elevator service in both wings of the complex.
Location: This facility is close to some other attractions that may be of interest to families.
Very nice view of the mountains; however, the first floor requires the use of stairs to reach the rooms. Second floor rooms have the view and a balcony where the first floor is walk out but requires the stairs to reach to parking areas. The hotel insists on charging a resort fee of 20 USD per day but I was able to have that removed from the bill since we did not use the resort features. If planning to ride the Cog RR to the top of Mt. Washington, remember that this site is more than an hour's drive from the station. This place is close to the North Conway Scenic RR.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston MA

Try again Red Jacket.

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: Outside looked beautiful. Staff was friendly and quick. Mgmt & dining staff tried hard to make things better.
Cons: I can't get past the nasty food served to my child and the mold where one is brushing their teeth and grooming. Couldn't wait to leave.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2014
We had a great time! They have so many activities for kids.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice pool and view of the mountains

Posted Jul 24, 2014
The hotel is family friendly with a great pool and the water park is right there and was a break from the heat. The breakfast was terrific. The room was clean but old and dated. Lots of brown. We had a deck and it had a great view but there was a hornets nest that made it unusable. We were there for one night so it was not bad. Not sure I would stay there for a longer visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for families

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness, helpful staff
Cons: Seriously needs new wallpaper and curtains. The current ones are from the 1980s. It would be nice to have an adult only pool or hottub.
Location: Tons of stuff to do nearby! Ski resorts, Hiking, Canoeing, Sightseeing, Kiddy Amusement Parks, Restaurants, Outlet tax free shopping, Swimming......
We stayed here for a long weekend. This hotel used to be a very expensive exclusive place to stay. It is now more suitable for families, which should have been evident from the indoor waterpark, but the price was cheaper than the Hampton Inn. Since our children are now grown, we found the screaming young kids in the pool, the hallway, the room next door and outside our window to be really annoying. The room itself was clean and very spacious, but it could use some updating. The bed was comfortable and the staff was very helpful. I think they should tell you when you book the room, or even at check in, that the waterpark does charge a hefty fee for hotel guests - $20 per adult. That's a discounted rate, but we thought that should be included in the price of the room since that is why most people stay there. The hotel is centrally located in North Conway, is convenient to restaurants and is overall a nice clean place to stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not bad....but will not stay there again

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Too many extra charges, water park was an extra fee and then if you were only watching there was also a charge. Water park not appropriate for children 3
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

4th of July stay

Posted Jul 8, 2014
I have not been to the Red Jacket since I was a child. Lots of things have changed but some have not. The staff was friendly. The hotel was mobbed. The rooms, especially the bathrooms need updating. The walls are paper thin. I think it is very over-priced for what you get.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Great Location and a decent room, but overpriced

Posted Jul 7, 2014
The room is clean, but the bed is a bit uncomfortable. Rugs and sofa are a bit dated. The Air Conditioner leaked during the night adding to an already musty smell. The front desk waived the resort fee after I complained. For the money per night it would have been nice if the management had called to offer this especially since I had to have maintenance come in with an industrial vacuum and fan. Still there resort has a nice pool and water park and it was close to them area activities. Just be prepared to shell out some money for a so so room