Ratings based on 119 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Pawtucket, RI

Victorian Luxury Charmer

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Bed, bathroom, hot tub, breakfast, service
Cons: Room could have used a writing desk or table
Location: Downtown Littleton, Franconia Notch, Cannon Mountain, Cog Railway, Arethusa Falls
We stayed last weekend in the Egyptian room, which I highly recommend. Everything about our experience was carefully curated, from the extra pillows on the king-sized four-poster and lavender bath salts next to the two-person hot tub, to the free water bottles in the mini-fridge and the comfortable Adirondack chairs on our private deck. Our hosts were proactive about ensuring our comfort, including sending us to the best local restaurants and looking up whatever services or attractions they didn't already have brochures for. A hot breakfast is served at a candlelit table with a full Victorian silver service. The property and rooms were immaculately kept-up and lovingly furnished. This is probably the priciest B&B I've stayed at, but we definitely got what we paid for. As a bonus, we were only about 20 minutes from Franconia Notch, and 10 minutes from the really cute shops in Historic Downtown Littleton. Not a lot of other dining or shops close by, but it's way up in the mountains and you can't beat the views.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Michele from Northern New Jersey

Gracious Victorian Breakfast & Modern Day Resting

Posted Apr 12, 2015 on Hotels
We were visiting family nearby. This was an ideal place that gave me a little gracious living time in between my family visits. I love authentic Victorian era décor. It was delightful having a beautiful dining room breakfast served straight from the kitchen on nice china plates, Chippendale chairs along with lit candelabras. Chris and Roger were great hosts and knew so much about the local history in the area that you won't find in your average tourist guide literature. My bed was super comfortable and the room temperature was modern day perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by mathieu from Maryland

Five Stars

Posted Mar 26, 2015 on Hotels
Had a most wonderful stay and enjoyed the hot tub after a long day skiing. The breakfast the next morning was exceptional. The B&B owners were very friendly and accomodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Olga

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 18, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N.H.

A Jewel in Whitefield

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: It was easy to find, clean, quiet, had great breakfast, our room was cozy, comfortable, warm, & the hosts friendly and helpful.
Cons: can't think of a thing
Location: center of town. Near grocery store, which we wanted. Not too far from ski area we went to next day
From the first friendly greeting, to the last hug goodbye, staying at the Lion and Rose was a pleasant experience! Roger and Chris are the perfect hosts. Breakfast was perfect! Chris recommended a nice Inn up the road for dinner, and Roger filled us in on the joys of owning a pellet stove, as we were interested. They are the kind of people who make you glad you stayed with them. We would recommend them highly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Fabulously different.

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Chris and Rodger are brilliant, kind, warm and full of useful information to maximise ones stay in the area and it's neighbouring towns. Rooms are adorable and the place has a very Victorian meets quirk feel to it. We'll certainly be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Rafael from Miami

A very nice stay

Posted Oct 28, 2014 on Hotels
I was so surprised by Chris's kindness she even served us breakfast. I just wish we could stay longer. I will make plans to go back for a couple of days in the near future. It was lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Janet H from Maidstone

Great B&B

Posted Oct 24, 2014 on Hotels
Rooms were very comfortable, while being different and individual. Hosts welcoming and knowledgeable about the area, breakfasts great and wereally enjoyed chats over breakfast with fellow guests from around the world.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by JACK & DONNA from CALIFORNIA

Great stay at the Lion & the Rose B & B

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels
My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the Lion and the Rose B & B. Chris and Roger made us feel very welcome and gave us great information on the activities that we could do on our short visit in the beautiful White Mountains of New Hampshire. Our room was very nice and the bed was very comfortable. Our breakfast was Wonderful! We highly recommend the Lion and the Rose in New Hampshire.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Good breakfast. Hosts were great
Cons: Matress saged in the middle. Not comfortable
Fine we liked it I have nothing more to add!! And I hate your survey which doesn't allow me to submit unless i provide more info than I want to provide!!!