Ratings based on 510 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom CA

Convention travel only

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Grounds are nice but rooms are NO FRILLS!! Had trouble with HVAC and hot water. Arrived at 1 pm and no place open to eat on grounds of hotel so had to drive into town. Crazy breakfast policy $25 for buffet or $15 if you take food back to your room. No ala carte menu. Really not geared for individual guests. Would not recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Hillafrom Brooklyn, ny

Average

Posted Oct 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good customer service. Rooms were small. Restaurant food was not great, recommend eating off the estate. We were there during a wedding so there were a lot of noise in the hallway late at night. Overall okay experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bondafrom Florida

Past it's prime

Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very disappointed in Tarrytown Estates.Thought we were booking an upscale hotel with old world charm and elegance based on photos,location,history, price and decided to splurge.Instead got place clearly past it's prime,living on past reputation and not worth price.Maybe if you were at conference it would be more suitable but for a couple vacationing in the fall it had little to offer.The staff was friendly but certainly not up to a top flight hotel; i.e.,no bell staff to greet you,no offer to take baggage to room.Ice only available in certain buildings-very inconvenient. Hotel housed in several buildings over hilly site;no elevators in our 3 story building,and limited parking which is far from the room. My husband had a broken foot so we asked for a room on the same level as entrance and they did change our room without a problem. Room was "tired". We had a handicap bathroom which had been remodeled, not sure what the situation is in other rooms. One lamp shade was shredded, had a noisy through wall air conditioner with instructions on how to set it so it didn't make so much noise at night - SERIOUSLY - replace it! Overall NOT worth price. It is conveniently located to attractions in area and there aren't a lot of other hotels which was another reason we chose it but would not stay there again. Just felt we did not get the ambiance or value we anticipated for price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Whitehall, Pa

Beautiful grounds, close to all seasonal events!

Posted Oct 8, 2014
The estate itself was beautiful. The rooms were comfortable and roomy. I suppose our only complaint was in trying to visit the mansion and having breakfast there. The price to dine in per person is $25 if you don't include it in your stay. We only wanted breakfast one day. The food was utterly average, and we were treated poorly by the staff. We were recommended to take breakfast out in tinfoil trays, which then only cost $15 per person. Honestly, the trays could fit breakfast for 3, so I would never send more than one person for every two eating. The staff making waffles and omelettes were very apathetic and the host and hostess seemed to want us to leave. All we really wanted to do was visit the beautiful mansion we had seen in all the advertisements, but instead we saw merely the entryway and a side room before we were hassled by a rude staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Great place to be on any weekend!

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Rooms/Staff
Location: I went to Red Hat for lunch (YUMMY) and Blue Hill Stone Farms (best food coma ever!!!)
Staff, hotel and grounds were great! Loved sitting out on the property just enjoying the beautiful weather. The staff was very accommodating when I requested a late check-out and when my friends and I required cab service. Can't wait to return once autumn sets in!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kennesaw, GA

Excellent hotel near Lyndhurst and Sleepy Hollow

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Wonderful atmosphere, amazing landscaping, close to the Hudson River but not close enough to worry about flooding :) Good midway point between Food and Train stations. Nice quiet and beautiful. Staff was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Dirkfrom Calgary

Very nice and quiet setting.

Posted Sep 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Only stayed one night on business. would definately stay again. Restaurant very good. Believe it was called cellar 49. Reccomend this to anyone looking for a quality meal and drink. All around a nicely kept facility with loads of space to relax. would seem a great spot to treat your partner to a relaxing weekend. Not sure they have a spa or not, they just might...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful grounds in historic area

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Beautiful grounds, nice rooms, very comfortable and a lot to do in the area
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historic country house hotel

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Interesting history and buildings - lovely breakfast if bit pricey as family Great recreation facilities for relaxing weekend especially as so close to Hudson valley tourist sites, Tarrytown for coffee and best hotdog store (according to my 11yr old) or dinner lots of choice - at hotel or close by Only negative was dinner at hotel restaurant kept all diners waiting and didn't honor reservation times so it was 9.30pm ordering expensive food which was then rushed out so the experience felt uncomfortable and wouldn't want to repeat