Ratings based on 526 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, Texas

Beautiful setting/.

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: The setting was beautiful and the customer service was tremendous.
Cons: The room was a little small for three people and the beds were warm.
Location: We enjoyed the views of the Hudson River and the grounds. The historic area was interesting and there were many things to enjoy in the area,
We booked our room through Expedia and chose Tarrytown Estate because of the price and the location. We had a wonderful experience at Tarrytown Estate and would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Beautiful Historic Hotel & Grounds

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Location, grounds, friendly staff
Cons: Room amenities and lighting
Location: Near to Sleepy Hollow, Kikuyit, Washington Irving's home and other historic attractions. Beautiful Hudson River views.
The hotel grounds are beautiful, spacious and well maintained with good amenities. It is very close to all local historic venues and good local restaurants. The staff are friendly and helpful. The room we were assigned was spacious and clean, however, was not well maintained, with poor closet and drawer space, skimpy amenities like the number of paper coffee cups or plastic tumblers allotted, no make-up mirror, no shower cap, dim lighting, etc., although the Nest toiletries provided were very nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FL

Beautiful and historic estate in great location

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Beautiful buildings and grounds. Excellent gym and pool.
Cons: Most everything
Location: Great location along Hudson River.Close to NYC by train or car.
The free WiFi works at modem speed. Modern WiFi available for $10/day up charge. House keeping did not keep basics such as towels, cups and coffee supplied. Room was very small. Restaurant served low quality food at premium price. The target here seems to be conferences, meetings, weddings etc. The individual guest (business or pleasure) will find better accommodations with more features at better rates at most nearby chains.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

My new hideaway

Posted Apr 19, 2015
I had the most beautiful experience. The staff gave a 5 star experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from e

This is a poor and dated hotel

Posted Apr 9, 2015
This was so disappointing. We saw the castle like pics. It is really like an old Ramada. Poor dated rooms, no thermostats, an empty restaruant and bar. No valet parking, in fact the parking lots were closed. No bellman. I would not recommend this to anyone. Just very very poor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: The view.
Cons: the noise level between rooms.
Location: the local town is nice.
My tome at your Hotel was a nice experience.i like the classic looks of the place the restaurant was really good, but a little over priced.The walls of the hotel rooms were a little thin. I could here some loud family somewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Megan from New York City

Weekend getaway

Posted Mar 10, 2015 on Hotels
A wonderful escape from NYC. Such a polite and helpful staff and already planning our next trip!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from chicago

nice place for a little r and r

Posted Mar 9, 2015
my wife and i had an event in Tarry town and picked tarreytown house. its big and spread out so be prepared to walk . the grounds are beautiful, the staff polite; room service was prompt and the food hot . Had a great steak at Cellar 49 the on premises restaurant. great place for a relaxed weekend especially in winter.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 28, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Rebecca from Mohawk

Restful for healthy physically fit individuals

Posted Nov 16, 2014 on Hotels
I had to stay over because of back to back dr visits in the city. We drove from 4 hours away. The beds were comfortable room clean and it was a nice area to dine in. The parking was a distance from the door to enter and the walking area not well lit. No elevators so thank heavens the spinal surgery was successful. Gps sent us in circles due to address given. I would say we got a good nights rest but one must be physically fit to stay here. I can not imagine it in the winter. I left my plug from my i phone in the wall and asked for it to be mailed as well as a hard copy of the bill which i didn't receive yet - it has been over a week. Hopefully the staff will come through