Ratings based on 514 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Rebeccafrom Mohawk

Restful for healthy physically fit individuals

Posted Nov 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
I had to stay over because of back to back dr visits in the city. We drove from 4 hours away. The beds were comfortable room clean and it was a nice area to dine in. The parking was a distance from the door to enter and the walking area not well lit. No elevators so thank heavens the spinal surgery was successful. Gps sent us in circles due to address given. I would say we got a good nights rest but one must be physically fit to stay here. I can not imagine it in the winter. I left my plug from my i phone in the wall and asked for it to be mailed as well as a hard copy of the bill which i didn't receive yet - it has been over a week. Hopefully the staff will come through
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

TOO MANY STAIRS!

Posted Nov 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
BEAUTIFUL GROUNDS. BUT BUILDING HAS TOO MANY ADDITIONS WHICH REQUIRE YOU DUE A LOT OF WALKING AND STAIRS. NO NEED TO USE THEIR FITNESS CENTER.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hudson Valley hotel

Posted Oct 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
We went for a conference, and it was great. The food was excellent and there were snacks available, which was superb. The gym is nice, and there is a pool and hot tub. It was a bit confusing to get around, but overall a really first-rate location.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom CA

Convention travel only

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Grounds are nice but rooms are NO FRILLS!! Had trouble with HVAC and hot water. Arrived at 1 pm and no place open to eat on grounds of hotel so had to drive into town. Crazy breakfast policy $25 for buffet or $15 if you take food back to your room. No ala carte menu. Really not geared for individual guests. Would not recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Hillafrom Brooklyn, ny

Average

Posted Oct 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good customer service. Rooms were small. Restaurant food was not great, recommend eating off the estate. We were there during a wedding so there were a lot of noise in the hallway late at night. Overall okay experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bondafrom Florida

Past it's prime

Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very disappointed in Tarrytown Estates.Thought we were booking an upscale hotel with old world charm and elegance based on photos,location,history, price and decided to splurge.Instead got place clearly past it's prime,living on past reputation and not worth price.Maybe if you were at conference it would be more suitable but for a couple vacationing in the fall it had little to offer.The staff was friendly but certainly not up to a top flight hotel; i.e.,no bell staff to greet you,no offer to take baggage to room.Ice only available in certain buildings-very inconvenient. Hotel housed in several buildings over hilly site;no elevators in our 3 story building,and limited parking which is far from the room. My husband had a broken foot so we asked for a room on the same level as entrance and they did change our room without a problem. Room was "tired". We had a handicap bathroom which had been remodeled, not sure what the situation is in other rooms. One lamp shade was shredded, had a noisy through wall air conditioner with instructions on how to set it so it didn't make so much noise at night - SERIOUSLY - replace it! Overall NOT worth price. It is conveniently located to attractions in area and there aren't a lot of other hotels which was another reason we chose it but would not stay there again. Just felt we did not get the ambiance or value we anticipated for price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Whitehall, Pa

Beautiful grounds, close to all seasonal events!

Posted Oct 8, 2014
The estate itself was beautiful. The rooms were comfortable and roomy. I suppose our only complaint was in trying to visit the mansion and having breakfast there. The price to dine in per person is $25 if you don't include it in your stay. We only wanted breakfast one day. The food was utterly average, and we were treated poorly by the staff. We were recommended to take breakfast out in tinfoil trays, which then only cost $15 per person. Honestly, the trays could fit breakfast for 3, so I would never send more than one person for every two eating. The staff making waffles and omelettes were very apathetic and the host and hostess seemed to want us to leave. All we really wanted to do was visit the beautiful mansion we had seen in all the advertisements, but instead we saw merely the entryway and a side room before we were hassled by a rude staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Great place to be on any weekend!

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Rooms/Staff
Location: I went to Red Hat for lunch (YUMMY) and Blue Hill Stone Farms (best food coma ever!!!)
Staff, hotel and grounds were great! Loved sitting out on the property just enjoying the beautiful weather. The staff was very accommodating when I requested a late check-out and when my friends and I required cab service. Can't wait to return once autumn sets in!