Ratings based on 517 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom e

This is a poor and dated hotel

Posted Apr 9, 2015
This was so disappointing. We saw the castle like pics. It is really like an old Ramada. Poor dated rooms, no thermostats, an empty restaruant and bar. No valet parking, in fact the parking lots were closed. No bellman. I would not recommend this to anyone. Just very very poor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: The view.
Cons: the noise level between rooms.
Location: the local town is nice.
My tome at your Hotel was a nice experience.i like the classic looks of the place the restaurant was really good, but a little over priced.The walls of the hotel rooms were a little thin. I could here some loud family somewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom chicago

nice place for a little r and r

Posted Mar 9, 2015
my wife and i had an event in Tarry town and picked tarreytown house. its big and spread out so be prepared to walk . the grounds are beautiful, the staff polite; room service was prompt and the food hot . Had a great steak at Cellar 49 the on premises restaurant. great place for a relaxed weekend especially in winter.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Rebeccafrom Mohawk

Restful for healthy physically fit individuals

Posted Nov 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
I had to stay over because of back to back dr visits in the city. We drove from 4 hours away. The beds were comfortable room clean and it was a nice area to dine in. The parking was a distance from the door to enter and the walking area not well lit. No elevators so thank heavens the spinal surgery was successful. Gps sent us in circles due to address given. I would say we got a good nights rest but one must be physically fit to stay here. I can not imagine it in the winter. I left my plug from my i phone in the wall and asked for it to be mailed as well as a hard copy of the bill which i didn't receive yet - it has been over a week. Hopefully the staff will come through
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

TOO MANY STAIRS!

Posted Nov 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
BEAUTIFUL GROUNDS. BUT BUILDING HAS TOO MANY ADDITIONS WHICH REQUIRE YOU DUE A LOT OF WALKING AND STAIRS. NO NEED TO USE THEIR FITNESS CENTER.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hudson Valley hotel

Posted Oct 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
We went for a conference, and it was great. The food was excellent and there were snacks available, which was superb. The gym is nice, and there is a pool and hot tub. It was a bit confusing to get around, but overall a really first-rate location.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom CA

Convention travel only

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Grounds are nice but rooms are NO FRILLS!! Had trouble with HVAC and hot water. Arrived at 1 pm and no place open to eat on grounds of hotel so had to drive into town. Crazy breakfast policy $25 for buffet or $15 if you take food back to your room. No ala carte menu. Really not geared for individual guests. Would not recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Hillafrom Brooklyn, ny

Average

Posted Oct 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good customer service. Rooms were small. Restaurant food was not great, recommend eating off the estate. We were there during a wedding so there were a lot of noise in the hallway late at night. Overall okay experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bondafrom Florida

Past it's prime

Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very disappointed in Tarrytown Estates.Thought we were booking an upscale hotel with old world charm and elegance based on photos,location,history, price and decided to splurge.Instead got place clearly past it's prime,living on past reputation and not worth price.Maybe if you were at conference it would be more suitable but for a couple vacationing in the fall it had little to offer.The staff was friendly but certainly not up to a top flight hotel; i.e.,no bell staff to greet you,no offer to take baggage to room.Ice only available in certain buildings-very inconvenient. Hotel housed in several buildings over hilly site;no elevators in our 3 story building,and limited parking which is far from the room. My husband had a broken foot so we asked for a room on the same level as entrance and they did change our room without a problem. Room was "tired". We had a handicap bathroom which had been remodeled, not sure what the situation is in other rooms. One lamp shade was shredded, had a noisy through wall air conditioner with instructions on how to set it so it didn't make so much noise at night - SERIOUSLY - replace it! Overall NOT worth price. It is conveniently located to attractions in area and there aren't a lot of other hotels which was another reason we chose it but would not stay there again. Just felt we did not get the ambiance or value we anticipated for price.