Ratings based on 491 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom CA

Convention travel only

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Grounds are nice but rooms are NO FRILLS!! Had trouble with HVAC and hot water. Arrived at 1 pm and no place open to eat on grounds of hotel so had to drive into town. Crazy breakfast policy $25 for buffet or $15 if you take food back to your room. No ala carte menu. Really not geared for individual guests. Would not recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Whitehall, Pa

Beautiful grounds, close to all seasonal events!

Posted Oct 8, 2014
The estate itself was beautiful. The rooms were comfortable and roomy. I suppose our only complaint was in trying to visit the mansion and having breakfast there. The price to dine in per person is $25 if you don't include it in your stay. We only wanted breakfast one day. The food was utterly average, and we were treated poorly by the staff. We were recommended to take breakfast out in tinfoil trays, which then only cost $15 per person. Honestly, the trays could fit breakfast for 3, so I would never send more than one person for every two eating. The staff making waffles and omelettes were very apathetic and the host and hostess seemed to want us to leave. All we really wanted to do was visit the beautiful mansion we had seen in all the advertisements, but instead we saw merely the entryway and a side room before we were hassled by a rude staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Great place to be on any weekend!

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Rooms/Staff
Location: I went to Red Hat for lunch (YUMMY) and Blue Hill Stone Farms (best food coma ever!!!)
Staff, hotel and grounds were great! Loved sitting out on the property just enjoying the beautiful weather. The staff was very accommodating when I requested a late check-out and when my friends and I required cab service. Can't wait to return once autumn sets in!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kennesaw, GA

Excellent hotel near Lyndhurst and Sleepy Hollow

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Wonderful atmosphere, amazing landscaping, close to the Hudson River but not close enough to worry about flooding :) Good midway point between Food and Train stations. Nice quiet and beautiful. Staff was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful grounds in historic area

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Beautiful grounds, nice rooms, very comfortable and a lot to do in the area
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historic country house hotel

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Interesting history and buildings - lovely breakfast if bit pricey as family Great recreation facilities for relaxing weekend especially as so close to Hudson valley tourist sites, Tarrytown for coffee and best hotdog store (according to my 11yr old) or dinner lots of choice - at hotel or close by Only negative was dinner at hotel restaurant kept all diners waiting and didn't honor reservation times so it was 9.30pm ordering expensive food which was then rushed out so the experience felt uncomfortable and wouldn't want to repeat
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for country in city experience!

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Cons: Pillows could be upgraded and loud TV next door, which the front desk did not adequately address.
The accommodations were lovely and the grounds were beautiful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on nice grounds

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: the atmosphere.
Cons: The long outside walks to rooms and restaurants. And the price
Location: Nice river towns in the NYC area.
I enjoyed my stay, although it was quite pricey for what you get. I get that it's located at a nice old mansion, but that's what you pay for. Everything else has a fee added.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel out of the big city

Posted Aug 22, 2014
I recently stayed at the hotel with my three daughters after a trip in NYC. The facility was very nice and the rooms were clean. The hotel staff was cordial but not overly friendly. Two things to note... The hotel is very spread out and it can be a little confusing navigating through the various buildings to get to your room. There are a lot of steps to go up and down. Second, although the hotel was very nice, it is not very kid friendly. There is one restaurant on the premises and there were no selections on the menu suitable for children, nor was there on the room service menu. However, the staff was helpful in supplying various takeout menus for area restaurants. Overall, it was a nice stay. However, I probably would not return if I was bringing children with me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Tarrytown House is a gem!

Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Go back in time and experience the elegance of a bygone era.