Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Danilo from Calgary

Quaint and quiet.

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nice Montana country experience. Quiet and comfortable. Wifi didn't work well so if you were hoping to work at all or needed to do anything online it was temperamental. Not a big deal for us but could be for some.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by ML from Portland

Perfect winter getaway!

Posted Dec 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
We were looking for a quiet place that is relatively near to Glacier National Park. We enjoyed the winter landscape that surrounds Gaynor's Resort. The cabin is cute and had everything we needed. After driving around Whitefish and Columbia Falls, we are so happy with our choice to stay at the Cabins in The Woods!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Great family memories

Posted Jul 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was a complete accident to find Gaynors' Resort, and a great treasure of a find. If you want to be fussed over this isn't your place, but if you'd like a vacation where the kids can explore on their own and be safe, they can be noisy, play in a watering hole (nice perk!), and just be, well, kids, then boy this is your place. I also loved the inter-tubes to float in the river with! Nice touch. And the dogs sleeping outside our cabin door was also a warm greeting every morning. Thanks a million. You made our family vacation plump with memories. PS would love to see that big floating raft pumped up!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Leo

NO WIFI

Posted Jul 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
The cabins are comfortable and clean and the surrounding forest area is beautiful, BUT, despite the hotel advertisement, there is no wifi in the cabins -- only in the hotel office. Best case scenario, the Gaynors are under the impression that a wifi signal can beam from the hotel office up a hill through the forest to the cabins, some of which are more than a hundred feet away, despite having been told by guests that there is no signal in the cabins. Worst case scenario, they know that the wifi does not reach the cabins, but also know that if they advertise honestly (wifi only at picnic tables outside of hotel office), people will book elsewhere. I suspect the latter, since I found an older pamphlet in the cabin that advertised wifi only in the lobby. Suddenly, the newer pamphlet advertises wifi. SO, if you need internet to plan your travels, Skype or email with friends/family, work, etc., this is not the place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by kevin from kalispell

cabins on ranch

Posted May 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Had a pretty good time. Expected the cabins to be closer to the real mts. though, not foothills. So the scenery was less desired n the trails were kinda dead, but the cabins are beautiful n roomy. Very comfortable!!! And the horses were nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cabins nice but hard to find

Posted Mar 7, 2013
Location: Difficult to find
Nice cozy cabins, had difficulty finding the exact location, the google map to find the place was unclear as there are cabins located in different areas. This was unclear on the website, it made it seem that the Cabins in the woods were near to the other cabin options when in fact they are on different roads and miles apart. Otherwise this was what we expected and were satisfied with the accommodation. It definitely smells like a cabin though so be prepared
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Fox

Close to town but in the "woods" .

Posted Dec 26, 2012 on Hotels.com
Everything was as promised, Wonderful 2bdr with loft and full kitchen, fully furnished. Don't worry about bringing anything except food and clothes so pack light. Deer right outside your door. Awesome to watch them from the comfort of your cabin while sipping your morning coffee. I would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by Katie

Comfy but not clean

Posted Nov 26, 2012 on Hotels.com
Nice place and the scenery was spectacular but the cabin was dirty. Found hair in sheets and the bathroom needed to be cleaned before we used it. The floors felt like they hadnt been vacuumed in a while. The windows did not seal properly so the draft coming in over the bed was cold. I would stay there again but only if we were assured it would be cleaned properly and some of the buildings maintenance was done.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Deborah from Medicine Hat, AB, Canada

Cabin in the Woods (6-9 April 2012)

Posted Apr 10, 2012
Pros: The setting of the cabins in the woods and the lovely walks in the surrounding area which the children loved!
Cons: Sometimes felt that the cabin wasn't very cosy - as in I felt cold
Location: Beautiful location - a drive into Whitefish but well worth it
We stayed at 'Cabin in the Woods' for Easter weekend (two adults and two children, aged 2 and 5). We had heard excellent reviews of Gaynor's Resort and certainly were not disappointed. The cabin was lovely, in a very tranquil setting and it gave us the perfect base to then visit Glacier National Park. Our children especially liked the bedroom in the roof of the cabin!! Don and Nancy were very accommodating and we enjoyed our brunch with them on the Sunday morning. Following this, our 6 year old had a horse riding lesson which she loved. I would highly recommend Gaynor's Resort - both the cabins in the woods and those on the ranch.