Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome hotel in the woods

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Some friends and I recently stayed at Cabin in the Woods and had a fantastic time! The cabin had all the things we needed for our time there and was fully furnished! It's not far from Whitefish either but it's nice to have your own space where you can just sit back and relax without being in a busy crowded area or having to listen to traffic and whatnot all night! What really stood out to me though was the staff service! They were there anytime we needed anything and they went the extra mile. I've never been served so well in my life. I would definitely recommend staying here and I plan on going back to this place again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

A beautiful, serene escape

Posted Feb 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our hosts were great and the scenery is breathtaking. Kitchen and living room are a bit on the small side but with just the two of us it was adequate. A lovely location and we will definitely return.
5 out of 5
by Kristi from Montana Bozeman

Very secluded and rustic with amenities.

Posted Jan 21, 2014
Location: Near enough to town to go for dinner or supplies but we loved being able to BBQ steaks on the grill at the cabin.
We had some trouble locating it as we came in so late in the evening. Accidentally stopped by Gaynors Ranch instead of the cabin in the woods, Gaynor Resort. But Keya was very helpful esp considering the time. Def needed 4WD during winter but that was a plus for me. Very friendly without encroaching on your privacy. Stocked better than we could have hoped. They did a beautiful job with layout of facility as well as cabins. The log furniture & lovely decor really made you feel that there was a lot of effort put into the place. We will definitely return. It was just the relaxing getaway we were in need of. =)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by S C from Montana

A great cabin in the woods.

Posted Jan 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice place to stay just a short drive outside Whitefish. We were in the area for snowboarding and chose this place outside of town. The cabin we stayed in was clean and well equipped, it has a kitchen area with a fridge, stove, microwave and clothes washer and dryer. We were only there for two nights but would have liked to stay longer if our schedules had permitted it. This is a great place for a quiet getaway. The road was icy, if you are in a 2 wheel drive vehicle be careful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great cabins!

Posted Jan 20, 2014
Cons: Get the internet working!
We had a wonderful time. The cabins are beautifully decorated and clean. All the amenities are there too. My only complaint is that the internet wasn't working (maybe you needed to be by the office?). It would definitely pay to install a router in each cabin.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cozy Cabin in the Woods

Posted Jan 6, 2014
Pros: Very cozy, clean and well-maintained propoerty.
Cons: Signage and the arrows leading into the property could be more legible.
Location: Skiing at the mountain and lots of good restaurants in town.
Excellent vacation!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Danilo from Calgary

Quaint and quiet.

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nice Montana country experience. Quiet and comfortable. Wifi didn't work well so if you were hoping to work at all or needed to do anything online it was temperamental. Not a big deal for us but could be for some.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by ML from Portland

Perfect winter getaway!

Posted Dec 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
We were looking for a quiet place that is relatively near to Glacier National Park. We enjoyed the winter landscape that surrounds Gaynor's Resort. The cabin is cute and had everything we needed. After driving around Whitefish and Columbia Falls, we are so happy with our choice to stay at the Cabins in The Woods!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Great family memories

Posted Jul 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was a complete accident to find Gaynors' Resort, and a great treasure of a find. If you want to be fussed over this isn't your place, but if you'd like a vacation where the kids can explore on their own and be safe, they can be noisy, play in a watering hole (nice perk!), and just be, well, kids, then boy this is your place. I also loved the inter-tubes to float in the river with! Nice touch. And the dogs sleeping outside our cabin door was also a warm greeting every morning. Thanks a million. You made our family vacation plump with memories. PS would love to see that big floating raft pumped up!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Leo

NO WIFI

Posted Jul 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
The cabins are comfortable and clean and the surrounding forest area is beautiful, BUT, despite the hotel advertisement, there is no wifi in the cabins -- only in the hotel office. Best case scenario, the Gaynors are under the impression that a wifi signal can beam from the hotel office up a hill through the forest to the cabins, some of which are more than a hundred feet away, despite having been told by guests that there is no signal in the cabins. Worst case scenario, they know that the wifi does not reach the cabins, but also know that if they advertise honestly (wifi only at picnic tables outside of hotel office), people will book elsewhere. I suspect the latter, since I found an older pamphlet in the cabin that advertised wifi only in the lobby. Suddenly, the newer pamphlet advertises wifi. SO, if you need internet to plan your travels, Skype or email with friends/family, work, etc., this is not the place.