Ratings based on 147 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, California

3 day stop on our way to Canada

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: We love the friendly stuff there, they make you feel like you're their close friend (Bree was just fantastic), the breakfast just outstanding quality.
Cons: Nothing really to improve...
Location: The place is little out of town, but driving about 4-5 miles out of the center of Whitefish is definitely worth it. Its surrounded by the mountains.
This was the second time we stayed at the Hibernation House. We absolutely love this place. You are getting a lot for your money. The price was less than an average hotel/motel in Whitefish, but the accommodations were great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cody, WY

Fine place for a stay near Glacier Park

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Trip Advisor search
Cons: If a major renovation was planned, better tub/shower enclosures should be incorporated. All of the rooms must surely not require bunk beds.
Location: Close enough to Glacier, Whitefish Lake and Flathead Lake. Lots to do.
We had a lot of trouble trying to find a hotel on late notice. Kalispell, Whitefish, East Glacier and all the towns around Glacier National Park are sold out early. We opted for the Hibernation House simply because it was available, and our stay was fine. The rooms are large enough, and have ample storage. The shower is small, but otherwise okay. Lots of folks commented on breakfast - we are vegetarians and there was little hot breakfast for us. But we found enough in the yogurt, fruit, toast, bagels, cereal, etc. The staff was friendly and accommodating, and overall we had no complaints. We are used to staying in Comfort Inn-type motels, so this was a fairly significant departure for us - but it worked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Excellent staff, give good care, good breakfast, hot tab
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Value Plus right on the hill

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Location on the hill, value. and had good night sleeps.
Cons: The bunk beds while practical, are hard to use and creaky. Must be a pain to make up for the staff.
Location: Very day can be the adventure of a lifetime up at Big Mountain. The mountain biking was incredible and the Huckleberries were even better.
Excellent place to stay that will not blow your budget. Clean rooms, hot shower, amazing breakfast with an extremely clean kitchen. Location is great on the hill. Yes, it is old and has small rooms and a tight shower, you get Value for your money with great people. I will stay here again on my next visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ski lodge

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Breakfast was excellent
We stayed opne summer night in this ski lodge and found it comfortable. It is wayu up above town ,so not a good location if you plan to spend time in town. The room was a bit dated, but just fine for a ski lodge.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Trip to Glacier NP

Posted Jul 25, 2014
The Hibe is likely a good low budget alternative for someone going skiing at Whitefish. Otherwise, it's a very old hotel with small rooms and no WiFi, run by very nice people.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not bad

Posted Jul 18, 2014
A little far from Yellowstone national park but we had a great time with riding a bike at Whitefish.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from edmonton, ab, ca

Cheap accommodations

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Location: Beautiful location on the mountain.
We were thrilled to find a place at the last minute. It was clean and comfortable. Not fancy but very adequate.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Florida-IA Traveler from Florida

Disappointing

Posted Jul 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is a simple sky lodge in the ski village in the mountains several miles above the town of Whitefish. It's OK if you are looking for someplace to hang your skies and crash for the night. But there are many other better places nearby. The breakfast matched the rest of the hotel: simple and disappointing.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Traveler

Too far outside of town

Posted Jun 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
the room was small and out dated. Carpet and linens needed to be replaced.